Asshole Appraisal District of Bexar County

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180802_232514.jpg

Below is my 5 minute #freewrite on today's prompt: headache

If you've never created a #freewrite before, please check out today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-287-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-headache

Today I took my sister to the Bexar County Appraisal District to contest her property taxes, and boy was it a waste of our time.

This year I protested my property taxes on line and saved a couple hundred dollars, but my sister missed the filing deadline, and she had to go talk to them in person.

Every year they raise our evaluation of our houses, then brag about the tax rate not going up. What a crock of shit. If they say my house is worth $250k, then they should be willing to buy it at that price.

Instead, we have to take photos of everything wrong with the property, and try and convince them that it's only worth $190k. It's a sad world we live in, where we have to tear down our home, to try and save a few bucks, so this city council won't spend another $40,000 on a rainbow cross-walk. Don't ask!

By the time we left there, I had a splitting headache and had to down three Tylenol, just so I could drive home.

I paid off my home when I retired, but I'll never own it cuz the taxes are freak'in killing me. Maybe the people with six kids should pay more in school taxes than people that have never had any kids.

What a concept! Rant over.

Story and photo by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgThanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

official storyteller.jpg

inCollage_20180724_094040774.jpg

My referral link for Crowdini

Sort:  

What a world we are living now with these taxes. We had it over here at Malaysia too. Well oh well. Hope you are better already and don't need the Tylenol.

Coffee perhaps?

https://steemit.com/frewrite/@mariannewest/day-288-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-coffee

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Or, if you have a favourite freewrite poem to recommend, hop here and give yourself a chance to win one SBI. Click on the photo below and you will reach there immediately 😁.

Imgur

See You There!😀

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 4.19% upvote!
I was summoned by @wonderwop. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73