Coyotes!

in #freewrite5 years ago

The first call of a coyote broke the reverie. Maia had been writing a poem about hawks, trying to fit in the word “pierce”, when the eerie sound came, soon answered by a second coyote.

“Shit!”

Here she was, two miles from her car, in the woods at dusk with her trusty dachshund, a nice meal for a coyote. The sun was setting, turning the hedgerow that fantastic red that only happens at dusk in the winter. How she would love to sit and savor that color, maybe try to capture it in writing! But no, time to run - coyotes about!

She hurried through the abandoned apple orchard, grabbing a frozen apple for the ride home, when she came upon the truck. It was hidden in the trees just inside the wooded area, near the narrow bridge that she had no choice but to cross. It hadn’t been here when she came this way earlier, and there was no sign of the driver.

She longed for her last pooch Solimar. This dachshund would be no help at all in an attack!

Her guard went up.


I typed for exactly 5 minutes and did a 17 second proofread after the timer went off. Such a rush! Delightful experience. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @owasco! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @wandrnrose7!

@wandrnrose7 wrote lately about: Sunset On The Beach - Freewrite Feel free to follow @wandrnrose7 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you so much!

my pleasure! 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome freewrite! Welcome to the freewriters!

Here is a !tip for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

Holy cow! you just made my day! Thanks!!!!

Fantastic job. you are a natural Now do this every day for the rest of your life!

I don't have time for all this writing! As for images, that would take me another million years. How important are they? May I add one? What do I do with the dang thing now? YOU GOT ME INTO THIS. Thanks!

Don't worry! It's really good as is. yes you can add one but you do not need to.

Whoa, this was you FIRST freewrite, last year, and it's this good??
I blush to confess what a cheat I am - more than five minutes of writing, more than that editing and revising - though (recently) I'm getting quicker. But not as quick as you, nor as polished!
You go!!!!

I know right? It shocked the hell out of me. Good grammar, interesting details to round out the character, a well set scene (although I wish I had said the truck was on the OTHER side of the bridge she had to cross), a story arc, tension, the whole nine yards and all just popped out without trying. I mean, I was astonished! Thanks for coming back to read it! I refer to it now and then in my posts because it was such a critical moment for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88