200 days FreeWriteHouse Party Contest (Day 6): Are You Prepared for CHILDREN?

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180515_205156.jpg
Hey! That's my drink!

CHILDREN

Nothing prepares you adequately for how your life turns upside down when children arrive. You will never really be prepared for them. I used to remember watching movies of model kids and their parents. Speaking calmly and quietly to each other in their succinct British English. Going to bed at 7 pm every night and a 7 year old playing the piano like he was trained from the time he was in the womb to be a concert pianist. Right... Does that really happen in real life?

Nothing prepares you for the noise in the house. This includes their screaming and yours when they start fighting over a toy even if there were a thousand other ones lying around. Like a zombie heading straight for meat, they head straight for the toy that the other one is playing with! What about the tornado aftermath of two little boys playing with their multitude of toy cars? Now imagine getting woken up in the middle of the night because they wanted a drink of water. As you groggily walk out to the kitchen to get a cup, you "accidentally" stomp on a transformers rescue robot that is holding two fighting swords and a ladder on its back. You hold your scream in, for fear of waking everyone up even as tears stream down your eyes. You clutch your injured foot wishing you had cleaned up the mess before bedtime no matter how tired you were. Better still get the kids to clean up!

The frustration of being late and still having to watch your 4 year old carefully put on his sock. Scrutinising how and which way he should pull it. If you cared to spare the time, you would see the wonder in his eyes when he finally gets the sock on right! The joy of achievement of doing something for himself and the desire for your approval. To see you happy that he did it!

How do you even prepare yourself for the lack of your own personal space and time, when your flesh and blood comes bawling down the hallway into the toilet that you have just settled on to for your morning routine. The incessant requests of "I'm hungry! Are you done yet? I want a biscuit, I want cereal, I want water." I remember someone sharing a joke, he said "I am not afraid of zombies, I have small children...I know how to bar a door!"

Nothing prepares you for the joy that they bring! When they climb into your lap for a cuddle, when they kiss you on the mouth and say "I love you Mama", when they ask for a story and giggle when you tell them one. What about the unbridled carefree laughter of being tickled and the first time they learn to say a new word? The anxiety when they get sick and the heartache when they refuse food.

Children, we thought we were ready, we thought we were prepared and knew what we were in for. But every experience is as new as the first day and if we had to do it again, we would! Remember to have fun though because there is no such thing being totally ready! Just be prepared when you take a family we-fie, your kid is going to take the chance to drink up all your soda! 😂😋🥤

Day 6 of the contest and I spent the last two days with my kiddos. I thought it would be wonderful to put it in the blockchain forever how wonderful it is to have children! Hahaha! So the prompt I choose today was CHILDREN.
Check out @marrianewest and @freewritehouse to know more about freewrite! For more interesting reads about today's weekend freewrite, do go to Day6 of the Contest and have a great weekend!


Khim Pic for signature.jpg

signature_1.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I remembered what my dad used to say,
"You will NEVER be ready for kids"

And funnily on Monday you just shared the exact same wise words with me. haha.

I suppose it is just a totally wild ride and adventure (plus a little insane mix in it) when a new life comes to you.

I also remembered a friend and mentor once told me

If you have boys, let them scream and let out the energy, because they may be a nightmare for you right now, but they will grow up more stable when they turn adolescence; if you are lucky enough to live through the horror and they actually launch off to adulthood.

Be utterly prepared, my dearest sis-in-Christ! And I suppose since you already have them around, just enjoy them.
For it is written:

Children are a heritage from the LORD, offspring a reward from him.
Psalm 127:3

My boss once told me if you don't enjoy them now, you probably don't really have much of a chance when they start to think for themselves.

(Yes, his son sometimes drives him up the wall haha... before he learns to be independent studying abroad)

ps: Wonderful write up! I thoroughly enjoyed your sharing!

Aww @littlenewthings thank you so much for the bible verses. Yes they are indeed a heritage from the Lord! Amen! Agree too many parents forget to enjoy their kids! So I do want to be more present and intentional with them. They are only so small once and then they grow up!

No one is ever "ready" for children! They change our lives in so many ways! I remember wishing someone had warned me ahead of time, but then I realized I wouldn't have understood anyway. I've been told boys are harder to raise when they are little, but easier than girls when they are teens. I think there is some truth to that. I had some of each, and girl drama can really get overwhelming. But now they are grown up and we can be friends and share recipes, and discuss which store has the best sales, and I have a grandbaby to play with, and my son introduced me to Steemit, and it is all worth it.

Wow, that is so awesome that you are a grandmama! So wonderful! I am not sure about that but I do believe that God gives us what we can handle. So I guess, I can handle boys better. I so worried that if I had girls I would know how to handle them! :)

Very nice freewrite @khimgoh! I couldn’t agree more. Nothing prepares you for the joy or the chaos that having children will bring. It’s one of those hands on experiences...you learn as you go and figure out what works and what doesn’t work. I wouldn’t haven’t any other way, I can’t even imagine our house being quiet LOL!!

Hahaha! Thanks @crosheille for you with now coming to 5? does that word even exist in your household? So funny you! Take care and let us know when baby decides to say hello to the world!

Haaa!! Exactly! The word “quiet” doesn’t visit our home too often! 😂

Thanks I sure will! Looking forward to announcing her arrival!!

I always tell my friends who are moms, I salute them, really, I don't even want to imagine taking care a child by myself, scares me leh... hahaha

So, here I salute you mommy @khimgoh, you are doing a great job!!

Thank you for your kind words @roselifecoach felt the same way until I had them! LOL!

Hahaha... that's pure mother's love!

The anxiety when they get sick and the heartache when they refuse food.

Yeah this is motherhood! haha!

I love how you pen it out how you felt you weren't (aren't) ready but there is still so much joy in your motherhood! Children are precious gems!! Love your perspective that we can never be prepared how messy and awkward we may look, but the joy is incomparable!! <3 Cheers to parenting and motherhood!!

Cheers to parenting and motherhood indeed! Thank you dear!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Written so well! however our child is of the utmost importance. we must teach them a good thing for sure. you have done well! Thanks for sharing great stuf!

Thank you!

Just dropping by to let you know that your post was featured in the @freewritehouse Weekly curation post today!

250freewriteFavorites.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51