From a Birthday Party to the Hospital -Freewrite - FloorwaxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago

Imgur

A 5 - minute freewrite from this prompt

Freewrites are short flow of consciousness pieces and can be great - or not.

Fresh floor wax is bringing up a childhood memory for sure. And this time, I think it is a real memory. So often, I am not sure if I really remember how it was as a kid or if I only remember things because we have a picture in a photo album and throughout the years, I have made up memories to go with that picture. I do remember walking to a birthday party with a present and just a second ago, I even remembered the name of the person whose party it was. I do remember that I was walking by myself and I was maybe 6 years old. No, I was 6 years old because it is the year that I got my appendix removed and it all happened on my way to this party - or maybe at the party.
I think I threw up at the party. I don't remember much else. I think that we did an egg walk. You have to carry an egg on a spoon and it is a team race. Two groups. You have to go to a point, turn around and transfer the spoon with the egg to the next person. And all of that has to happen without dropping the egg - raw egg! I hated those kinds of competitions because I was a bit clumsy as a child - probably still are but by now, I am almost used to it. Not all the way, but almost.
And I think it has to do with my eyes. I have a pretty good stigmatism and there are times I just misjudge where something is or ought to be. Like playing volleyball. I am there, right where the ball is supposed to go and I am ready. The only problem is that the ball just goes a little bit off from where I am. Yup aiming is not my greatest skill in this world. I have many - not that one
So, I grew up at that birthday party and a week in the hospital later, my appendix was removed. Today, I don't think they would do that. And certainly, leave a kid in the hospital for a week for observation. Not in the States at least.
And the 5 minutes are up and I never got to my memory of the floor wax. Dang. Freewriting just takes you places you didn't know you were going....

Please join the freewrite community - it is fun!! Find today's prompt here.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Weekend Free Write November 25, 2017

Bittersweet

Protect Nature

Cactus - Guava - Grapes

Weekend Freewrite 3

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

That's a memory you could maybe do without. I have one about my tonsils being removed when I was six. It put me off hospital for life. Great freewrite!

yup. I have a tonsil memory as well.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73