"You Idiot!" - Day 369: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: idiot

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 369: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: idiot


Grandma, Grandpa, and my dad

"You idiot"

is a phrase I heard from my dad, from infancy. He was an equal-opportunity employer of the "idiot" label. It's how he addressed my mom a great many times as they worked together on a farm, which Mom, a town-girl, petite and fine-boned, was never built for. Her mother-in-law was a beast, taller than her husband (my cute little grandpa!), with size 11 shoes, broad shoulders (again, broader than Grandpa's), and strong bones. That woman could beat a carpet like nobody else's business, back in the day when wall-to-wall carpet wasn't a thing yet, and rugs were taken out and whipped with a wire implement with a wooden handle.



source

Grandpa evidently wasn't so nice to Grandma,

from what she told us. "He was mean," she once said in that stoic way. 'Nuff said. Grandma never offered details about her private affairs or her emotions. When Grandpa died, I never saw her shed a tear. When my sister Julie was murdered, Grandma may have wept, but it would have been behind closed doors. What a pillar of strength she was! Coldness? Heart of stone? We all knew it was just the way she was raised, and we privileged mid-20thC-children of the TV era were fortunate to have had Dr. Spock and Women's Lib exhort parents to break out of that old mold.

Competence,

too. I'm pretty sure Grandpa never had an occasion to call that woman an idiot. She was farm-born, the first of ten children, and she came to hate children because her mother had the eldest daughter take over diapers and feeding and dishes, night wakings, and all the work that a child was born to do, in a German farm family. Children were workers. Love apparently had little to do with it.

Infant mortality was ridiculously high in those days, and from what I've seen of all everyone raised in Grandma's and Dad's era, children weren't "fussed over." In fact Grandma would comment on the way my generation did just that: "My, how you fuss over that child," if I held him and consoled him.

"Never give a child his way; you'll spoil him," was Grandma's motto. Obviously she never read my most-beloved book of my childhood, "The Secret Garden," in which Francis Hodgson Burnett speaks through Dickens's mother.

==== Five minutes are up. I'll keep going. ====

Grandpa on his first tractor, painted by my husband Tim;
my dad (far right), our daughter, and the first great-grandson

My stoic grandma never called me an idiot,

never made fun of me (Dad did, and he allowed my sisters to ridicule me at the dinner table), and never criticized me.

That may not sound like a big accolade, but really, it is something. "I never laid a had on you girls" was my father's boast, and we were duly grateful. His high school classmate and best friend had 12 children and all of them knew the sting of a leather belt. Yes, things could be so much worse for us! We had a roof over our heads; we never wanted for food; we were not worked like slaves, nor beaten; we were not exploited or neglected. Life is good.

Grandma was the most capable and assertive woman I'd ever known. She didn't let her husband push her around. He wanted to smoke a pipe, he had to smoke it outside. My mom had no such backbone, no such stiffness to her. She meekly submitted to Dad's will in all things, like smoking his pipe in the car, with five daughters and a wife choking on the fumes. He smoked in the house. He didn't take off his muddy shoes. He often commented on how his bossy mother was cold and indifferent to him. We all grew up indoctrinated with the idea that meek, pretty little Mommy was the role model to emulate, and big, strong, assertive Grandma was the kind of wife no man could love. Not even her husband. No love lost between those two, as the saying goes.

Grandma died at age 97,

as alert and spry as ever, and too proud to use a cane, oblivious to the irony that she'd look far more capable walking with a cane than lurching from wall to sofa to doorway, to keep her balance.

She continued baking bread until the last days of her life.

I was amazed at how much I cried for Grandma,

the cold, "unloving" woman who earned no affection or accolades from her only son. From her only daughter, she heard complaining, ranting, and raving, but not words of affection (not that I ever heard or could imagine).

Their only daughter, my spinster aunt, moved out of their house after they'd retired from the farm to town so Dad could take over with the wife and kids. She bought her own house. Freedom! Right? Wrong. Grandma and Grandpa proceeded to sell their house and move in with their daughter, because it only made sense, economically.

When Aunt Malita died, we found labels - "Mine! Hands Off!" - affixed to new items, unused, stored in boxes on dark, hidden closet shelves. I could not bring myself to inherit, and touch, and use, that set of pristine steak knives or the bedsheets in the original packaging with Malita's urgent plea: "Hands off!" - because Grandma believed "yours is mine," as Dad bitterly attests to this day. He raised rabbits before the ripe old age of ten to sell as meat during the Depression, and Grandma pocketed all the money he earned. This will stay with him all the way to the grave, overshadowing any act of kindness or generosity his mother might have shown him.

Unlike her assertive mother, my spinster aunt did nothing to keep Ma and Pa from moving in with her, except lash out at them verbally and tell Grandpa to go jump in a lake.

Aunt Malita never called me an idiot.

And as I look back, my heart swells with love and gratitude to this grandma, this grandpa, this aunt.

They didn't shower us with kind words, affection, praise, or material gifts. For Christmas, Grandma would gift-wrap a box of Kleenex. And believe it or not, that was a luxury item in our world. To use something once and throw it away! It was unthinkable!

These grandparents, this "only aunt," and we, the only grandchildren: one might imagine hours of laughter and visits to county fairs and movie theaters and fun things, but "fun" was never part of the equation. Work, work, work. Man up. Buck up, be strong.

To this day, Dad regards all five of his daughters as idiots, and his wife too, no matter how much any of us might accomplish. One sister has a PhD. Three of us graduated summa cum laude from college.

But nobody in the world is as smart as he is, and if we fail to understand his orders, if we choose not to follow his blueprint for our loves, what possible explanation could be there except that we're idiots?

Grandma, I miss you!

Grandpa, and Aunt Malita, I have only good memories of you, and gratitude for the virtues you modeled.

The vices?

I don't even think of their traits as vices. Just... it is what it is. Growing up German.


Aunt Malita (left) in some parallel universe, er, collage I made with my dad and my oldest sister Julie

Thank you, @mariannewest, @improv, and all the @freewrite team, for hosting Daily Freewrites.

Check out @freewrite and the hashtag #freewrite for more stories; follow @freewritehouse, and hear Marianne:




❤ LOOKING FOR SOME ADDITIONAL LOVE ON YOUR STEEMIT POSTS? ❤

@theluvbug is another account and hashtag to follow, and more, too many for me to mention. You'll find lots of them in @mariannewest's posts.

Sort:  

This was an amazing freewrite. I'm so sorry to hear about the murder of your sister. That I am sure has left an indelible mark. I identify with growing up German, my parents were tough, too. I was not coddled or babied either, and I learned to work and clean perfectly. After my divorce, I decided to go to college because my ex-husband who was very controlling and abusive and did call me an idiot forbit it. I also graduated summa cum laude! I still don't feel any smarter. I'm glad that you loved and respected your family for the upbringing and that although you learned to live very sparingly, you're appreciated the good things that you are given. Well done!

Thank you so much!
No wonder your fiction resonates with me - you've been there, the controlling and abusive guy who called you (you!) an idiot. While I will always see how many ways "idiot" is pretty accurate to describe a lot of things I do or fail to know, I finally see how it fits others just as easily, my dad included. The older I get, the more I see it. We ALL do idiotic things! My first grade teacher spanked me for not getting math, saying if I'd just paid attention, I'd get it. Well, that was only partly true. Yes, I daydreamed all day, but that didn't stop me from "getting" other subjects. Math... just.... math. Ack. It sounds evil.
I'm glad you got your degree - with highest honors! - and if you don't feel any smarter, you must have expectations about earning a college degree that need to be re-examined. You know more, to be sure. You've learned stuff, and you've learned HOW to learn stuff. But if "smart" means being like a Robert Ludlom spy, overhearing a conversation, hearing it correctly, and remembering addresses and phone numbers, well, I will NEVER be that smart. Even if heard names and numbers correctly, I'd get them scrambled in my mind. So. Write on! Know that you know what you need to, and never mind if you can't remember all nine justices of the Supreme Court (they die and retire all the time, it seems; I can't remember!), how to find the hypotenuse of a triangle, or how to spell colossal right on the first try. (Oooh, I think I just did! Woot!)
You also were not coddled or babied... which in turn may have led to the abusive husband... I am the only one of my sisters who married a decent guy, not a controlling, demeaning guy. And that was just luck. "There but for the grace of God..."

My dad was 100% German, and very difficult to please. He was a firm believer in hard work and in academic achievement. He wasn't abusive, but he just didn't "get" a lot of things about people and relationships and dreams and goals. I chuckled over your mention of the nine justices. It made me think of all the trouble I went to in grade school to learn all the countries in Africa.....and most of them have changed since then! I'm glad I now know the importance of knowing where to find information so it doesn't all have to stay in my head. The internet certainly has simplified that process. Do today's young people even know what a card catalog is? Or an encyclopedia?

Thanks for such an awesome reply, @scribblingramma!
LOL - this sounds like the stereotype of guys: not abusive but "doesn't get it" - Dave Barry has a brilliant chapter on that in his book about Guys. My husband used to say, "I don't intend to be thoughtless," which is another way of saying "I didn't even think of ---" (whatever he was not thoughtful of), which is the very definition of thoughtless - but that's so convoluted, we just never even talk about it now. As for card catalogs, I shudder at the memory, and we have 3 sets of encyclopedias, ranging from a hundred years old to 50, leftover from his side of the family (my parents would never have spent money on books). Outdated knowledge - outdated maps - Yugoslavia is no more! - now, just so we never lose electrical power and internet access, we're set. :)

I bought our set about 30 years ago, and some of the information is still useful, so I keep them around.

True, some history never changes, like The Declaration of Independence. It's fun to look at the really old ones and see how they reflect attitudes of the times. Terms that are now politically incorrect were in common usage. Still, I see old encyclopedia sets at garage sales - ya can't give 'em away! - and 30 years ago, our sister-in-law paid $2,000 for a set from a door-to-door salesman. It took so many years to pay off, the books were obsolete by the time she made the last monthly payment -because the internet had come around by then.

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Very moving story. And the comments, most enjoyable. My heart goes out to you for the loss of your sister. Yes, math in school is a decrepit version of the true math from which life emanates. Here's some math I believe you'll enjoy:

(a short, fascinating clip). Your daughter's painting is beautiful. I read a lot as a child (Sybil, Helter Skelter, The Bell Jar - fun stuff) but always wanted to read the Secret Garden - I guess it wasn't in my parents' library.

Thank you @sima369! (Yes, I"m noticing the 3-6-9.) Funny you should mention Nine. I blogged about this a few years ago: Number Nine, New World Order, Peace, Asoka & Fulgurology .
As part of his quest for peace, Asoka founded “the most powerful secret society on earth”– “the Nine Unknown Men” who would use a “synthetic language,” and each was in possession of a book that was constantly being rewritten (updated) with some aspect of science.
Book 9 – enlightenment — "would include the presentation of Fulgurology"--a big "ooooh!"-- lightning strikes (and fulgurology) intrigue me, so, yeah, I blogged a wee bit about something I totally don't understand. "The Secret Garden," on the other hand, I read and internalized from a tender age, and even if it has a few maudlin moments, I treasure that book to this day. I hope you find time to read it. The movie never did it any justice. It's a play or a musical now, which I haven't seen. You make me laugh - "fun" and "Bell Jar" don't usually go hand in hand (you do mean Sylvia Plath, right?).
Thanks again for a great reply!

Nine is awesome, as is the trinity, as is the number 12.... it's crazy how much of the New Testament is based on twelves. There's something about 40 days (Noah, the temptation in the desert), but I can't remember how the numbers factored into those myths. All the nine stuff blows my mind, and I don't even want to look at the part of the video that veers into a "Singularity" then into a vacuum.... gaaaahhh!

The link for your blog isn't working for me :( sounds interesting though. Yes, Sylvia Plath - I was 13 when I read those books and have been working on my own version of the Sybil complex since then. Finally merging into one being :) I will have to read "The Secret Garden" as you treasure it.I want to keep writing more and I'd also like to see what I can come up with on today's freewrite - I'm a bit slow at these things. Cheers!

LOL - you actually tried to link to my blog! Long, long ago, I abandoned all hope of anyone ever reading anything I post a link to. Thank you for trying! This link ought to work (the "h" of https got lobbed off when I tried hyperlinking it earlier): https://carolkean.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/the-mark-of-nine-new-world-order-peace-and-asoka/

Wow, Carol, don't hold back.
I guess childhoods aren't what they used to be. That's a powerful story.

Thanks Joe!
Actually, I did hold back. A lot. :) Because the truth is too crazy for fiction.

Zen, u come over, I vill be ze psychiatrist, und you vill be ze patient. You vill lie on ziz couch, ya? Und before ve begin vould you like to share in a cordial? It vill loosen you up, ya?

Loved reading about your family!
Like your grandma, I'm the oldest of ten and assigned all manner of babysitting since the age of three or four!
We were occasionally called idiot's too :/
I like your collage :)

Ohhh, I'd give you ten upvotes just for saying you like my collage! Everybody seems to hate it or say "Why??" - but I see it a way to imagine time-travel, putting all three of them together in one place at the same age, which in linear time ("Real" Time) is impossible. You're the oldest of ten?? Oh Kimberly!! You must be incredibly competent with kids. My mom was overwhelmed (five girls all about a year apart, I kid you not), so she let us run wild. I'm glad you were only occasionally called idiots. :) What stories you must have about nine siblings!!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you @jaynie, @steemitbloggers and whoever else is part of the team @theluvbug!
You're doing something I kept wanting to do but never figured out the formatting to do it, and creating a new Steemit account, and all those techno-details that hamper from any number of endeavors.
But I can promote everyone else who figures this stuff out!

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Resisting the Temptation to edit this post, having read that edits "cost" something (I can't figure out how much, or who foots the bill). Somewhere I read that even wallet transfers and replies "cost" as much as posting a post (and what does THAT cost??).

But I wanted to add that Aunt Malita was not allowed to attend school beyond eighth grade (why would a woman need an education to be a farm wife or spinster farm daughter); she worked 40 years at a meat packing plant; she walked to the library every day to read newspapers and magazines; she was articulate, intelligent, animated, and impassioned about any seemingly trivial topic or current events. She lived in obscurity and died in obscurity. At age nine she lost every hair on her body (eyebrows included). Today I believe this must have been alopecia universalis, an auto immune disorder. She was so eccentric, so dramatic in her speech and mannerisms, so extreme and so isolated and inhibited, and yet so uninhibited about expressing her opinions in the safety of immediate family. In public she was virtually silent. She died of lung cancer at 73, in 1993, and I am only now beginning to feel as if I might be ready to "go there"in fiction and bring Malita to life via story.

The comments and replies are almost as long as the post. Marvelous Freewriting all the way. I could feel them connecting with your writing, no better award for a writer! Congratulations! Where are you @curie ?
Now that we are done with playing lets get some work done- https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/we-write-partner-up-10-24-2018
Please be my We-writer?

LOL - thanks! I cannot say no to @sarez, so.... you go first this time?

On it! Thank You!!!!

I really should hit that Edit button before my 7-day window expires. I forgot to come back and finish the "Secret Garden" quote - Susan Sowersby (sp?) the earth mother, wasn't sure which was worse: ***never to give a child his way or always to give him/her his way. *** That book was such a favorite of mine it fell apart, but on ebay I found an old edition with the same illustrations. (Shown next to a painting our daughter made but did NOT sell, thank heaven, and I wish I'd never let her sell any of her art, but she'd get a hundred+ dollars a picture!):

You know that you can edit now beyond the 7 day limit. Steempeak already has the function, I don't know which other apps have it too. Maybe busy.

I didn't know that! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38