Freedom Challenge #1 Wrap Up + Winner Announced!

in #freedomchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Your voice was heard and your thoughts on freedom rang loud and clear. Thank you for all for participating in this first #freedomchallenge!

I am amazed by your words and by how much you opened up to share your thoughts and feelings about freedom.

We had 19 submissions in total

As your thoughts, musings and essays on freedom came in, I quickly realized that this #freedomchallenge idea goes beyond what I had hoped we would accomplish. Your message is clear; we need to talk about this topic. We want to learn from each other and help each other define freedom. Freedom is so important to us.

Therefore it is without a doubt that I choose to continue hosting this challenge as long as it continues to be useful to us. I was thinking about the frequency of the prompts. There was a lot of work and energy that went into these freedom posts! I feel that I need to take time to digest these words and let the messages sink in. But that's just me. Please tell me in the comments how you feel about the frequency of the #freedomchallenge. Is every other week about right? Weekly? Monthly?

IMG_20160428_125954.jpg

So with that said, there was a promise of the payout!

The 1st Freedom Challenge announcement post earned $5.90 in author rewards.

Well I just had the great idea given to me by @pennsif to offer runner up prizes in the next #FreedomChallenge contest. I love this idea! Given the popularity this contest has received and the amount of passion put into it I don't want to wait to extend that concept! Call me sentimental to steemit or a noob... or both ... I'm going to share some of the future payout I will receive for my thoughts on Freedom In My Mind (my own unofficial response to this challenge) for two runner up winners.

I tried to narrow down to my favorite entries and to be honest I couldn't narrow it down very much at all because there is just too much genuine authentic quality here. So in all fairness to you amazing freedom writers I used a random number generator to select the 3 winners:

1st place winner for 5.90 SBD:

@beulinator with post Freedom challenge: What does freedom mean to me

2nd place winner for 2.45 SBD:

@schoonercreek with What Does Freedom Mean to Me? #freedomchallenge

3rd place winner for 1 SBD:

@likedeeler with What Does Freedom Mean To Me?


Winners please check your wallets for your reward.


Thank you all for participating. I really enjoyed reading all of your thoughts and learning from your philosophies. I am feeling a lot of gratitude for you all right now.

I've included the contest participants below here in one place, in order of their entry for your reading enjoyment. Included are quotes, but to do them full justice you really must read them in their entirety.

Until the next challenge... peace and may you live free!


What freedom means to me!

by @bthebest7
"Freedom is being able to do anything you want whenever, wherever, with whomever you want, so long as you are doing no harm. Everyone has the absolute God-given rights to Life, Liberty, and Property. We answer to no one but God, so long as we do no harm. No man has authority over any man on this earth."


What Is Freedom?

by @senorcoconut
"Freedom means I can live my life the way I want to, without government but with respect for myself, respect for my surroundings, self reliance and living with complete awareness of my consequences."

image.png


What Freedom Means to Me

by @yadah04
"Freedom means a sense of commitment to every deed that I do. However mundane it may be, say, playing with my little one, or studying the Bible with an interested friend, or cooking a dish for my family, or posting a content here at Steemit. I know that when I put my heart and mind into doing it, I feel free because I know the result is what I truly deserve. I am free from the what-ifs and the regrets."

kkhbto2my446wfhhygmx.jpg


What Freedom means to me #freedomchallenge

by @warpedweaver
"The ability to free the mind and find peace in your heart and mind, to me is where real freedom exists. Imagine all the confusing thoughts and fears as a backpack. My backpack was stuffed. I had things hanging off the outside even. Nearly paralyzed from the load, I started to sort through the pack, knowing some how there was something better than this" ... "I had to forgive myself, and then throw it out of the backpack. This freedom for me has opened my heart and mind."


Is Freedom What We Think it is?

by @minismallholding
"Freedom is not a free pass to do what you want, but rather the responsibility to make your own decisions. Freedom is having the ability to self govern, but also the ability to let others govern you if you so choose."

animal-3066946_640.jpg


What does Freedom Mean to Us?

by @mountainjewel
"Being free to help free others, and perhaps offering illumination along the path." ... "Freedom is lifelong work and a continual evolution, there is no static finish line. Freedom is a perspective, attitude and approach that can be achieved through conscious decision making throughout life."

IMG_2338.jpg


Freedom challenge

by @dreamon77
"Again, the problem is in the process of choosing, not in 'what we want' or in dedicating it to. 'What we want' is the direct result of captivity; a solid chain around our door - though, as Gibran says, 'his loops glitter in the sun and blind our eyes.' The key question is 'why we want what we want'."


Thoughts of an Eco-anarchist; prompt Freedomchallenge

by @cardoprimo
"Freedom and Anarchy are almost synonymous, both meaning that nobody is telling you what to do, and nobody forcing you to do it. Anarchy is free human interaction without coercion. Without anarchy, there is no freedom, and without freedom, there is no anarchy. Anarchy is freedom to have whatever actions, thoughts, feelings and experiences you desire so long as you are not limiting the freedoms of another in the process. It is the understanding that nobody else can tell me what I should experience, nor can I tell others what they have experienced or must experience."

walnut view.png


Freedom Challenge: What Does Freedom Mean To Myself and My Husband

by @thehoneys
"Reminding ourselves that we have the freedom to choose different actions, or different thoughts is really true freedom. If we want more of what makes us happy, we are free to go after them. I'm grateful that I live in a country where I have the opportunity to even think this way, where a lot of people in other countries, survival is their first thought. Yet, they too experience freedom because it's a state of mind, not an imposed condition."

IMG_5527.jpg


What Does Freedom Mean To Me?

by @likedeeler
"Freedom is a state of mind. The absence of chains does not mean you are free. So there is objective and subjective freedom. And both come in varying degrees. If you got chains all over you, but you are too blind to see them, you might feel free, but any outsider able to see the chains would tell you that you are not. The body might be in jail, but the mind can be free."

image.png


Freedom Challenge Entry

by @yogajill
"Peace of mind and Spirit for the well being of life on our planet and elsewhere. To know that life is thriving now and onward into the future. There is no ill agenda to fight, no human violence towards life. No worry of what the future will be like. We would speak a language of abundance rather than enslavement."

SACREDearthfistwithoutframe-768x1024.jpg


What Freedom Means to Me

by @firststeps
"There are times when I can rise above it all boundless and completely free. But before too long I am dragged down and have to search for the new truth that will set me free again. Each of us have our own path with our own lies to uncover and our own truths to discover. Sometimes our paths join and we have an opportunity to be a stumbling block or a light in the darkness."

6762EFD8-FEB9-44D0-A55A-2C3DB7AD94C7.jpg


Freedom Challenge #1: What Does Freedom Mean to You?

by @cecicastor
"[Freedom] is independence and self-sufficiency to live the life I choose without restraints and encumberments. Living on a homestead gives me this autonomy. I don’t need to leave the homestead for food or water as it is here.
I will be producing power (working towards totally off grid), so I won’t need the power company. I am debt free. No mortgage as the homestead was built out of pocket."

sunrise-freedom.jpg


What Does Freedom Mean to Me? #freedomchallenge

by @schoonercreek
"Knowledge and the flow of information is no longer controlled by a few. This sort of freedom also requires one to use their minds and their intuition to sort and sift through the information. But the ability to educate ourselves and to learn is the ultimate freedom- the freedom to make our own observations and come to our own objective conclusions. The freedom to learn the skills we need to live a life with more freedom. The freedom to be inspired."

399px-Fox_study_6.jpg


You Can't Buy Freedom, But You Can Grow It!

by @canadianrenegade
"We want to be free to choose what we eat and how we eat it. We want to be free from the constraints of an employer. We want to be free to focus on what we are passionate about in life, unlocking our shackle of bills. We want our children to be free to to form their own thoughts unbound by a rigid education system."

G6N9unh__BIUPqOiaZpWn-L28Gn97bq18MFKb38XPSrMipqzxX7UqdSZvsLlDMuajze41FkR7lJI7LU7BrDSX9GK6LPFxoNEbsRaCcSTq5UFqaZ94CIwDRrA=s0-d-e1-ft.jpg


Freedom challenge: What does freedom mean to me

by @beulinator
"The freedom of not being enslaved or imprisoned, most would say they posses. However from my experience I have only in my last few years felt such freedom to some extent (as I believe no one has true freedom as we are told and controlled by higher forces, such as government)." ... "I strongly believe that freedom does not come freely but with sometimes mild but most frequently with great consequences. Freedom is messy."

IMG20180119155514.jpg


WHAT DOES FREEDOM MEAN TO YOU?: FREEDOM CHALLENGE #1

by @trucklife-family
"Freedom for me means many things, one if them is being able to celebrate all the diversity in our lives, from the people to the places. Too often our differences are highlighted in a negative manner, but we all carry so much wisdom and skills that when celebrated can create something wonderful. Having the freedom to come together and share that wisdom, to learn from one another and to grow is something that is important to me."

IMG_2473.jpg


Freedom Challenge - What is Freedom?

by @johndickinson
"Humans are conscious, sentient beings and we are all so different. My hopes and fears and opinions are as different from yours as are our talents and our flaws. It is impossible to create uniformity of either thought or action. When governments try to do so, they fail. But that failure has many consequences, almost all of which are bad. An attempt to remove or restrict freedom removes everything that makes human beings special and life worth living."


What does freedom mean to me?

by @varignon
"Only a man can give up his own freedom. They can take away your time, your body, but you will always have your thoughts. They can try priming your mind, but if you stay vigilant and persistent you will carry on. You have freedom in some way. In my opinion, the most important part of freedom. Everyone individual was put on earth with freedom, freedom of mind. This is a type of independence that is most crucial to protect. It is the control center of your existence and you must have defenses."

censorship-isaacmao.jpg

Sort:  

Fantastic! Thanks @sagescrub and congrats to the winners. This was a great contest and I enjoyed reading many of the entries. I’ll look forward to the next one. Personally I’d be up for doing it once every two or three weeks, as you said theyre truly authentic so I think giving it that time to gestate will yield more potent reflections. But I’m open to whatever consensus!

Yes I agree. I could see every three weeks or so in between #freedomchallenges being time to incubate on this important topic.

Agreed. Two to three weeks would be a great soread betwee challenges and just long enough to keep us in touch with our freedom goals :)
-Aimee

Yes, it was so informative, emotional and fun to read all these responses! Thank you @mountainjewel, @schoonercreek, @canadianrenegade. I will start the next one 3 weeks out from the 1st contest announcement. Great feedback :)

@sagescrub Fantastic! Great contest! Great entries, and congrats to all the winners!! Well done everyone! This was a lot of fun. :).

Congratulations to the winners. Thank you @sagescrub for this opportunity and I look forward to the next prompt. It was both engaging and enlightening reading the other posts. I was pleasantly surprised that you posted all of the entries. What a sweet and classy thing to do.

Including all of the amazing writings in one place was the least I could do! Thank you for reading and participating @firststeps!

Thank you @sagescrub for this awesome challenge. It was great fun to respond to and read all of the entries..
You can see all the effort and thought everyone put into it. You all had some great points.
Thank you all

I figured this challenge would be a successful one! Great job everyone...I have only read a few of your entries and they were all great so far!

@sagescrub, thank you for you dedication to this challenge. Once every two weeks would be my choice also for the frequency.

Congratulations to the winners!

:) I am so glad I asked you all about the frequency.... great feedback!

Such enlightening thoughts all round!
Cheers for the prompt, I'll be sure to keep my eye out for the next one.

What great entries, this was a great challenge, helping to bring more people together. Thanks so much @sagescrub for creating it and putting all the posts on here for us all to enjoy. Great work

We really enjoyed being a part of this challenge @sagescrub so thanks for hosting. Being able to put what freedom means to us into words forced us to also revisit our goals. Getting lost in the daily grind is so easy to do; there are never enough hours in the day.

I haven't had a chance to read all of the freedom challenge posts, but the ones I have visited so far were fantastic. Seeing so many like-minded individuals in this community is inspiring. I was amazed with the response our contribution received. We were blessed with such meaningful conversations.

Congratulations to all the winners!
-Aimee

:) Your comment is the epitome of my experience so far with steemit. It has been so inspiring to be part of a positive and encouraging community that supports our growth. I am glad that I can a small part in this amazing movement with this freedom challenge :)

@sagescrub Thank you for this unique contest! Reading through this entire post just now literally almost made me teary. I have only read a few of the entires and look forward to reading the rest! It does look like it was a difficult decision, thank you so much!!!

Congrats to all of the winners!!! & I also look forward to participating again!

I know what you mean.. there was a lot of feeling in the writings here!

Thanks, @sagescrub for giving us this opportunity to voice what is in our hearts. I would love to see the discussions continue with a prompt every two to three weeks. I like to cogitate before I write, as I am sure others do too!

Excellent and you're welcome! Look for the next contest 2 Fridays from now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65