The Dinner Party - Part 4 - Day 155:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Dinner Party - Part 4

For those who requested a continuation of The Dinner Party here is today's freewrite prompt in Part 4 of the story.

If you wish to read the previous installments you may read them here:

The Dinner Party - Party

The Dinner Party - Party 2

The Dinner Party - Part 3

This 5 Minute Freewrite actually took 40 Minutes.


Headlights from a car driving through the roundabout outside Maria's living room shone brightly into the dark living room, highlighting the dinner guest's dumbfounded faces around the table. Each guest had long since released their neighbor's hand. The light landed in a brilliant splash on a whiteboard scribbled with hand drawn pictures of angels in the far corner of the room, the board belonged to Maria's 10 year old daughter for school projects. The room grew ink black again.

The sudden normalcy of a car passing in the outside world shattered the medium's conduit in the room and Maria scrambled to action, pushing her chair back hard to get to the wall light switch. She tripped, stumbling over a vase that crashed and broke into bright blue fragments upon impact on a nearby mermaid statue. "Ouch!" Maria pulled up her foot reflexively as a glass shard pierced into her slippered foot, blood began trickling out of cream, fuzzy wool seams and pooling like Rorschach blots onto her plush, blond carpet.

Maria, hobbling, reached the wall, huffing with asthmatic exertion. Her chubby fingers flicked the switch. The lights twinkled on, the glittering overhead chandelier breaking the medium's fixed expression.

In the light, Aggie's eyes became hooded once more. She sought Carlo's eyes again.

"The gate is open, Carlo. Your sister will no longer remain silent. The dead never lie." Her voice ringing in the air like a distant call to worship, or a funeral.

"Fuck you, you bitch, and fuck you all. I don't know what your game is, but you don't know who you are messing with."

He shot Maria a withering look as he strode, pulling his sobbing wife to the door. This time it opened easily. Carlo paused before exiting.

"I hope you enjoyed this dinner party, Maria, because your name is ruined in this town for the poorest fucking joke of a dinner party yet. You may consider this as your opportunity to start over, somewhere else."


"Carlo?" Ellen whispered, as she crossed the threshold of the door. Her hand relaxed in his tight grip and she slid, a cascade of red curls settling like springs to the cobbled sidewalk, a puppet cut from its strings.

headlights-1449254_1920.jpg
Image

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
Here is Friday's prompt:
whiteboard

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

You have a great imagination. Was there an idea that motivated the subject, or just something that you came up with out of the blue? Good work :)

Thank you, @stellarbelle. The idea just began with the daily prompt word medium. When I sat down to freewrite I pictured the dinner party and the hostess who innocently was trying to impress her guests and each freewrite word builds on that story. I have read a number of awesome freewrite continuations and wanted to see if I could do it :)

And you're doing it well!

Now I know this isn't over yet. It keeps getting better. I have the honor of delivering today's prompt...


The nutty train to Freewrite City is about to depart. All aboard!


To indulge in a single-prompt Freewrite, click HERE!

For part 1 of the three-prompt Weekend Freewrite, click HERE!


Stay up to date on everything #freewrite related. Follow...
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join the fun

Thank you for the encouragement and prompt <3

This story just keeps getting better and better...

Yay! As this is my first attempt at something like a contuation I'm being challenged! Thank you so much!!

Fees good to be challenged, doesn't it? I love a good challenge.

I just read all of these. It's a great story you've got going. Please continue it, I want to see what happens.

Thank you! It's my first time attempting something like this. I'm really enjoying the challenge!

I love the description at the end, of her fainting, and also the one of Maria's bleeding foot. The poetry side of you there I think ;)

The exchange between Aggie and Carlo was also awesome, her words appropriately menacing, cryptic and revealing in just the right ways, and his angry, defensive words in response rang true. This is beautiful work Janelle!

I'm wondering whose car just pulled up, and how Carlo's sister is going to manifest in his life away from the context of the seance...

Thank you so much for reading! I am really stabbing in the dark as I write this, but it's been so enlightening to write fiction in the Freewrite format! It's scary, and exciting and fun! I hope this is just my first as I learn the art of storytelling. <3

Yes! The story continues... 5 minutes becoming 40 minutes... your fans will allow it ;)

Thank you for checking in again and I appreciate your support. Each day, what to do, what to do! lol

I like it but in episode n. 5 I'm looking for a twist (no stress). The four episodes are finely written and you depicted every scene with mastery. See, for instance, the beautiful moment of the car's headlights filtering through the window, or also the draft cascading through the room of the previous episode and, generally, all the characters' reactions. However, in my humble opinion, to better hook the reader you need to add more substance other than suspence. However (again), yours is the only story in episodes I read here on steemit so far. Twice.

I so appreciate your feedback as I am floundering in the fictional dark here. 🤤

I'm so glad you didn't take me bad.. I'm just trying to give a useful opinion for a friend 😊 Don't discourage yourself, we all flounder together!

Oh, not at all. This is my first attempt at such a venture and I'm surely wrestling with it lol <3

Wow! @wandrnrose7 you do know how to cook up a story. Amazed as you participate in every prompt

Thank you @pasaift. Writing daily has been a goal, sometimes it is challenging with my migraines, but I try to push out a freewrite. My brain is always writing lol.

The more you add to the story the more I want to read! This is terrific Janelle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54