You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Retribution: Weekend Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite7 years ago

Massive hugs (and perhaps a stiff drink - even if it's strong tea) to you @byn. Don't ever forget that what was done to you does not define you. Face the mirror, no matter how much it hurts and scares you, and tell yourself whatever you want to yell. Those that didn't listen, that didn't move, that didn't want to 'butt in' failed you but, they aren't the world. They are small and in your past. Your power now, from within, is stronger than theirs. You've created what they couldn't. A loving family. Friendships and trust and a woman who isn't weak enough to simply lie down and wallow.
(And, if this is too forward, a woman who's strong enough to tell me to go fly a kite. 😄)

Sort:  

Nah, you're awesome. Thank you for the sweet comment and 'take no shit' advice. I'm generally in most ways through the worst of the healing and I've changed/broken generational patterns with my own kids, so I've made something good and I'm proud of that. Writing like this definitely brings out all the feels for me, but even with all the crying, I don't think it's a totally bad thing. It very much just makes me hurt for others, but also reminds me of how far I've come.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35