She Came in through the Kitchen Window - Day 577: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: window

in #freewrite5 years ago


source

The living room window surely had shades,

but the house had seen better days, and the college boys inside apparently had nothing to hide. Not in the front room, anyway. She didn't want to imagine what might be going on in the bedrooms.

She had parked her Crysler minivan on this street and slept fitfully through the night. Now she watched for signs that the house was empty. A skinny kid with messy hair was the fourth one to leave, wearing a backpack with his faded jeans and a Notre Dame shirt, so she decided to make her move.

The door was locked, of course, but she'd had a son in college, and she knew where to look for a spare key. Not under the mat or the flower pot, but in a crevice, yes, under the roof beams of the front porch. Bingo.

She let herself in, humming a Beatles song, "she came in through the bathroom window," but she was using a door. And "window" could refer to something more than a pane of glass. This was her window of opportunity if she played her cards right and didn't run out of cliches.

As expected, the place looked like only bachelors lived here. Furnished in vintage Goodwill and streetside pick-ups, buried in dust, with empty beer bottles and whiskey glasses on wooden end tables, and the kitchen, dear God, with a sink piled full of dirty dishes, a greasy stove top heaped with unwashed kettles and petrified tomato sauce spills.

She cleaned out the fridge first and set the freezer to defrost, then started unloading her groceries and cleaning supplies from the van. Looking very natural, of course, like she had been here many times.

After tackling the worst of the grime and slime, she started cooking in the pans she had packed from home. Bread dough rising, a massive chuck roast in the oven, potatoes and carrots, and a Devil's Food cake. She tried to whistle while she worked, like Snow White, but she had podcasts to listen to on her Blue Tooth. "Marital Rape," she was done with. "If He's So Great, Why Do I Feel So Bad?" was on now.



source

Dwayne would never find her here.

Still, she checked the front window every few minutes out of habit.

Late in the afternoon, as she pulled fresh-baked bread from the oven, the front door opened. "Damn," said the skinny kid with the faded jeans. "We have a fairy godmother!"

"Or a home intruder," said the tall, dark-haired guy who appeared to Middle Eastern. Dwayne would feel for his conceal-and-carry and keep a close watch on that one. A phlebotomist in a hijab at the hospital had almost sent him into a headline-news story. Incredibly, the hospitals let anyone come and go without going through a metal detector. Any lunatic, any mad husband like Dwayne, could walk right in.

She played it cool. "Not a fairy, I promise. Just trying to surprise Danny on his birthday."

The two students traded glances.

"Uh, I don't want to disappoint you, but nobody named Danny lives here."

She laughed. "Good one!"

The layer cake felt cool to the touch, and she kept her gaze averted as she flipped the first round onto a plate, dipped a spatula into a bowl of chocolate frosting, and began icing the cake.

"Oh," she said, pausing with the spatula in hand to meet their puzzled faces. "I'm Laura Jensen, Danny's mom."

"Um. It wasn't a joke." The skinny one bit his lip. "I don't know who Danny is, but I'd love to know his mother better."

Laura laughed again, as if he was quite the comedian. "Well, then, I'm pleased to make your acquaintance."

The door opened again. Another of the four young men she'd spotted the night before, the white-blond with invisible lashes. Minutes later, another. It was Happy Hour. She had brought along a six pack of Budweiser and got it out of the fridge. "Why wait for Danny?" she said. "Go on, help yourselves. I made enough to feed a small army. Just don't ruin your appetite with the bread and cheese."

The guys mumbled things to each other, shrugged, looked at her, mumbled some more.

"Mrs. Jensen," said the white-blond. "I hate to say this, but your son Danny, he doesn't live here. We don't know who he is."

She blinked, trying to look astonished. "But this is the address he gave me." Producing tears and a quaver in her voice was effortless. She had driven two days straight and this was Day Three without Dwayne. He hadn't caught up to her yet. With any luck, he never would. "If he didn't want me to stop by and see him for the first time since last fall, he could have just said so. Today is his golden birthday. Age 21 on the 21st of April. Once in a lifetime."

There really was a Danny, and he really had turned 21 on the 21st of April, seven years earlier. But they didn't need to know that. They just needed to fall in love with her food and her housekeeping skills and beg her to stay the night. And another. And another. She wouldn't overstay her welcome, but she couldn't afford hotels or the risk of surveillance cameras or a paper trail.

She could sleep in the minivan, come in during the day to cook and sneakily use their shower, maybe advertise herself as Rent-a-Mom, and hire herself out to Ivy Leaguers who would pay for the motherly love their mothers couldn't send in the mail.

It was all so sudden, she really hadn't thought it through. This was just an idea she dared to try out.

"Poor Danny," said the Middle-Easterner. "Lucky us."

Wait til you see what I cook up tomorrow, she almost said.



source

Day 577: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: window

Thank you for reading,

and sorry this ran on so long without being anywhere close to finished.

Scrap-binned for another day:

She fell into the familiar role of engaging the guys in conversation, a skill that had made her a favorite bartender, in her life before Dwayne.

She'd repainted the minivan with several cans of charcoal gray spray paint. The license plates were illegible with dirt and mud from the gravel roads she took getting away from the house in Bristol. And she was twenty pounds lighter, not that Dwayne had caught on, but he'd have plenty to say if he could see her now, wearing clothes that had been boxed the attic since she hit age 40 and couldn't shake the weight gain. Hospital stays were not the best way to kick-start a diet, but her bout with e-coli had proved to be good for something.

The old house, converted into an apartment now shared by four engineering majors, had belonged to her professor once upon a time. The one she never mentioned to Dwayne. At nineteen she'd dreamed of marrying Dr. Ellis, but he was twice her age, 40-something, and he kept her infatuation for him at a safe distance. The math tortured her. When she was 39 he was 60-something, not 80-something, and when she turned fifty he should have been a hundred, but only for a short time was he twice her age. For a long time, she was married to Dwayne, but that was going to change.

Sort:  

Oh, well, now I know which way this would develop but it could get really creepy or really nice. She could be a crazy serial killer or just a lady who need new home and love. I like this story even though it went in a very different way that I expected. Actually, in a surprising way :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you so much! I was very surprised this raw, unfinished freewrite (which took hours, not minutes, as usual!) got curied, especially when I thought last week's freewrite (Lilac Time) was better, but authors are often the worst judges of their own work. I know this story is undeveloped and only a first draft. The abusive husband, the runaway wife, the glimpse through a window of four college guys in need of some TLC, and the woman in need of a safe temporary place to stay, AND, something I forgot to mention, whatever happened to the "Blue Star" home? Off to google that and see if they still exist. THANK YOU again for reading and commenting.

Wonderful read. Quite a bit there to digest, way more than I can ever get in in 5 minutes! I love your idea for her getting away from her abusive husband, that's a novel plan. Those boys were happy to get the benefit from "Danny's mom". I hope Dwayne never catches up with her. There's a wide open ending just wanting for more story...

Thank you so much for your time and attention to this story. It took me waaay more than five minutes, as usual. I love the insights and ideas on "what will happen next" that readers like you bring to an unfinished story. You would be a great addition to the Beta Reading group, and that reminds me, I haven't checked gmail for new manuscripts to read and comment on. Eep!! The things I overlook! You have reminded me now. Thank you!!!

Oh my. I love your bio!!!
@blueeyes8960

I'm a retired Harley riding crypto loving g'ma. I like to read and write and enjoy learning new things. I'm married to my best friend and we love to travel.

#NowFollowing @blueeyes8960 on Twitter too!
Off to find you on Narrative:
***If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction: Join me on Narrative

@carolkean I am already in the Beta Reading Group. I was given one project that I completed a long time ago, I haven't seen anything else coming to me.

Just found Heart's Desire - BEAUTIFUL story, beautifully written! - and tweeted links to it.
"Heart's Desire" by @blueeyes8960
Twitter: @ narrative_hq
Narrative is a #content network where members rule and are rewarded. http://www.narrative.org $NRVE

@carolkean Thank you! And thanks for the extra exposure!❤️

Wow! This is an awesome story and begs for more. Your one a week freewrite is worth 1000! Rent a Mom is epic.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love you @wandrnrose7!!!!

"Rent a Mom" first came to mind when I visited our son in Chicago for a week. An old coach house with five young musicians rooming in it. The carpet was black with dust up against the walls. The kitchen... the fridge... I just wanted to start up a new career as "Rent a Mom" - nagging will cost extra. :)

Rofl! That is a priceless backstory, too! Have a wonderful day and keep writing, lady. !tip

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @carolkean! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @wandrnrose7!

@wandrnrose7 wrote lately about: Weekend Of Surprises Through Windows Feel free to follow @wandrnrose7 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you! Already Following her, already upvoting and social media sharing @wandrnrose7 (off now to see if she's at Twitter!).

Hi carolkean,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

OMG a curie!!!! Just when I was thinking this was a lame endeavor, not worth developing.
THANK YOU, thank you, thank you!!!!

And you still have some scrap-binned! A whole new story can come out of that.
Great story. I'd would have liked to know more about her children, their relationship with their mother, and how they became sort of ghost children.
A very unusual premise, I think. People who run away from conflicting families tend to avoid more social contact, but the mix of elements make it a good, even funny story(despite the drama behind her).

@hlezama!! Good to see your face again. It's been a while.
Thank you for reading and commenting!! The premise is too similar to too many of my freewrites: wife, mom, usually middle-aged, running away from home. Hiding. Finding a new home among strangers. I've yet to flesh out one of these stories and make a complete story or novella or novel out of this premise. You motivate me and inspire me. Thank you!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Both are great. A very interesting strategy to escape what seems to be shaping up as abuse. I'm wondering why she went to her professor's old house though and why she never mentioned him to Dwayne. To be in an area she knew and because she wanted to keep this as an option? So many questions!!!

Ah, you read the scrap-bin material. I might never use it again. The clock was ticking. "Less is more," I decided. Thank you for reading it! She's definitely on the run, desperate, with nobody to turn to, and starts thinking she could be useful to somebody - surely there must be college guys (or yuppies working 60 hour weeks) who could use some maternal attention. Her kids don't need her (or want her around), her husband is indeed abusive (manipulative), and she bolted suddenly without a lot of fore-thought (but did pack some of her favorite kitchenware). I thought about having her drive her old car into a river as well, swimming out of it and leaving behind a shoe and jacket, but then I got to thinking I sound like I'm channeling a Nany Price novel ("Sleeping with the Enemy"). Eh. I'll likely end up doing nothing else with this, just as I've done nothing more with the other nearly 100 by now freewrites (probably less than 50, but feels like more). Sometimes, once a story is begun, and it appears the character has matters well in hand, I'm eager to move on to some other issue. There is no end of issues for me to ponder....(sorry; whoever might be reading this, I apologize for rambling so much!).

I got the impression she had done this before. She was very good at it. She goes around and becomes a house mother, gets herself enslaved to some other guy(s) and feels like she can't be herself, eventually has to leave there for some reason. A cycle of self sabotage. The girl needs to break out!

That notion that you never return to many of your freewrites saddens me. You have unique ideas on the fly. But I also understand. I have one from way back I would like to return to because it has the potential to have an @felt.buzz twist. i just can't find the time.

Oh I wish you could find time to finish your story with @felt.buzz vibe!!
Interesting that you would think this woman has done this many times--that's what will happen, but this was supposed to be the first. As I'm thinking ahead, I must be telling the story that will come to pass rather than distilling the moment of the one that begins and unfolds as it happens. Timing is a tortuous to me as formatting. :)

Waste no more time

reading me! Go, write your story, go, go!

Silly. I love reading you! And I wrote one today. You think you are rambling and folks waste some time reading your words and so do I! Self deprecating like most of us women. Also silly.
I'm trying to see the value of writing for its own sake, for my own sake, now that I have enough steem to stop worrying so much about getting more steem. But I still get depressed if no one actually reads what I have worked on. It takes forever to get something out, especially getting an image to put with it.

I have some canna to get into the ground! And AC covers to take off, and a chicken coop to clean and and and... you know.

I'm off to read your latest! (And laughing at the juxtaposition of your "and so do I" - LOL!). And this: I still get depressed if no one actually reads what I have worked on. It takes forever to get something out, especially getting an image to put with it. Formatting too. Every post takes forever just for the formatting. I never get quicker at the hyperlinks. [bracket] plus (the URL here) = any number of ways to go fubar. I can't even type the most problematic command here.


But I will read and love whatever you write!!

Reading you was great. By de way congrats for the upvote of @curie. Don't stop writin'

Thank you so much!! I do stop writing, but feedback from readers like you hits the "Restart" button for me. :)

Amazing write, the part that caught me more was the kid was wearing a Notre Dame teeshirt, maybe because the Cathedral so much in news that it stuck with me till the end :D

Thank you for reading and commenting! The cathedral is on my mind too. Coincidentally, we saw the theater version of Disney's Hunchback a week ago (in which Quasimodo and Esmeralda's die). Days later I visited my sister and saw Notre Dame University catalogues in her house (her husband is an alum). I'm glad you let me know this leaped out at you. Now I'm inspired to do more with the metaphor. Laura is burning bridges behind her, and her marriage (unlike the cathedral) will not be rebuilt. Thanks again!

Yeah seems like Notre Dame was in your subconscious and conscious mind at many instances and came out in your writing. :)

a nice story @carolacca! something you can understand but a lot evolves reading so that you can't stop until the end !! at first I thought she was a crazy woman who would hurt those poor boys, or a sick woman who didn't know what she was doing. But then the truth: he is running away from her husband. But is it a kind of shock that pushes her to be a mother and take care of others or iis it her clever plan to hide in a new home? (sorry I use the translator so maybe I didn't understand correctly !!)
congratulations for your vote curie and thank you to share with us

Thank you so much for reading and commenting!
A better writer than I would have had those four boys in terror of the strange woman in their kitchen. Was she planning to torture and dismember them? They would plot her demise... kill her in self-defense... only to find out later that she was running for her life, and thought to save herself by helping others (and lavishing on others the love her husband and ungrateful children rejected). But I would never write the story of her getting killed like the Arabian Nights fable of the Falcon who died trying to save His Friend The King, and that makes me a weaker writer. The fable is so memorable, so epic. Had the falcon lived, would the story have even half the impact?
www.english-for-students.com/falcon-saved-his-friend-the-king.html
The King patiently bent down and refilled his jar with water to drink. When he tried again to drink the falcon again fluttered and spilled the water in the ground....

Another version names the king Genghis Khan; another, Sinbad; ultimately, the message is the same:
the King cried out in sorrow and lament for having slain the bird that had saved him from death
http://www.mythfolklore.net/1001nights/payne/sindbad_falcon.htm

I understand what you mean, sometimes in writing you must have the courage also to be cruel, ferocious, to kill. but in your case it is just the opposite: it seems that the story goes in that direction, instead the truth is different. you are able to amaze the reader and this is fundamental. keep it going!!

Thank you @road2horizon for your insights and encouragement!

I love you for gettiing it - let the great ones break our hearts with tragedy. Victor Hugo's Quasimodo finding Esmeralda dead and later their two skeletons, intertwined, are found. Dr. Zhivago, dropping dead as he catches sight of ----. The king and his falcon. My mission, my life's quest, is to find the happy ending - and believe death is not the end, but the beginning of a new adventure. (I hardly dare hope, and I want to believe, but skepticism is hard-wired in my brain. Maybe that's why I've had chronic daily headaches since childhood!) Sorry, I digress.

Thanks again!

YESSSS, looking for a happy ending is good for health and life!
it will be a coincidence but I too have always suffered from chronic headache that made me go crazy until I dropped everything and started traveling. Let us free the mind and our dreams !!!

Ooh, the solution to your chronic headache was TRAVELING? Whoa!
I'm a firm believer in de-stressing and un-complicating our lives.
A half-dozen Mensa-IQ people, years ago, decided to buy $30,000 houseboats in Boston Harbor rather than pay that in a year's rent, and John C. McCormick is now writing a book about this eclectic group. The ambassador from Tonga (whose wife published a cookbook for cannibals) was the one group member who didn't last. He fled the country for reasons I've yet to learn. But I digress! I'm glad you're free of headaches and living the life of freedom you dared to imagine - and make happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50