Tart, a freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

This story is a continuation of three previous freewrites:

Part One: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/freewrite-weekend-freewrite-2-22-2019
Part Two: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-531-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-filth
Part Three: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-558-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-comic


I knew he was coming. I'd heard a loud stream of curses coming from his barren yard just as I was pulling a strawberry rhubarb tart out of the oven. I looked out the window and watched him blunder through his tidy boxwood wall. I freaked out when he stormed in a straight line towards my backdoor, carrying a shovel with a small amount of unidentifiable organic matter on it. I grabbed the heavy marble mortar full of fresh dead nettle leaves off the kitchen table, lifted it over my head (the better to bash in a skull if need be) and headed him off just inside my back door.

This fellow and I had already had unfortunate interactions involving noise ordinances, trespassing, fecal material, officers of the law and the like, so I wasn't expecting an acceptance when I unctuously invited him in for tea. Instead, he called me a very uncouth name, thrust his hirsute body past me into my kitchen, and suddenly came to an abrupt halt.

Maybe it was the tart fresh out of the oven, or the bossa nova in the air, but he looked around as if stupefied and said "Holy fucking shit! It's really nice in here!"


This is my entry to @mariannewest's freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-585-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-tart It's not a true freewrite - I worked on it quite a bit yesterday for the prompt "nest" but abandoned it. Today's prompt "tart" gave me the little something I needed to carry on.

This is the first freewrite-generated work I've tried to continue writing on for more than one day, and I've found that to be quite hard! Even more respect and awe goes to the MM writers from me today. I like my first three entries much better than this one, and they were all true freewrites leaving me as stupefied by what came out of me as my character was when he found out what was in his nemesis' house.

It's a learning process so it's all good. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

they were all true freewrites leaving me as stupefied by what came out of me as my character ...

Yes!
That's the beauty of freewriting!!
WIthout the daily prompt, I might never have met Even Steven, Sarah Savage, the ham radio dad in "The Usual Crazy," and dozens of other characters that came into being on my seeing the prompt.
I love your dueling neighbors - the chickesn, the fertilizer, the compost, the trumpets, the dead nettle tea, the unexpected artwork, and today the tart - looking forward to more, if you feel inclined to doing more with these two. If you prefer to start anew, that's cool too!!!

I'd like to continue because I like a lot of what is coming out, For instance, I produce two very different voices/characters just by visualizing the two of them. That amazes me. I don't do it, some other force does. But it is suddenly very difficult for me to freewrite. I have this idea that each freewrite has to be some sort of coherent story, as most of them have been miraculously, even my very first, which I only wrote because @fitinfun told me to. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/coyotes
Thanks for being you.

I love that you are trying. Like with everything, the more you do it... ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love the way you described the scene and what the character was doing. I was able to picture everything perfectly. : )
I have also been amazed from what I write when doing a freewrite. I say, "Where did that just come from?" LOL!

Resident cat here, anxiously waiting for the next chapter. Here is the new prompt. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-586-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-chapter

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.

Thank you @sunravelme! Again! xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66