Freedom In My Mind

in #freedomchallenge7 years ago (edited)

There are two more days to enter FreedomChallenge #1!

I want to share a few thoughts about freedom in response to the prompt: What does freedom mean to you? (This is just for fun; Since I am hosting this challenge, I am declaring myself ineligible to enter the contest - conflict of interest and all :)

This is not about political, financial, physical or spiritual freedom. It is about freedom in my mind.

What does freedom mean to me?

I feel free when I am free from the oppression of my mind.

There are many ways I can oppress myself mentally. One of the most common ways I know of that I oppress myself is by wanting more. I can want more success on steemit, more money, more friends, more strength, more food, more happiness, more confidence, more time in the garden, more time in the day, more energy, more toys, more tools, more space, more peace, for example. These are not bad things in themselves. It is the mental behavior of regularly wanting more that can rob my freedom.

Wanting more can be very sneaky. Sometimes it doesn't come in the shape of something obvious and tangible like more money. It can come in front of a major life goal. I can want to acheive that goal so bad that I don't appreciate what I have right now, when I probably should still be enjoying the wake of success from achieving my last major life goal!

The oppression comes in the form of being relatively or somewhat unsatisfied with what I have, where I am or who I am. But it is subtle and not easily recognized as oppression.

Sometimes I am driven, motivated and excited about seeking more and yet behind that is a feeling of being unsatisfied. Unsatisfied with not yet having more and unsatisfied with receiving more. But maybe I don't recognize that feeling for what it is because I am too busy looking at what I want.

Other times I am quite aware that I am unsatisfied with not having more and then the desire to seek out more is more or less out of desperation. I am driven by a deeper longing. It can be difficult to face this longing for what it is because I am so accustomed to my ritual of wanting more which can easily distract me from looking beneath that want.

Freedom is recognizing these behaviors in myself and being able to step aside from my routine desires. Freedom is allowing myself space from desire so that I can be at peace in the moment without wanting more. Freedom is seeing beyond being dissatisfied and uncovering the truth within. Freedom is taking control of my mind and choosing love for myself.

IMG_20160811_192810.jpg

Want to participate in the #FreedomChallenge? No problem! Here is the contest post and prompt.

Sort:  

after reading your post, I really liked I want to wish you luck and write on the same, interesting stories. I'll put you my favorite

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

freedom is to feel full to do what you want

Very good friend.
Upvote and resteem

I will start this challenge cuz of u! Nice post! <3

Great!! I am looking forward to see your thoughts :)

what a beautiful landscape

fantastic points @sagescrub! these are thoughts we all need to hear!

lately i've been practicing declaring enoughness... to me, this relates to what you have written. when i find myself in this cycle (and it's easy for me to get there), i practice looking around at my life and declaring what i have RIGHT now as enough... brings a wonderful sense of freedom ... and gratitude <3 blessings!

That enoughness practice sounds like a good routine. I have been doing something similar when I can remember, but I call it gratitude. But the trick is remembering :) I like your disciplined approach to creating a ritual around appreciation for what you have!

wants or needs? I try to sort out what is really necessary. Sure I like to spoil myself from time to time, but what do I really need. I am grateful for all I have at this moment. going to resteem one more time.

Nice going @warpedweaver :) A good reminder to acknowledge and appreciate what we have!

Well said! I do think freedom is a choice. We tend to put ourselves in these crazy boxes. :)

Freedom from our own minds is an interesting point to ponder. As soon as I read your post, I became aware of that fact and oddly enough, I wanted such freedom as well.

Yeah! Its something I think about a lot! Our minds and the ways we perceive the world are so complex, it is always amazing me how much is going on up there. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67