Five minute free write - Church

in #freewrite7 years ago

Prague 25.jpg

Soooooo, I just realized my friend @snook

Had challenged me to throw some zombies in to one of my five minute free writes. Somehow I missed that little prompt, but, today I noticed it.

Challenge accepted Snook!

Admittedly I didn't have outright zombie combat or anything, but I managed to weave them in. The prompt by @mariannewest for today's Five minute free write was Church so I thought it would be a good time to mix them together. Because zombies and church...right? Well, it worked for me.

Written on The most dangerous writing app I admit to going back and switching some words around, correcting spelling, and fixing a couple tenses. I love the 5 minute intensity, the force driving you to get the story out, hopefully you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it :)

Without further ado...


He pulled back on the slide of the gun

Revealing a copper toned round. The harsh click-clack echoed in the cramped chamber. He noted the status and shoved the pistol into the back of his pants. Swinging a salvaged police shotgun from his shoulder he cradled the grimey thing gently in his arms.

What was going to make it's way through the door and down the stairs? What the hell was happening? he thought to himself. This shit only happens in the movies. And, why did he have to run into this place of all places?

The walls were stacked with bones

Like grim ornaments they were piled, fasted, glued together, everywhere. Death as decoration. A chill went down his spin.

At least these aren't like those. Alive.

A dull knock at the door down the hall.

The somber darkness lit by stray candles, dust in the air. Only the occasional twinkle here and there to give hope.

Seriously, why did he run into here? On vacation with his family, the start of this knightmare, everything changed in that moment. A stumbling man, a crowd of people. Screams, terror, everyone running.

Another dull thump, followed by another, and another.

A stacatto drum beat began. He knew the doors wouldn't hold long. Ironic, he thought, to die in a church like this. A church of bones. Behind him, a weary skeleton held together by dislike for the living, reached for his shoulder.


There are so many times I wish I had more time to write.

Because, what the heck was about to happen? Were the masses of bones around him going to turn into a giant monster for him to battle? Were the mysterious thumps going to turn into masses of zombies hungry for his living flesh? Or was it all a giant misunderstanding?

Meh, who knows. On to the next piece of writing :)

Thanks for dropping by and reading. I'd love to hear what you thought. Feel free to link to your free write and I'll try and stop by for a read :)
Michael

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - canal
Five minute free write - Mason Jar
Five minute free write - Scream

Prague 28.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @mikesthoughts! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

@whatisnew wrote lately about: "Have You Smiled Today?" #22. Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

I love how you wrote this! And on the most dangerous writing app too? And not feeling well on top of all of that? Incredible! You really freaked me out with all of those walls stacked with bones and I want to know more. Hope you feel better soon! Tip!
Today's prompt is being sent to you by cupids arrow: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-118-5-minute-frewrite-wednesday-prompt-lace

Thanks for dropping by! One of these days I might go back to these writings and flesh them out into full stories, hehe :) And thank you for the tip ! :)

Oh, that would be interesting. My pleasure! : )

I loved this image:

a weary skeleton held together by dislike for the living, reached for his shoulder.

Since you mentioned zombies from the very beginning I kept seeing in mind some scenes from The Walking Dead that take place in a church.

Lol. Or Resident Evil 2. :)


Congratulations!

This post has been voted Good! Upvoted and resteemed on Salt Water.

Get in touch with @alphawhale to have your best post upvoted and resteemed free.

Click here to read about @alphawhale

So, how exactly do you throw a zombie bomb at someone?

I'd love to throw curveballs at free writers.

Now you're free write has to include ... birds.

Maybe not. Cool story. Zombies and churches most definitely do go together.

Hehe. Zombie bombs kinda just land in random places :)

I like this :) A lot of story being unveiled along the way. Something in motion and you'd better catch up because stuff is about to get real! Nice work.

Thanks! :) Five minutes is such a small space. Wish I had like 20...but, that's the challenge.

U u u, a scary one, and you did it really good, it had a nice supsense :)

Hehehe, my world is filled with mystery, suspense, and unknown evils :)

I read this this morning but need to read it again as this morning was a very long time ago loll so don't go far loll

Loading...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=five-minute-free-write-church


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47