Sort:  

I just want to give you a massive hug. These things are beyond words and I talk with a member of my extended family about this type of abuse. Take care, @byn it needed written.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. It really means a lot to get support and encouragement when I end up writing something so raw and close to my heart. I'm glad I decided to post it.

You are most welcome. I know how you feel and it's awesome courage you showed to write the story. <3

Oh Byn. this is soooo powerful and thank you so much for sharing this truth with us. I think that we have no idea yet how many children have been abused - and usually by a trusted person. Hugs to you and thank you for being you and breaking the cycle with our children.
The sad truth is that abused children often become adult abusers and it takes strength, courage and the willingness to face our own demons to heal this.
Thank you for being you and sharing your truth with us!!

Thank you @mariannewest I know that the cycle tends to perpetrate throughout generations of silence if not just the continuation of abuse (and usually both). My extended family has a history of sweeping all the "unpleasantness" under the rug and normalizing so much of the awful behavior. I'm very proud of myself for getting out of it all and raising my kids without that dark cloud.

Thank you for your continual support and encouragement. This community is already my favorite 'home' <3

Powerful story. Very difficult to write. You show awesome courage. Thank you for sharing. Hugs are being sent your way.

Thank you. I greatly appreciate the support!

A very moving story @byn. Maybe not in ways that some might see, but for me a tale of redemption in a way. I'm sure it was so painful to write but in putting the act of revenge down in words you maybe release some of the power of those feelings? May all true abusers suffer a lonely agonizing life or death. I wrote a poem recently about my experience with an abuser, although indirectly through a good friend, who was abused. As an adolescent I had such empathy with her that I almost took her experiences on in my mind. I feel intense anger and sorrow when I think about the injustices that society perpetrates in allowing people who have status to get away with things like this, whether it be celebrities, politicians, or any other person in a position of perceived importance. So many of the monsters among us just get away with it. Writing like this is what sows the seeds for people to see what goes on. Great work! ✍

Thank you. I couldn't agree with you more! It was definitely cathartic in a big way for me to just purge those feelings (and I guess those thoughts) that I didn't even realize were hanging around at this point!

Massive hugs (and perhaps a stiff drink - even if it's strong tea) to you @byn. Don't ever forget that what was done to you does not define you. Face the mirror, no matter how much it hurts and scares you, and tell yourself whatever you want to yell. Those that didn't listen, that didn't move, that didn't want to 'butt in' failed you but, they aren't the world. They are small and in your past. Your power now, from within, is stronger than theirs. You've created what they couldn't. A loving family. Friendships and trust and a woman who isn't weak enough to simply lie down and wallow.
(And, if this is too forward, a woman who's strong enough to tell me to go fly a kite. 😄)

Nah, you're awesome. Thank you for the sweet comment and 'take no shit' advice. I'm generally in most ways through the worst of the healing and I've changed/broken generational patterns with my own kids, so I've made something good and I'm proud of that. Writing like this definitely brings out all the feels for me, but even with all the crying, I don't think it's a totally bad thing. It very much just makes me hurt for others, but also reminds me of how far I've come.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful comment.

Thank you for reading and for the happy post you made to help cheer me up :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by byn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This was a very raw and powerful post. Thank you so much for allowing yourself to post it. It takes great courage to face the past. So intense brings back many things. We all have our truths. You faced yours and are coming our the other side

I am. Thank you for taking the time to support me and my journey. I honestly am awed by the wonderful comments I've gotten on this. I was a bit nervous to put this out there, but it's been very good for me. Thank you again!

You are very welcome. I can easily see how nervous you were about putting this out there. The rest of us should be so bold. Thanks again for having the courage to post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34