How to cook Brisket (like a Texan)

in #food7 years ago

This is Texas and we take our meat very seriously.

 


Ingredients and Supplies

  • USDA Prime Brisket
  • Brine (step 1)
  • EVOO
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Onion Powder
  • Garlic Powder
  • Sugar
  • Seasoned Salt or Favorite dry rub
  • 20 lbs of ice

Brine

Brining is the art of locking in moisture and adding deep, complex flavors to your meats.  You are welcomed to experiment with brining. Brining is a very simple technique that involves dissolving your seasoning ingredients in a water mixture. Once you get that down you can start adding other spices or flavors. One of the things that brining does keeps the meat tender. Keep in mind that you are dealing with a very tender cut of meat such as filet mingon or chateau briand brining would be counter productive. Lets make the brine

  1. Place 1 cup of salt, 1 cup of pepper,  & 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of onion powder, and 1/2 cup of garlic powder in a container.
  2. Bring a gallon of water to a rolling boil.
  3. Pour the water into the dry mixture and mix until it dissolves.
  4. Drop 10 lbs of ice in dissolved mixture to drop the temperature to 40 degrees Fahrenheit 
  5. Drop the brisket in the brine and let it sit for at least 1 hour per pound. (Personally I do 24 hours)

Smoking

The key to smoking any meat is to do it low and slow. There are plenty of different mixtures of wood that people use to flavor meats. It's all a matter of preference. I prefer bold flavors so I do mesquite and hickory. I smoke my briskets for 12 hours to allow the intense smoke flavor to penetrate deeply. In this example I will be using a Traeger Pro Series 34 Pellet Grill. The beauty of using the electric pellet smoker is that is holds the temperature perfectly while smoking.

  1. Get the smoker up to temp
  2. rub the brisket down with olive oil and liberally rub your dry seasoning to coat the exterior of the entire brisket. !
  3. Place your brisket on Fat Side up.
  4. wait (rotating every 3 hours)
  5. wait
  6. wait
  7. wait
  8. after 12 hours wrap the brisket in butcher paper.
  9. slightly raise the heat to cook the internal temperature to 200 degrees Fahrenheit 
  10. (alternative method is to put the brisket in the oven on 250 degrees Fahrenheit until the desired internal temperature is reached.

Check out the smoke rings

There you have it, we spent 14 hours smoking a brisket. I bought the brisket on Friday evening, and it finished this Sunday afternoon. How is that for commitment?

BONUS FOOTAGE

There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you Indoor Skydiving with my 6 year old
I took you on the road with the White Power Ranger to get a tattoo
I took you on an aerial tour of Houston
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB

FOLLOW

AND I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

mostly in Texas LOL


Black Uncle Sam Credit
Sort:  

LiL Wangs Large.gif

lilwangs tokens for anybody that offers their own personal brisket cooking style.
Leave your bitshares account name in the comments as well.

Must have an active steemit account for at least 1 week

I can't wait to see other people's style. Thanks @mrwang

Keep it warm, I'm on the way!
Glad to see you are back. Was afraid the balut choked ya :)

Was on the road for a few days. There's always something good cooking here.

I want to eat dinner at your house! Noms!
I just did a pulled pork that took about 4 days from start to finish. Patience and love are the 2 secret ingredients to GOOD COOKIN'

Without a doubt, love and patience are the 2 best ingredients. You are welcomed to eat dinner here. We entertain quite often. I make a mean kimchi (I know I'm stereotyping) lol

If your kimchi is as good as my aunt made you may never get rid of me. LOL
Hubby & I grew up in the restaurant business. If you're ever in Orange County, NY, you need to visit the family at Loughran's Restaurant. 30+ years and still going strong - we know good food.

My wife and I are 1/2 the time behind Loughran's. We've worked in the industry in some capacity since we were young teens. I bet your aunt's kimchi would kick my kimchi's ass but it would put up a good fight.

Thank you, I hope to see yours soon

nom nom nom.. hahaha, I'd be there if I wasn't at least "trying" to be disciplined.

Looks perty darn delicious there, fellow Costco fan! lol

Hands down, Costco is one of the best places ever lol

Just a fantastic food post!!

thank you @gringalicious I am delighted that you enjoyed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45