State of Decay

in #freewrite6 years ago


Image Source


The state of decay emanating from the ancient boggy land within the swamp was overwhelming. There is nothing so pungent as the odor of old earth. This swamp has seen the turn of the eons from time immemorial and has experienced the best and worst existence has to offer.

The old man reached out his weathered and crooked fingers towards the young boy’s hand to lead him deeper into the swamp that lay on the edge of their family land. Today would mark the beginning of an education one can only find deep in the heart of such a dark and dismal location. The mosquitos buzzed about his head whispering wary warnings to him but he couldn’t fathom the things he would see and live in just a few short hours.

Step by step they inched further through the soggy moss of the land masses that dot the tepid water of the swamp and with each step the ancient moisture seeped a bit deeper into their shoes… their socks....their souls. The clearing seemed to appear out of the ether and a formidable wood and earthen altar loomed before them.


This was my first attempt at the #freewrite challenge hosted by @mariannewest. It was exciting to furiously pound away at the keyboard knowing at any moment the timer could expire and cast your creative thoughts to the void. This freewrite was in response to this prompt.


My recent posts:

Tearing at the Pain - a Fifty word story

Normal Papacrusher Sunday

Lake Trip Walk With Me


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Oh boy!!! Maybe I shouldn't have read that before going to bed!! You really drew me into the story and it is deliciously creepy!

Looking forward to many more freewrites from you.

Thanks for your feedback and for your support. I am definitely excited to try some more!

Well done i like it.

Thank you, I appreciate the approval!

Welcome @papacrusher! I liked how you described the "state of decay." I felt like I was right there, in the swamp with the old man and young boy. And I really want to know what they saw. Tip!

Resident cat here, wondering what your epilogue will be in your next freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-258-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-epilogue

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

thank you so much for your support and encouragement. I also appreciate the nod for favorite freewrite!

My pleasure! I am looking forward to more of your freewrites. : )

Your post was nominated and featured on this week's Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse

Thanks for joining us for this #freewrite challenge and keep up the great work!

freewriteFavorites300.png

Thank you so much for featuring my piece. It was a pleasure to participate!

I really like the way you write , really paints a picture. It's like you can't stop reading. Nice work @papacrusher

Thank you so much! Your comment and feedback are greatly appreciated. You should get in on this and the #fiftywords challenge. They are great fun.

Maybe I will give it a shot....lol never done anything like that before. I am willing to try.

Spooky.... You are so good at this! Congratulations on being featured by @freewritehouse in your very first attempt. You are very good with words and it draws us into your story, making us wonder what would happen next. Awesome job, @papacrusher and I'm sure to see you around in freewrite more and more! :)

Thank you so much for your compliments and feedback. It was a shock to me that I was featured, there are so many great writers in that corner of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62