The Familiar | Freewrite 100 by @Saffisara + @AmeliaBartlett

in #freewrite7 years ago

7d81f8531dfbb16785aefc215f927e61.jpg
image source

The Familiar

a partner freewrite by @ameliabartlett + @saffisara

It was Saturday morning when the cat first made itself known. The fog was thick and all you could see was the cat's​ stripes. Even though he only appeared for a moment, he left an ominous air in his wake. Easy to miss him as his graceful speed made him almost invisible.

He appeared three days later, limping slightly. Licking his swollen paw and looking around for a hideout. Though he still seemed odd, I couldn’t stand to see him in trouble. A storm brooded in the distance, threatening in its darkness. I picked him up and carried him in by the fire and made him a soft bed and watched him make himself comfortable.

There was a familiarity about him ​as if we had met in a dream.

I gently touched his swollen paw and as I turned it over I recognized a little heart-shaped​ scar... how is this familiar?

It was growing late and the cat looked exhausted, so I simply left a small bowl of canned chicken beside him and retired to bed. In the middle of the night, ​I wake up and rush to check on him and find the bowl of chicken empty and all you see on the bed is the print after his body.

The lightning struck and a memory hit me: I see a playground, blurry in my minds-eye, and a young red-headed girl ran past me. My heart lurched. I had to find that cat.

As I searched for him the lightning struck again and suddenly a shadow appeared in the night... could it be?

• • •

Created for #FreeWrite Day 100! Written by method two:

  • Pick a partner and open up a shared Google doc. here is how
  • Decide who will begin writing.
  • Set a timer for 10 minutes.
  • First freewriter writes one sentence.
  • Then, the other freewriter writes one sentence.
  • Switch back and forth until the 10 minutes are over.

See the full post here and join the Steemit freewrite community!

freewrite-banner-partner.jpg

Download the blank #FreeWrite author's banner and add your username in a photo editing software like Photoshop, Canva, PicMonkey, or Microsoft Paint. Please credit @ameliabartlett when using.

Thank you to @saffisara for joining me on this Freewrite 100 adventure!

thealliance_saffisara_enginewitty-2-1.png



Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

DQmf7Q3iNuSZaRMS3fM865RiF75fQH8xYqbHfVRpNq5sDDg_1680x8400.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Very kool touch , Good idea to mix it up that way ..

Yes the partner idea is really a great and so much fun.

Such a cool idea! I'd love to try this if anyone is keen to be my writing partner .

Well done you beautiful ladies.

Thank you so much sweetie 😊 it was really fun and just say the word and I love to write with you if you want... Just know I'm a writing newbie 😁😁hahaha
Have a wonderful Sunday. Cheers!

hahah! Let's do it! Let me know when 😊

Yes let's.. Lol I will 😊

Aww... This turned out really good when you se it all in one piece.. Lol and it was really fun writing this with you 😊

Thank you for making me do this, you really have pushed me out of my comfort zone and I love that.... 🤗
Thank you for being my writing partner and friend you are such a wonderful person.
Big hug 🤗💕

The story that the two of you wrote pretty much DEMANDS a sequel (please..pretty pretty please)! It's wonderful that you joined in the fun and celebrated the 100th day of the Freewriting group! tip!

I see that you've already posted a story for today's freewrite but, I'd hate for anyone not to feel left out.

Today I'm flying along on the back of a griffin to deliver the prompt to all of our fantastic Freewriters!
Day 101 - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt : hardboiled minds

Thank you so very much 😉
Yes who knows mabye we do a sequel.. Lol
It was really fun and I'm glad I joined even if this is new to me.. Lol
Have a wonderful Sunday. Cheers!
Thank you for the tip dear 👍

The two of you worked splendidly together to create a story that I want more of! I'm thrilled that you joined in the 100 days contest! tip!

Today I'm flying along on the back of a griffin to deliver the prompt to all of our fantastic Freewriters!
Day 101 - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt : hardboiled minds

Thanks @brisby! I'm looking forward to today's prompt.

Hi @ameliabartlett! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

@brisby wrote lately about: His Glasses - Freewrite (Day 95). Feel free to follow @brisby if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Not bad at all!
Nice to meet you.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada.
Check out my Latest Beer Blog!

Very cool idea and I love that you two did it together. It turned out very well too. Way to go

What a cool collaboration between the two of you
This is so well done

Thank you @tattoodjay. It was a blast. There's still an opportunity to do partner freewrites under the #WeWrite tab. Grab a partner and join us!

I am a far better reader than writer 😎

Thank you so much Jay 🤗 it really was fun and writing together made the imagination run wild.
New but Awsome experience!

You both worked together so well it’s a beautiful flowing piece

Yes we make a good team and I never thought writing was so much fun.. Lol
You are good on writing to Jay.
I am no writer but I didn't know this freewrite was about anything is excepted so you can write about crap.. Lol
Fun. Thank you 🤗😎

That’s great the two of you working so well together

You should do more

Yes it has definitely waken my imagination and I actually did todays freewrite to but I really had a hard time with it as the theme was Hardboiled mind 🤔 whaaat?
Hard cooked? Lol
So I made my version of it.. Lol

Very good, interesting, nice, with a touch of suspense

😱 could it be .. ?
you did great
this is wonderful 😍

Yes cool ending hu? Lol
It was really fun writing with Amelia she is Awsome and this turned out really good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33