Day 21 #freewrite: Books .... here comes Franz KafkasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago

"A book must be the ax for the frozen sea within us" This is what Franz Kafka is said to have said. I was not there when he said it, so I can only believe he did.

No matter if he ever did say it, there is so much truth to be found in those words. One thing I realized after many a book I have read is, that it makes the difference which books we read. Some are there only to entertain, some are there to educate - sometimes into a weired direction...

Some books make this very change happening. They make the frozen sea open up and let the waters, the energy, flow. And all of a sudden we know.

After many years of reading and more so many books, I finally came to understand the difference between "believing" and "knowing". It is the difference of differences - it changes everything. It changes your heartbeat, your breathing, your view and notion on the world...

And just as believing is far from knowing, the world(s) are far from the earth. Once I managed to take my first steps on this earth it became much easier to filter through the books of the world(s) and make wiser choices in all the steps taken :-)

In November of 1998 Franz Kafka and his quote inspired me to paint a picture:

the source is my (very old) website nataliebosien.de and the painting is titled "aufbrechen" with the subtitle of Kafka's quote

Sort:  

Your paint reminds me of Matisse. In your post I can perceive the authentic love for those books that will always leave a trace in your existence. I always read your posts with pleasure, very well done!

awe, so goood to know that you will find those books... so good to see that you are on your way - reaching out for you and your posts whenever I can ;-)

Yup. Books are so powerful - for good and for not so good, but that is another story....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-22-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-itching

Absolutely there is a big difference between believing and knowing and that difference holds an important significance for our lives and the decisions that we make.

a likeminded companion :-) I wish more and more people came to recognize this imense difference...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56