The Dinner Party - Part 3 - Day 154:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Dinner Party - Part 3

This story is a continuation of the freewrite fiction began earlier this week using prompts from @marrianewest freewrite exercise. It is my first attempt at an ongoing piece of fiction using the prompts, apart from the challenging weekend freewrites. You can see last weeks weekend freewrite here: Weekend Freewrite

I definitely didn't plan to continue, but by popular demand by readers, I've added on to this story. Thanks for the wonderful encouragement of this community!

If you want to read from the beginning here are the previous links:
The Dinner Party - Party
The Dinner Party - Party 2


Carlo stood uncertain as the dinner party stared between him and Aggie. He glanced around the room for what felt like hours, but minutes transpired. His dress shirt sprouted stains beneath the armpits.

A draft cascaded through the room, hot and cloying like hellfire, then cold as a North wind. The candles rippled in the breeze and flames flickered, then snuffed out like a child blew out birthday candles, then nothing. Not a soul breathed for long moments.

In the pregnant silence came a new sound, a distant scream of a girl, and then harsh thumping, bump, bump, bump, like something heavy falling. Like a body pitching down a long flight of stairs.

"You remember, Carlo. I am certain you do."

Carlo moved in the dark, still grasping Ellen's hand, sweaty palms pulling her toward dimly lit windows.

"Stand and face me, Carlo. Don't be a coward. Tell them why you did it."

He stopped moving in the dark.

"Goddammit! I didnt push you!" The words sounded like a wounded animal.

candles-1549828_1920.jpg

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. Jump in anytime for fun and contests going on right now!
Here is today's prompt: nothing

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png

wandrnrose7_red.png
rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Brava Janelle! You managed to keep high the atmosphere and suspense even in the third (and final?) episode 😊

Thank you so much, I don't think that I am done yet. I did take a day off of writing to go off and have some dinner and watch a movie with Jeff. The story is something that my mind keeps telling me to keep on pursuing. Friday's prompt word may be a little challenging to wrangle into it! I'm glad you feel it has kept a suspenseful pace. I am surely learning as I go and allowing muse her license!
Happy weekend, dear @f3nix!

Happy weekend to you my dear friend! You did well in dedicating some due time for relaxing and staying with Jeff! That's the answer I wanted, it would have been a pity to stop it there! No words are challenging, it's not them it's our lazy brain 😜

Oooh, the way you added the sound of her falling down the stairs put chills down my spine! Is Carlo telling the truth? I'm pretty sure everyone in the room is dying to know! (and so am I....)

I apologize, I'm bad and am only now delivering Friday's prompt to you.

Friday's prompt is brought to you by one of our resident Trolls, Bridgewaterer. He's traveling the town of Freewrite, doing community service as reparations for skimming profits at the Troll Scouts Bake Sale.

Freewrite Day 155 - whiteboard

Thank you @brisby. I don't know, but something tells me about his mannerisms that Carlo is not being entirely honest with himself, or with the room. Thank you for delivering the prompt, better late than never! I'm glad that you are enjoying the freewrite, too!

I became hooked on your story! A ghost? What will happen next?! Discovering the #freewrite tag this week has been so much fun. I wrote my first one today and am enjoying reading the entries so much I'm staying up late...

Thank you so much for choosing me to read today! I agree for freewrite tag keeps me up at night, too LOL.
Welcome to the gang!

Thanks for welcoming me to the writer's gang!

You are welcome! And I am glad that you found us all! We are a great group of supportive people!

I already feel a lot of support after only one entry :)

Yay! I am happy you feel welcome. Sorry I'm just popping in to respond. I'll be over to visit you!

I went through the first and second part of The Dinner Party again... I must confess that I am a very dedicated fan (winks) and I am glad you decided to add to the story.

I'm so happy this has a fan! I enter with trepidation, but this girl just wants to be heard, apparently! Hugs!

Uh oh... he's acknowledged her. Are they going to have it out now? Did he or didn't he? The writing is so deliciously creepy, and gruesomely satisfying. I love the description of the sound of her body going down the stairs, and the way he breaks at the end (in spite of himself?) and starts engaging, where before he was just trying to get away from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18