Have another Drink with Dadview - Mad Tom

in #beersaturday7 years ago
2018_01_17_17_56_41
Today is Friday again so I hope you all have time to

"Have another drink with Dadview"!

A while back I wrote a post called Great Local Beers. I love buying local when I can. Craft breweries are everywhere now. I would highly recommend to all of you readers to experiment and find a beer that is local to you. Then you can share one of your local beers with me. I promise if you recommend it then I will try it (if I can find it).
So lets get on with the promised drink we were going to have together.

This week we are headed back up to Muskoka!

That's right, I have picked up another beer from the Muskoka Brewery.

This time I have picked out "Mad Tom"

Inspired by late night stories around the fire, Muskoka Mad Tom will instantly grab your attention. Dry-hopped with Chinook and Centennial hops, this IPA has a vibrant aroma, depth of flavour, and a crisp, citrusy undertow like no other. So brace yourself, and crack one open for old Mad Tom, one of Ontario’s original India Pale Ales. Various legends surround our Mad Tom IPA. Wondering which one is true? Crack open a fresh Mad Tom and let us know.


2018_01_17_17_49_47
2018_01_17_17_49_37


To be honest, I picked this beer because I loved the sketch of Mad Tom on the can. He looks so mischievous....
One thing I really love about the craft beer market is how original they get with the designs on the cans. They put in a lot more effort than the main stream beer like Bud Light.

And now it's time for the pour!
2018_01_17_17_54_28
2018_01_17_17_55_06

For an IPA it is actually a rather dark beer. It is also a little cloudy. Surprising look, I was expecting more of a golden clearer beer. After checking the label again, it did say unfiltered so maybe I should have expected some cloudiness. The amount of head looks just right and as you can see from my lower picture, it didn't dissipate too quickly. I am a fan of darker beers and IPA have been growing on me. This beer is getting me a little bit excited....

As I always like to say:

2018_01_17_17_56_41
Wow, this beer is actually pretty great.
It tastes a little bit caramelized. It definitely has hop flavours but also citrus flavours as well.
It was a nice full bodied beer. Sitting at 6.4 % alcohol by volume, I may have to relax and have 2 or 3 of these in one sitting.
I would put this as a must try and I will definately be purchasing more of it.

Final Score:

I would give Mad Tom a solid 8.5 out of 10.
Drink it cold, drink it out of a glass, and drink it often!


Lets have another drink next week!


image

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

This is fantastic!
I post about beer and family hobbies as well. I’m following you for more. Great review, by the way!

Thanks a lot.
I try to review a beer every Friday.
Most of my posts are about me and my son though.
Thanks for stopping in!

is always a great time to have a beer in my opinion! I hope that you enjoy that one :)

Ha ha, yes it is... unless you are driving...

I'm not much of a beer drinker, but this review has me thirsting. Perhaps this weekend.

Uh oh.... have I converted you? lol

I'm all about that IPA life! If you're ever down in California, we've got a ton of breweries, and craft beer enthusiasts.

It seems like you can't go 10 minutes in either direction without running into a brewery/craft beer watering hole. Drink up!

Nice, the market has really taken off with Craft Beers.
People seem to enjoy sitting and drinking one or two stronger better beers than the old school basic light beers.

Now i'm curious :) I'll definitely get one if I ever come across it in the grocery. Have a great weekend, @dadview. Cheers!

Sorry I cant share!

Cheers to you on this beer saturday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47