What Freedom means to me #freedomchallenge

in #freedomchallenge7 years ago (edited)

WHAT FREEDOM MEANS TO ME
We all have different concepts of what freedom is. I’m curious to see what some of them are. When you make a contest @sagescrub, you don’t mess around. Thank you for the freedom to express myself #freedomchallenge.

I’m probably going to be the odd duck here because I am not eloquent or a writer. I’m not going to try and talk about the political rights or human rights. I only want to tell you what freedom means to me.

Freedom for me comes in a much deeper, inner way. Life often leaves us with unwanted stress. Past experiences nag at us, current events confuse and anger us, the future looks a little scary to some. The ability to free the mind and find peace in your heart and mind, to me is where real freedom exists. Imagine all the confusing thoughts and fears as a backpack. My backpack was stuffed. I had things hanging off the outside even. Nearly paralyzed from the load, I started to sort through the pack, knowing some how there was something better than this. I can’t tell you how to do it, it is something each experience in their own way. Mostly I had to stop lying to myself about certain things. I had to get to the bottom of these thoughts. I had to forgive myself, and then throw it out of the backpack. This freedom for me has opened my heart and mind. I realize that I always have many choices. I must keep my mind open enough to hear it all before I make those choices, only then am I free to choose. I have grown more compassionate, loving and forgiving because of my inner freedom.
I have full freedom to love, be kind and be helpful. I have total freedom to not worry about changes. It is the only thing that is constant in this world. Take a deep breath, it will all be different in a moment.

I worry about more than will ever happen. Yes, I keep up on what’s going on in this world. Right now, as an individual, all I can do is uplift and support those that are brave enough to put their necks on the line for the rest of us, to protect our other freedoms, like @adamkokesh, @larkinrose, @joshsigurdson, @fishyculture. I have the freedom to prepare my family and friends for the best or the worst and I have the freedom to carry on enjoying this life. I have the freedom to do these things.

Just to let you know I already have a sweater that LETS me hug myself, no need to send me one. Unless, it has flowers on it-I’d like one with flowers on it.
Love @warpedweaver
Peace out
Namaste

Sort:  

Beautifully written, @warpedweaver! Wisdom comes with age they say. I hope you win the contest. Good luck!

Thanks for the vote of confidence. It was good to get it off my chest.

Thank you, amazing read. It rings so true with me....I love the backpack analogy <3 and all the versions of freedom, especially the inner one. I think it is beautifully written.....Have a wonderful day <3

Thank you @karenfoster. Win or not isn't my main goal to be free

@warpedweaver, thanks so much for participating in the #freedomchallenge!

When you make a contest @sagescrub, you don’t mess around. Thank you for the freedom to express myself

You made me LOL with this one! But seriously you're welcome and thank you!!

I really like your analogy of the backpack. It gives us a way to look our freedom as something more tangible and the conscious or subconscious load that we carry with us every day as we journey through our life. Beautifully put! and thank you for making the effort to help encourage and uplift others -- it is much needed!

Thanks oodles @sagescrub. was hoping everyone would understand what I ment. It's a tough subject! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67