Day 21: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Books

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriters @miniature-tiger and @johnwjr7

Many of our freewriters are new to the platform and get very few votes on their posts. Every day, I am inviting you to visit one and leave some comments and votes. Today, please visit @jjwriter85

Prompt: Books

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes.
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, her is a link to the introduction post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/writers-or-wanna-be-writers-wanted-be-free-freewrite

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

This Week's Plan

We are doing this for almost 3 weeks now and our numbers have grown! Which is wonderful and I am very excited about this. But, alas, my steam power is not big enough to up-vote all your posts and all the links you leave in the comments of the post.

So, I came up with this plan.

For 7 days, starting Monday, November 6/2017 and ending Sunday, November 12/2017, I will share the SBD payout of the prompt posts with all of you who do the following:

  • Post at least 2 freewrites in the 7 days
  • Use the prompt - I will not accept posts which have nothing at all to do with the prompt. The idea is to write something new for this challenge.
  • Leave a link to your freewrite or copy your 5 minute freewrite in the comments of the prompt.
  • You must do all - I can’t hunt you all down to try to count you.

I will try to leave the next prompt as a comment on your previous freewrite - but no promises. You must look for the daily prompt yourself to make sure you get it.

I will add up the SBD of the 10 prompts and divide it equally between all who have participated in at least 2 freewrites AND left the link in the comments.
You can post at each prompt until Sunday 7PM PST- that gives you a lot of time to get your 2 prompts in :)

The sharing will happen after the last prompt post-payout. Approx. 7 days after the Sunday prompt posts.

I will try this for one week and see how much work that is for me. We see what next week will bring.

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)
@improv
@ana-maria
@f3nix
@kcoyote
@marcoriccardi
@dennisauburn
@thereikiforest
@jkiw
@shanibeer
@sharoonyasir
@ellievallie
@stinawog
@melinda010100
@snook
@marillaanne
@citizenzero
@yomibolo
@themerrylotus
@theprettysoul
@dswigle
@simgirl
@fitinfun
@whatisnew
@tezmel
@wandrnrose7
@rainbowme
@jjwriter85
@brisby
@creationofcare
@jewels3
@whatilearned
@ackhoo
@sieggna
@topkpop
@bloghound
@omra-sky
@nathanthewise
@janine-ariane
@iyanpol12
@tpkidkai
@littlescribe
@valorforfreedom
@jovema
@long888
@raj808
@dmcamera
@ecoinstant
@bashadow
@deaconlee
@miniature-tiger
@johnwjr7

Some Goodies I found For You

Opportunity to share your writing
https://steemit.com/community/@hopehuggs/join-the-unmentionables-a-kickass-writers-group-for-everyone-that-wants-to-grow

And here is a contest you can earn some $ for your story. You all are getting really good at this prompt writing business. Maybe you want to give it a try :)

I am a proud member of

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Ah, a truly nice day. Sun rising over my favorite oak tree, casting that long morning shadow just in front of my porch. My favorite morning coffee sipping spot. I can think of no other place better to fully wake to another day.
Oh how I love this lawn chair, old with the nylon bands, so comfortable. The important thing about my chair though is it is easy to get up from. I have just about had it with that red headed book stealing purple squirrel. The plan had been hatched, the gun was in place and the book lay exposed. I reached for my coffee from the cheap square white plastic table, Ah ha, gotcha now you little punk rocking squirrel, I shot him just as he was reaching for the book, got him good and wet, boy did he chitter and chitter all the way back up that old oak tree.

Great job! I need to catch up like this and I will steal your idea one of these days :)

I guess it is that "spur of the moment thing", all three kind of went together for me. It was fun. Yeah take the next three, four or all of next weeks prompts and blend them all together. It could be hard to do in 5 minutes though, I don't write very fast most of the time.

I do write fast, but rarely publish, so this challenge pushes me. You have taken it to the next level :)

Hello here's my entry for "books", thanks for reminding me.
I wonder if I can still participate in prompt "Red"
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@long888/5-min-free-write-books-20171110t123046424z

STEEMIT ACHIEVERS PHILIPPINES
Soar High Be An Inspiration
#steemitachievers

yes, of course!

So glad I'm not the only one who falls behind!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Marianne from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

huhu I am back - here is my entry for today, haha... I was on a longer "Spaziergang" through the steemit world the past days and maybe it would be an idea to try a happy call out to some of the "Schwergewichte" here in the steemit world to once in a while visit the #freewrite.... I do not know my way around well enough yet, but who knows, maybe @curie or @hendrikdegrote would really like what we are doing here... It's worth the try, isn't it? Big hug to you and Cheers from the Seven Mountains, here you go: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@jkiw/day-21-freewrite-books-here-comes-franz-kafka

Glad you are back from your little trip through the world of steemit! :)
Here we go: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-22-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-itching

My entry for today.

Seperator.png

Goddamnit now I have to write freewrite shit because I kept my word. A person that does not keep it's word has no honor and his words no meaning. I learned about honor from books. Books are the summarized thoughts and knowledge of a person (in case of self-improvement books).

Books are powerful. Without books I would still be using Google instead of diving into the mind of someone else.

I love to read biographies for that reason. They are inspiring and there is so much to learn from biographies. My favorite Biography is from Arnold Schwarzenegger.
From Austria to America barely speaking English with almost no money.

Winning the the mr. universe competition 6 times becoming the governor of California and a famous actor.

I really like the first two Terminator movies. Anyway, I am almost feeling asleep and my mind is empty right now.

Perfect time to read books, sadly I have read all my books and I need to buy new ones.

Love this freewrite and yes that book by Arnold is real gold. Love Arnold's dedication and so impressed by how he used his vision to manifest his genuine desires. Also, today i was planning to do my freewrite here too so happy to see someone write in the comments as well :)

Indeed, sadly Arnold is slacking around pretty hard nowadays. But you can't blame him, he is getting very old.

I think it is okay for him to slack a little now. He worked a lot.

Indeed he did. He is enjoying the fruits of his labor and he deserved it.

Absolutely. Is it okay if I ask you for a little favor? Are you on discord?

Since I don't know you it depends. Yes, I am on Discord.

What do you need?

The only thing sad about his success is that he was using steroids to become Mr Universe. But he certainly climbed high. here is today's freewrite - and there are no obligations :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-22-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-itching

You are increasing my current levels of willpower & endurance.

I like that.

My freewrite for today.


Books, books, baba looba looba books books. Lol, this jingle always pops up in my head when I hear the word books. It was the soundtrack of a quiz show I used to watch as a kid and loved it. It stayed with me through all these years and always returns to my awareness whenever I come across the word books lol.

I love reading and books and I have been well-acquainted for a long time now. The first time I read a book was by force. I was only 5 and my mother pressured me to read a story book and kept shoving more in my face so I nurtured the habit of reading books. It was a lovely story about animals and although I hated being pressured to read something that was supposed to be done for leisure, I loved that story and soon that sparked in me the love for reading. To this very day, I am indebted to my mother for being strict with me on building this habit and making me fall in love with reading. I have been avid reader ever since. Read lots of books as a kid. Enid Blyton was my favorite author back then and Famous Five was my all time favorite series.

As I grew older, I took more interest in mystery, suspense and drama and Sidney Sheldon soon became my favorite writer. I also read many other authors and came across Dan Brown when I was 16. Angels and Demons and the Da Vinci Code are two of my most favorite books and two of Dan Brown's best works to date according to me.

Oh and how could I forget my all-time favorite fiction series 'Harry Potter.' Love that book and so happy that Rowling created that series. I so want to keep going but the timer just beeped.

I too loved Enid Blyton's famous Five and Secret Seven!

Yes Secret Seven was great too but I loved Famous Five a tad bit more.

Funny you should say that. Five of us used to have meetings at a friend's house and pretend that we were The Famous Five trying to solve mysteries! We used to explore the Countryside looking for lost treasure and used to spy on some of the boys, thinking they were up to no good! Ah, those were the days!

Omg! My sister and 3 of our friends did exactly that. Haha, yes the good old days were amazing.

I think the love of books seems to be another common thread between us freewriters :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-22-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-itching

Oh absolutely!

And I asked people to vote for you in today's prompt. Hope you get the delegation!!

You are the best!

I can't scream loud enough how much I love this challenge. I tried, I couldn't, lol. Here's my submission. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@themerrylotus/books-5-minute-free-write-challenge

hahaha - I heard you. I was wondering who was screaming :)

Woman, you crack me up all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55706.37
ETH 2969.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24