Poetry Digest - Twentieth Edition

in #freewrite6 years ago

poetry Digest.jpg

Poetry Digest - Twentieth Edition

Welcome back to our weekly Freewrite Poetry Digest! Our digest is growing and we are delighted to share the wonderful poems by our English and Spanish poets. Thank you @curie for sponsoring the weekly contest Recommend Your Favorite Freewrite Poetry with two SBI memberships!

With the influx of poem submissions we ask that going forward all poems submitted for consideration of the weekly digest include a link with the freewrite prompt inspiring the poem in the post in addition to tagging with at least one of the prompts. Many poets are using the tags #freewritehousepoetry and/or #freewritepoetry but only poems utilizing a prompt from the daily or weekend freewrite prompts from @marianewest or @latino.romano will be selected for the weekly digest.

Without further ado, here are this week's awesome selections!

@wonderwop brings us his two poetry recommendations:

Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.11.22 PM.png

I found a beautiful poem by @kimberlylane on yesterday's prompt, feeling the love. Maybe it was a poem about the civil war or maybe it was a poem about how we feel about the civil war. In these days of tearing down statues, in the darkness of night. Or trying to erase history that's not taught in school anymore. Crack a book, before you jump on a bandwagon. Learn things!

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

  1. [](https://steemit.com/freewrite/@pixiehunter/5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-feeling-the-love

)
Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.11.37 PM.png I found this beauty by @pixiehunter a couple of days ago and since nobody jumped on it, to feature, I'm gonna do it. The prompt was feeling the love and these few lines that @pixiehhunter put together shot straight to my heart. It's a must read poem and now that @pixiehunter has been nominated into the Over 💯 Club, it's a must upvote poem.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

@saulos shares two poems today for our enjoyment:

  1. I would like to recommend @psi1826 with his freewrite
    I would like to be by your side in Spanish.
    Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.11.49 PM.png

I have been reading the writings of this young man and I find great potential in him, it is his lyrics you can find the strong emotional charge that is needed to convey a mood, this poem is somewhat obscure in some parts, but it clearly makes us fly with him by imaginary worlds in which you could dance with death, seen here more as a lover, embracing misery at the same time, sometimes he seems to be inspire by a woman, you could see that he necessarily feels what he writes and once taking the feather continues to evolve.

I have read his poem several times in a calm manner and I have ended up convincing myself that he has talent that seems to be innate, that is why I suggest you to support him in order to read more of his poems in the future that I consider of great value for this platform.

Google Translation

I'd like to be by your side - Poem

I would like to be by your side, be the one to accompany you on that exhausting trip. You keep walking on that bridge without wanting to do it, and I, like a suicide, I have thrown countless times of those I was traveling through.

However, here I am,
behind the tracks that you leave when walking.

Your aroma I perceive in spite of the distance and the same,
it makes me reach you
thanks to that it smells of death and withered flowers.

Attracted like a bee to honey, I
wander behind you
guided by the demon who speaks
about your qualities with enthusiasm,
laughing at all times,
and expressing in his face a
certain joy every time he pronounces your name.

The panorama is so dark,
that I no longer hope to see any clear sky,
I just want to reach you and suffer at your side.

Feel your pain with vehemence,
that the impetus to live the life of the cursed poets,
drag me again and again to your skirts.

Cover me with your icy mantle
Do not let me feel any heat,
I'll let your inert body become one with mine, I
will become the rot among the viscera of this unusual life.

We will dance to the beat of madness
and upset,
we will scream in unison all that we have been silent for eons.

We will propagate our anger for the world
and with a tyrannical attitude we will
recover what belongs to us,
to later discard it with indifference.

May the pen bathed in blood
be with which it is
signed , the contract that separates us from all good things.

That the detachment be received with open arms,
and thus, be able to look without disdain,
the memories of an indelible past.

I would like to be by your side,
whisper in your ear
what the end that we so long for will be like.

Fade with you,
become part of nothing, free
me from this existence
that only serves
to aggravate the pain in my chest.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

  1. On this occasion I would like to recommend a poet whose verses are really soft, nothing complicated, the clarity of his language does not lead to interpretation is direct and concise, in this poem he applies a reasonably well accented reiteration, his words leave a free feeling, Like the cool breeze, like after taking a sip of ice water on a warm afternoon, the link in your poem is:
    Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.12.02 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

This poetry was crafted by @improv using prompt the sky is clear. He writes a concise, impactful poem from the point of view of a homeless person. It is past 7 days so please upvote a current post or comment!

The Sky is Clear

Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.12.13 PM.pnghttps://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/the-sky-is-clear-5minutefreewritedhoixkle

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

This poem by @anatu piqued our interest and was written for the prompt the sky is clear. We love the creativity and how the poet leads us to the punchline.

**The Bees are Dead

**

Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.12.26 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

A beautiful poem using the prompt fever by Spanish poet @dareuiz regarding the musings of a poet caught in the wonder of love questioning if this love is real and reciprocate.

Screen Shot 20180909 at 2.12.38 PM.png

Google Translation

Fever rave

It warms me this cold Fever
on this starry night.
With your memory,
next my pillow.

Love to love you
in exchange for nothing.

Even at my worst
I'm like a plug.
Stick to you,
without you listening to me

Your saved silence
in a case.

A game? Is it what I am?
As a ball that goes
hit with your racket,
from here to there.

I like?
What worries me?

I will be a masochist,
or a reviled singer.
It's the way I have
to feel the love.

Love for you that fills
even in this cold heat.

This moment now
that will not go beyond a malaise,
I want to believe that you will come,
that you do not stop thinking about me

And feel successful,
to see you in my living room.

And we would talk outside
on the porch under the roof.
We would look at the stars together,
I looking at you enchanted.

Giving thanks to God,
that today, Heaven is clear.

I hope you enjoyed these poems. If the poem is past payout, please find a recent post to share a vote and comment to support these lovely poets!

A vote on an expired post does go back to the reward pool and has no benefit to you or the author.

expired post.png


If you write a freewrite poem please add the prompt used and tag us with #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry so that we can find your work!! And if you see a piece of freewrite poetry of a fellow freewriter which really speaks to you, leave us a link in the comments - or better yet, save the link and enter it in the Friday Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

Happy poetic writing!

Poetry.png

Remember to recommend a fellow Freewrite Poet and Win SBI

Every Week, we have a recommend a Freewrite Poem contest at the Freewrite House. All you need to do is keep track of your favorite Freewrite poets and leave a comment with at least 50 words telling us about the poem.

We have a random drawing for SBI membership(s) - depending on how many sponsors we have - and also for several 100% upvotes.

Your comment always gets a 20% upvote - you win and win and win by participating!!

Poetry.png

We Welcome Sponsors for our Contests!!!

  • Please consider sponsoring one of our contests. We so much appreciate this and so do all the Freewriters. If you sponsor SBI - you know that you also benefit.
  • Or you can send us Steem or SBD with instructions how you would like it to be used - or leave it up to us.
  • Your name will be mentioned in many of our posts and in the Daily Prompt.
  • Our collective gratefulness will follow you around 😂

Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • Freewrite House Supporter of the Week - Monday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI - Every other Wednesday
  • Freewrite Favorites - Thursday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem - and Win SBI - Friday
  • Over 20 Club - Saturday
  • Poetry Digest - Sunday

Ol53yrO.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

So pleased!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, it is an honor to see my poem in this publication. I think that so much art would not be possible if it weren't for you.
Thanks to the dynamics of freewrite, many have progressed and evolved in each writing.
Now, all that remains is to continue creating.

Yes!! Continue creating!!! :)

Some very nice must reads this week. Go drop an upvote.

A beautiful collection of poems! It was a pleasure to read through this great works. Thank you very much for including my poem as well.

Thank you for writing with us!!

It's a pleasure!

Aww, thank you so much. :) All the poems were amazing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74