The Pastor - Weekend Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Weekend Freewrite.png

The Pastor

I had barely stepped out of the church when I felt the first drop on my head. I looked up and couldn’t believe my eyes. It was red. What was dripping on me? My first thought was blood.
But where did it come from?
I kept looking and looking and looking but couldn’t see a thing. The mysterious liquid kept dripping and I heard a loud scream. It took me a while to realize that I was screaming.
Screaming loud. But the woman across the street was screaming as well and pointed to something above my head I couldn’t see.

Marla, my wife, had lingered in the church and was about to step out beside me - I thought. Instead she pushed me hard and I took several steps forward.
“What are you doing?” She hissed at me. “This is your best coat and it looks ruined! Standing there like an oaf getting soaked instead of stepping out of the way!”
Just like Marla. She was practical to the core and a little blood couldn’t disturb her. Not Marla. She grew up in the country and had slaughtered many animals in her time.

Body functions didn’t scare her either. She loved to cook Mexican Food and always had a pot of beans on the stove. I loved to eat them but they surely didn’t agree with me at all.
When we first got married, she said, “Some people can eat beans with abandon and never suffer side effects. You aren’t one of them.”
But why am I thinking of beans and gas right now? Maybe because my stomach is starting to turn as I see the puddle between me and the church door grow bigger. And more and more people pointing to the roof of the church.

Marla was pulling me across the street and we both looked up. I felt the scream rising up in my throat again. Even Marla was a bit shaky.
Two severed heads were on top of the spires - just like one reads that the ancient tribes used to do. Or maybe the Romans. My mind was not working at all as I frantically tried to get rid of my coat and find something to clean my head.

Who could be so brutal to do something like that? And why did I have to be the one stepping into the mess?
The thought made me recoil even more. It must just have happened right before we came out. Someone must have noticed something. There weren’t that many in the room. We were holding a special meeting to decide if we should fire the pastor. He had been acting so strange lately. There were nine on the board, but only 7 of us showed up.
We wondered where the other two were. They usually were the first to arrive.

The decision was a fast one. We all wanted to to get rid of him.

My phone buzzed in my pocket as I was looking up trying to figure out why the heads seemed faintly familiar to me.
It was a text from the pastor’s number: remember that not all is sweet in life.

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts
While in the Garden

Coriander

Day 252: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: talking dog

Weird!

Ulog 15 - Tired

Backyard Trees for Tree Tuesday

Ulog 14 A - What is that?

Ulog 14 - A Birthday

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Your story made me toot just a little...🤢

hahaha - so, you are one of those that can't handle their beans LOL

Wow - that was a really good freewrite @mariannewest! Sucked me right into the story like I was there. Thanks!!

thank you for reading!

Whoa! That is a great freewrite! Very creepy!!! It sounds like something that would come from MY head! Awesome job!

Thank you so much. That prompt made me see blood LOL

Ooh, piked heads on the church. I think the pastor just might be involved. Enjoyed your story very much, on the edge or my seat, until the addition of the beans....a well-needed humor respite from the horror of the suit-dripping roofline. Well done.

hahaha - what can I say. If the prompt calls for beans, beans will be in the story LOL

Btw. Congrats. We won the SBI

Wow, I must go check. I did not know. Many thanks for helping out in that, and nominating me in the beginning. I really appreciate it. And we WON. Yowza. How fun is all of that. Onwards, to more funnery disguised an punnery.

I think funnery disguised in punnery is a beautiful thing :)

Hmmmnnn... that pastor sure got the drop on the church board! Psycho.

Deliciously creepy story Marianne }:D

Thank you so much!! I am always suspicious of weird pastors :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42