How to cook a steak that would make Anthony Bourdain cry tears of joy.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Steak is one of the easiest cuts of meat to cook and one of the easiest of cuts to mess up. Today I am going to show you how to cook a proper steak like a chef or better yet LIKE A TEXAN.

Ingredients and Supplies

  1. 8 oz Akaushi tenderloin

  2. Favorite Seasoning (we used Tony Chachere and Garlic Powder)
  3. Olive Oil
  4. Unsalted Butter
  5. Iron Cast Skillet
  6. Kitchen Thermometer

  7. Tongs
  8. BRANDING IRON


Let's Cook

  1. Lightly season both sides of the steak. (be sure to pat the seasoning down onto the meat)
  2. Warm iron cast skillet to med-hi setting.
  3. Warm oven to 250 f/121 c
  4. Pour 1 tablespoon of oil into iron cast while it heats up.
  5. Take a small slice of unsalted butter and place into the center of the olive oil.
  6. Stir the butter into the olive oil
  7. Place your seasoned steak into the heated iron cast.
  8. Sear one side for 5-6 minutes until it gets a light crisp.
  9. (
  10. Sear the other side for 5-6 minutes as well. (If you are new to cooking steaks, now would be a good time to check your temperature to ensure your steak isn't overcooked. If so, serve your steak now)
  11. Keep your steak in the iron cast and place it inside of the heated oven for 10-12 minutes.
  12. Heat your branding iron on very high setting or in an open flame while your steak is in the oven.
  13. Pull your steak out and check the temperature. 145 f/ 63 c is a perfect medium. (it's important to note that you want your thermometer to gradually reach it's peak temperature. If it moves too fast, it's still cooking from the residual heat)
  14. Place a small slice of butter on the top of your steak and BRAND IT
  15. Plate and Eat.
![20170305_180152.jpg]()



In Texas we take our steaks very seriously. I have traveled all over the country and the best steak I ever had was in Colorado of all places. In Texas, it's more the quality of the cut of meat that really goes a long way. I wanted to share my family's recipe with you and hope that you give it a try and share with me some of yours. STEEM ON!

There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you Indoor Skydiving with my 6 year old
I took you on the road with the White Power Ranger to get a tattoo
I took you on an aerial tour of Houston
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB

FOLLOW

AND I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

mostly in Texas LOL


Black Uncle Sam Credit
Sort:  

Thanks, I had it made for us to impress our guests when we entertain. Lol I think I paid maybe $10 .

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.60 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Sounds good, no what does it mean lol?

Wow man that looks and cut just perfect!
The branding iron must be the key lol
I got a Griswold cast iron that looks just like that. If you check out my latest post, second pic, its the one on the left.
You the man, xtrodinaryCHEF!!

I was going to do bacon like you but wife said this was a steak night lol

griswold CI is nice stuff!

Yeah I use all cast everyday!

Steak...the food of real men.

@darthnava Me Eat Steak today. Me love meat hahaha

The iron is a real nice touch

Thank you. We even use the branding iron on our burger buns lol. When you first get it, you get "branding" crazy on everything.

HAhah I can totally imagine. I dont think our cats would be safe if I got one, joking of course :O)

My cats are safe, it's my dog I get worried about. lol Anything that smells like meat, she goes after it.

Pretty much the same here. My cats have been known to savage my legs if I am carrying steak!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44