You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My "Near disaster"Food Fight Friday post for 2/7/2020, Foodies and Wednesday walk post.

in #foodies5 years ago

I hope you can get that bottom burner fixed soon. I've never tried black rice, or even heard of kohlrabi before. A very informative post.

Sort:  

Well hello there @shaidon, thanks for the comments.
Seems like I'd had black rice at my niece's house (they are into all things healthy and unorthodox and holistic) but I for sure had never cooked it. By itself, it's slightly sweet tasting with a little bit of a 'nutty' overtone.
If you've ever peeled and cut up a turnip or rutabaga, then you know about doing the same with the Kohlrabi, but this flavor is very good raw, almost like eating a granny Smith green apple.
Cooked, (especially under the circumstances) leaves a lot to be desired.

Interesting. I have never heard of something tasting worse when it was cooked than when it was raw. I probably won't try it.

You must not have read the post closely @shaidon, my oven malfunctioned.
So rather than being a crispy tasty treat, they were limp, oily and not very enticing.
I suspect had the oven worked, the results would have been very different @shaidon.
I ate the left overs yesterday, I could taste the burned oven element; probably shouldn't have eaten them.

Eww. Yeah, I did read the post. To clarify, are the Kohlrabi better raw or cooked (with a working oven)?

That, I cannot say @shaidon. This was my first experience with the vegetable. So I only know from this experience. Raw was great, cooked, not so great.
The one who told me about it said it could be fried, which would have alleviated this sad experience. I think "sweet" crispy french fries would be great
She also said that the leaves could be used in salads.

That’s cool to know. Thinly sliced they could be fried like potato chips perhaps?

I should think so, you might be able to simply 'dehydrate' them for nice, sweet crunchy treats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36