My "Near disaster"Food Fight Friday post for 2/7/2020, Foodies and Wednesday walk post.

in #foodies5 years ago

DSC_0001.JPG
The day started off cold, raining with some snow falling around
Atlanta. I did NOT want to go out.
Needing something to eat, I looked for something in my pantry, and
I saw some "Black Rice" I'd bought a couple weeks ago. I thought
"Rice for breakfast? Why not"

So I cooked some, it was good, not like rice at all, but I posted
In You Know Where that I'd cooked it, but now what?
One of my friends said "Grilled Portobello Mushrooms" go great with it.
I replied"Don't got no stinking portobellos, don't got no grill" and there
I would have remained, but my niece called and asked if I could go over
To check on her husband (hence the top image and these following)
DSC_0003.JPG
Taking my other niece's dog out for a short walk, I got these photos
DSC_0002.JPG

sorry it's blurred, dogs don't want to cooperate

DSC_0004.JPG
DSC_0005.JPG
When I lived here, this neighbor would, every year at Christmas, get
Me to come over and help her drape the most GOD AWFUL gawdy lights
and silly decorations over this thing in her yard.
DSC_0006.JPG
Guess I could use this for #bouldersunday as well 😉
DSC_0007.JPG
I don't think this is a daffodil, but it doesn't quite look like a jonquil
Either. Smyrna Ga (where I now live) is "the Jonquil City"
DSC_0010.JPG
The dog again, jerked the string I had him on
so finally, on to the phood!
DSC_0011.JPG
Last week, either @plantstoplanks or @jaynie had a post about
"Kohlrabi" of which I'd heard but little else. They actually ordered
Some for me at the Kroger, so I bought one bunch.
Then I moved on to the 'antipasto bar'
DSC_0012.JPG
DSC_0013.JPG
DSC_0015.JPG
DSC_0014.JPG
DSC_0016.JPG
DSC_0017.JPG
(Oh! I'd also bought a 3 pack of big portobellos in the produce section)
I found a rack of "Baby Back Ribs" that were in the "Managers special"
Section, but did not have the marked down price; someone had
Picked it up, then decided they didn't want it or couldn't afford
It, and simply put it down. I took it to the meat market manager,
who marked it down ½ price for me! I asked him how to cook
It in the oven:"375° for about an hour" (it was already seasoned)
IMG_20200207_164635.jpg
So I got home, turned on the oven, got my cookie sheet sprayed
IMG_20200207_164640.jpg
Put the meat on in one corner (you see where I'm going with this?)
I peeled one of the Kohlrabi heads (roots? that weren't easy)
IMG_20200207_164936.jpg

Cut it into french fries. My plan was to put the meat on, then about
Half way through, put in the veggies to roast, then finish with the
PORTOBELLOS

So the meat was in the oven, the Kohlrabi was sliced, I was marinating
The mushrooms. When I opened the oven to put the sliced veggies in...
It was barely warm!!! 😱 I mean, things were hot enough to burn me
If I touched the metal, and it HAD been red hot when I put the meat in.
But not now.

So I assembled everything, put it all together on the pan, and used
The BROILER
IMG_20200207_175815.jpg
I don't have to tell you how mad I was, and how scared I was that all
This was going to go to waste.

But It Didn't!

IMG_20200207_183041.jpg
So here is my

"Almost disaster Meal"

by
Jerry E Smith
©2/7/2020
All images are original, taken with my NIKON D5600 or
My Google Pixel 3a XL Cellphone.

!steemitworldmap 33.814067 lat -84.521836 long d3scr

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


cyktlq.png

This .gif was created by @elgeko





Sort:  

I hope you can get that bottom burner fixed soon. I've never tried black rice, or even heard of kohlrabi before. A very informative post.

Well hello there @shaidon, thanks for the comments.
Seems like I'd had black rice at my niece's house (they are into all things healthy and unorthodox and holistic) but I for sure had never cooked it. By itself, it's slightly sweet tasting with a little bit of a 'nutty' overtone.
If you've ever peeled and cut up a turnip or rutabaga, then you know about doing the same with the Kohlrabi, but this flavor is very good raw, almost like eating a granny Smith green apple.
Cooked, (especially under the circumstances) leaves a lot to be desired.

Interesting. I have never heard of something tasting worse when it was cooked than when it was raw. I probably won't try it.

You must not have read the post closely @shaidon, my oven malfunctioned.
So rather than being a crispy tasty treat, they were limp, oily and not very enticing.
I suspect had the oven worked, the results would have been very different @shaidon.
I ate the left overs yesterday, I could taste the burned oven element; probably shouldn't have eaten them.

Eww. Yeah, I did read the post. To clarify, are the Kohlrabi better raw or cooked (with a working oven)?

That, I cannot say @shaidon. This was my first experience with the vegetable. So I only know from this experience. Raw was great, cooked, not so great.
The one who told me about it said it could be fried, which would have alleviated this sad experience. I think "sweet" crispy french fries would be great
She also said that the leaves could be used in salads.

That’s cool to know. Thinly sliced they could be fried like potato chips perhaps?

I should think so, you might be able to simply 'dehydrate' them for nice, sweet crunchy treats.

jerrytsuseer
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 81
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent
Food Coma
kramer turkey.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Oh_My_GOD that .gif is crazy funny! ha ha..Thank you @foodfightfriday.
I never know where I can go to post a link when I use the tags,
I wish I could find it so I would know someone has seen
The post, I know @dandays has something to do with it
But I don't want to "bomb" someone else's posts.

Yay! You got the kohlrabi! Awesome that they ordered it for you like that. What did you think of it? Bummer about the weird oven not cooperating, but looks like it all worked out in the end. Love those big juicy mushrooms, too. :)

I've been investigating the oven, that bottom element is completely burned through
aiibo0.png
So after all that, the COOKED Kohlrabi wasn't much to brag about. But I loved it raw
Thanks @plantstoplanks. I searched for you in PHC, and found a post, but then I couldn't tag you.

Oh, well that would definitely explain it. One of our burners on the stovetop stopped working recently. Hoping it doesn't mean the rest of the unit is on its way out. I used to be a member, but had to bow out a while back because I'm just too busy to spend much time on here unfortunately.

It has gotten so that to be a member, (of most anything) and to get upvotes or resteems, you have to 'stand on one foot, hold your nose while turning around counter-clockwise 3 times' (ie hoop jumping extraordinaire)
I'm getting quite tired of it.
Umpteen dozen "tokens, tribes, front ends" each with it's own coin, that is worth almost nothing... I spend almost as much time trying to decide which TAGS to use as I do making the post itself.

The tags are definitely a challenge! I can't keep up with some of the changes with the Tribes and Communities, but I try to do my best. I understand the commitment required by some of the communities as it is a way to encourage engagement and interaction, and there was a time I could commit to it. But for now there are too many other priorities that take precedence so I had to step back from quite a few things that I really enjoyed but just took up too much of my time.

Yep, that is me in a nutshell. I want to share my writings, I want to get BACK to writing some new stuff, as soon as this chapter in my life with surgeries, hospital acquired UTI's and now one more surgery in a month (an no transportation arranged yet.)
So I'm stuck.
Which Hive tag to use? Do I bother using #original? Seems to be a waste now.
#poetry or #writing doesn't seem to get me much attention.
I mean I see there are TONS of upvotes, many if not most of them at $0.000, so why do they bother upvoting?
It is all such a swirl, and I for one am beginning to lose interest and patience.
Just about the time I get a handle (sort of) on things, here comes another Hard Fork and everything changes again, and gets even more complicated.

@plantstoplanks, do you know if the greens from the Kohlrabi are edible? They looked a whole lot like collard greens

Yes! They are edible. I'll often toss them in a smoothie or chop them up and add them to my cooking like I would any other greens. :)

Ohhhh my goodness, those daffodils are beautiful :) It's not spring yet in Georgia is it? lol So glad your oven wasn't broken, that meal looks amazing, definitely worth waiting for! Well done @jerrytsuseer!

This was today
!
This is my oven, it IS broken

Thanks for stopping by @birdsinparadise

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jerrytsuseer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-near-disaster-food-fight-friday-post-for-2-7-2020-foodies-and-wednesday-walk-post


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Well I am glad that it turned out ok. Hope you get a new oven soon but as for me I always wanted to have one of those brick ovens. Too much work to use but for sure it would never break down on you.

ha ha ha... that is for sure @watersnake101 (that sounds like a college course; like civics1010 ha ha) knowing this place, it will take a while, I suspect given I've already had problems with one of the top burners, I think they'll just replace it.
This worries me as I don't want my rent to increase of them use some excuse to ask me to relocate. I'm thinking of it anyway, but I DO so hate moving.
Thank you for stopping by and commenting @watersnake101. There is a pizza place across the street that has a brick oven (I'm sure it is gas though)

A good walk shopping and you averted an almost disaster the food looks good

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I was a little reluctant to use the tag, since it is Friday. I've got a BUNCH of tags in this post, so I hope i don't get in trouble.
Thanks JJ you're a good friend @tattoodjay

You know me I am easy going ;) have a great weekend :)


Hey @jerrytsuseer, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Oh my heavens what an ordeal to go through for a plate of food hahahaha!!! BUT.... I will say this, the end result looks absolutely fantabulous! and well done for persevering despite being peeved half way through lol!

Ahem... Peeved doesn't quite capture what I we feeling, but we'll go with that.
I ate the left over soggy kohlrabi the next day; it tasted of chemicals. Who knows what I have in my system now from eating and breathing the fumes of that electric arcing element as it finished burning through?
They replaced the bottom element yesterday Thanks the being empathetic @jaynie

Nice save @jerrytsuseer, would have been a bummer to waste those portabellas.

sure, but I worked on all those things, I've had portabellos before and cooked them, but not the Kohlrabi and because of the oven, they turned out soggy, greasy and with an "Burnt electrical" taste.
I have 2 more heads of Kohlrabi, one left over portabello, and a couple of the ribs.
I need to eat those cooked items today lest they DO go to waste @farm-mom.
Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36