What Does Freedom Mean to Me? #freedomchallenge

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Many who write on this challenge will note that "freedom" is relative.

And it is. Some will speak about the government taking money from us and how that is a form of slavery/anti-freedom. Heck, back when I was younger and considered myself an anarchist I would even have said then that having to work to pay money for food was a form of slavery/ anti-freedom. Basic needs that weren't provided free of charge was a form of oppression. These are interesting things to contemplate. Some will speak of forms of slavery and the relativity of freedom pertaining to one's mindset. These are some of the things that have crossed my mind as I have contemplated this challenge and what I would write over the last couple days.

399px-Fox_study_6.jpg
source

But the challenge is not to write what freedom means to others, or what we are supposed to say freedom means, or how freedom varies from person to person- the challenge is to write what freedom means to me. So here it goes.

What freedom means to me is bodily autonomy.

To live without being groped or raped. In this way I am free because I surround myself with loving family and friends in an area on the planet where such things are not tolerated, and ideally harshly punished by law. I am married to a strong man who protects me and helps provide for our family so that I can have that freedom. So that I can have the freedom to only be with a man I love, and know, and trust. So that I have the freedom to grow and evolve into my fullest self- rising to the challenges of life, and expressing my creativity in my art.

There are many women around the world who live in a culture where groping and raping is the norm, where they are literally property, like slaves, and can be tortured and maimed for acting out in the slightest ways. There are places where young girls are subjected to horrific painful surgeries mutilating their genitals. I have always felt so sorry for those women. To me that would be one of the most terrible ways to exist. A quintessential anti-freedom.

16498910_9c31bc9abe_z.jpg
source

To me freedom is education.

One very good thing about modern times is the age of the internet, the "oracle". There is so much information at your fingertips on just about everything you would like to know. Knowledge and the flow of information is no longer controlled by a few. This sort of freedom also requires one to use their minds and their intuition to sort and sift through the information. But the ability to educate ourselves and to learn is the ultimate freedom- the freedom to make our own observations and come to our own objective conclusions. The freedom to learn the skills we need to live a life with more freedom. The freedom to be inspired.

P1020376.JPG

Freedom to me is having a home that is my own.

A piece of land to grow my own food and make my own decisions- whether I have to pay taxes or not. I have to work to make money to buy tools, pay bills, pay taxes, and subsist- but it is my free choice to do so. I choose to work hard to pay my own way and therefore I obtain and maintain my freedom.

P1010542.JPG

Freedom to me is raising my own children.

Having my children home with me and actually engaging with them, watching them grow and seeing their unique personalities develop. Freedom to protect them from harm, freedom to let them play!

montana_pryormountainshma_photo1_20161004.jpg
source

Freedom is the ability to travel.

Freedom to move my body, move my legs and walk.... This freedom I do not take for granted. I can put gas in my car and drive myself where I need to go. I feel so free being able to do this. In my past there have been times when I couldn't afford gasoline to go where I needed to. I have not experienced that in a very long time. While I do pine for world traveling and cannot afford that in the slightest today, I do hope that in the near future we will also obtain that ability.

hot-spring-1846721_960_720.jpg
source

Freedom to me is STEEM

The very real oppression of the banks and the federal reserve is only beginning to be revealed to the commoners and the response is strong. I see the lives of good people all over the world being changed for the better due to Steemit and crypto. As I learn more about cryptocurrency I see that it may truly FREE us from the current fiat regime!

chain-297842_960_720.png
source

My biggest insight after pondering freedom is that one only has freedom until it is forcibly taken from them.

And there are bully monsters worldwide who eat freedom and they must be stopped.

What does freedom mean to you? Participate in the #freedomchallenge by @sagescrub
here's the link to the challenge:

https://steemit.com/freedomchallenge/@sagescrub/freedom-challenge-1-what-does-freedom-mean-to-you-sbd-payout-to-winner

Thank you @sagescrub

Sort:  

Awesome post, @schoonercreek. Everyone who writes in this challenge has had some great ideas as to what freedom means. It is very individual and that is what makes us unique as a species. That we have the freedom to choose.

Absolutely! Thank you for reading!

this is beautiful and well done. what i see most here is that you're focusing on growth, and the freedoms "OF" what we can do. it's a healthy focus & finding your place in space. how & where to move, to live, to eat, to love.

freedom is also honesty, and you are spreading those honest truths here!

Thank you! It was quite an interesting challenge indeed!

Great examples of freedom! I especially enjoy the freedom to education because that alone can open so many doors to other freedoms. Well thought! -Aimee

Thank you! It is so true... The "information age" is really something..

Hi @schoonercreek! Thanks for participating in #freedomchallenge!

I enjoyed reading about how freedom plays a part in your life and your optimism around children and our future :)

I don't know what its like to be a woman but I am glad to hear more perspective from you about the challenges women face. I am glad to live somewhere where gender inequality is not as bad as the extreme examples you mentioned. I am glad that there is a growing momentum of women speaking out about sexual harassment and finding power in their collective voice. How timely that I received this in my inbox yesterday; Death of the Patriarchy Rebirth of the World

Thanks @sagescrub!!

Wow! Thank you! I am honored....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78