๐Ÿ STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #41 : Raw Zucchini Pumpkin Seed Pesto PastasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

Recipe Demonstration by Kat LindsayMy first Steemit Culinary Challenge includes an original recipe and video demonstration.

My family and I are on day 28 of a 30-day raw food diet. In the past few weeks, we discovered a way to re-create pesto pasta better than ever, with fresh, organic, living foods. Here is our step-by-step recipe demo.

We create our "pasta noodles" with fresh zucchini, relying on a vegetable spiralizer to create the noodle shapes. This device is simple to use, as you can see in my video introduction.

My First Steemit Culinary Challenge

Introducing My Entry for This Week's Theme: "Monochromatic"

Hi I'm @wildfamily, and my friends call me Kat. Meow. I'd like to thank my partner, @cabelindsay, for encouraging me to join Steemit, and for recording this video.

Part 1: Raw Pumpkin Seed Pesto

Instructions

To begin this pesto pasta recipe, let's start with the pesto sauce. While traditional pesto relies on dairy products, raw vegan pesto relies on pine nuts or pepitas (pumpkin seeds) to achieve the cheesy flavor, alongside the basil. My preference is to use a food processor to blend pumpkin seeds with basil, olive oil, garlic, lemon, and amino acids (or sea salt). Simply blend and adjust the ingredients to suit your family's flavor preferences. Here's my pesto recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 C fresh basil
  • 1 C pumpkin seeds
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/3 C olive oil
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 2 T Braggโ€™s liquid aminos (or 1 t sea salt)

Part 2: Raw Zucchini Pasta

Instructions

For the pasta noodles, we are ultra-minimalist. Most times, our family enjoys zucchini squash for this occasion, and we focus on the word "noodles" rather than "squash", because our kids tend to avoid squash at all costs. :) Plus, they are more familiar with the traditional pastas, and so we're giving them some transition time to adapt to these new raw food options. For our noodles, we invested in a $20 vegetable spiralizer called the Veggetti, and we consider this to be an important piece of equipment for raw food prep such as this. Simply spiralize your zucchini, and voila! Pretty simple.

Ingredient

  • 2 zucchinis

Finishing Touches

For this recipe, meal prep is a quick and easy three-step process: (1) Blend your pesto ingredients in a food processor; (2) Spiralize your zucchini noodles; and (3) Toss the noodles with the sauce.


Quick Recipe Recap

I wrote this recipe specifically for this occasion. You might notice I left out the garlic by accident, so remember that ingredient for your recipe!

Fresh organic local produce keeps costs down while keeping the nutritional value way up.

The end result of your 15 minute meal prep time is a great tasting raw zucchini pumpkin seed pesto pasta.

About the "Monochramatic" Challenge

What does the color green mean to me?

This weeks' theme in the Steemit Culinary Challenge is "Monochromatic". Naturally, I chose the color green for my monochromatic meal, because it's my favorite color. In fact, earlier this week, I posted a couple of photos with a green common thread, where I expressed my heartfelt infatuation with the color green: Green Photography.

Why Are We Going Raw?

We Believe Living Foods are Most Nutritious and Delicious.

Raw food recipes keep all of the vitamins and digestive enzymes intact, so we're consuming the maximum potency each time we eat. We're new at this, so we're no experts. We're learning as we go, through trials and errors, and we're excited about the discoveries.

Questions or Comments?

Please leave a reply. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmly,

Kat Lindsay | @wildfamily


Wild Family Film | Wild Family Website | Wild Family On Facebook

Sort: ย 

Congratulations @wildfamily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wildfamily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely recipe using zucchini instead of the wheat pasta. Thank you for sharing, I'll try your recipe when I have time.

Good comment @loannethor remember this steemian when you prepare your own using this recipe..

Definitely! Thank you.

@loannethor welcome
So do you also post your recipes...โ˜บ

Thank you @loannethor! We have loved experimenting with alternative veggie options vs traditional pasta favorites. It's expanded our minds and palates. Let me know how it goes for you. <3

I'm so proud of you. What a gift you have for family-friendly recipes. You seem like a perfect fit for the Steemit Culinary Challenge. Thank you for allowing your natural gifts to be seen on the screen. Upvoting and resteeming!

I really appreciate your support. Thank you. Happy to share.

Great support and comment @cabelindsay for a well deserving post... She did great in her recipe for sure...

Hey thanks, I appreciate that. Yeah, @wildfamily really shines in her posts.

Sure @cabelindsay do you also do similar posts... For me I do a wide area but recently on natural health tips...take a look...๐Ÿ˜‹

Yeah, I noticed your article on eggshells. Good stuff! I hadn't imagined eating them before, but I can definitely see the potential for positive health benefits.

Wow! ๐Ÿ˜ It looks very yummy! Very nice recipe and you are very sweet in your video.Nice to meet you, Kat!

It's a pleasure to meet you too, and I appreciate your friendly greeting. Looking forward to your Thai food recipes, yum!

Hi there Kat, welcome to the Steemit Culinary Challenge! I've just watched your video clip, and along with the rest of your post, I'm finding this such a delightful entry! Green is my favourite colour too, in life and in food, so I just adore what you've done here... Beautiful, simple, tasty, nutritious, and your presentation has a real lovely 'garden' feel to it. Great! I am drawn to your steemit name... I think we'd consider ourselves a 'wild family' too, and I think it's great you're trying new things together to get even more nutrition from your food.. your children's fabulously healthy bodies will be forever grateful :-) I love your recipe for homemade pesto and will definitely be giving it a try - I have already scribbled it into my kitchen notebook! Gorgeous monochrome dish, which is sure to impress our guest judge @progressivechef! Good luck to you on your first SCC entry @wildfamily!

Thank you for your delicious welcoming. It's really good of you to offer your time and energy to help me feel so warmly accepted here. Thank you again, and hugs to you and your wild family. :)

Aw, thank you too! :-)

@wildfamily
Kat! Raw Zucchini Pumpkin Seed Pesto Pasta... Even your cute son shouted in agreement when you said it's deliscious... Great video... Nice post and you my winner!

Thanks! Yeah, he's a chatterbox. Glad to have his approval this round. ;)

Yeah and he is very lucky you feeding him well... Take a look at my blog post for some nice natural remedy good for the family...โ˜บ

amazing I worked at a raw vegan restaurant for about 5 years and changed my diet for 30 days too it was really good experience. You definitely need time to make these recipes, this one is easy and basic I'm glad you got to play with it and enjoyed it :)
If you have any questions I could give you some tips :P
Soy tu tio

Today is our 30th day, and we aim to keep on going the raw way. Fortunately, we're developing a natural sense for flavor combinations and nutritional benefits, so at this point we're mostly self-guided in this journey, although we're certainly receptive to tips. I'd love to know yours! Do you blog about raw food too? We're flying by the seat of our pants here. :) Our main guide for starters was a book called Living On Live Food, and we've seen many others, but only this one book really gave us to courage to go for it full force.

Oh wow, what an coincidence, I also posted raw zucchini pasta, but I love your version as well. Wonderfuly done, it must be super yummy. You definitely have my upvote and I am following you ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‰

Yay, yes I see yours too! Must be zucchini noodle week. ;) And so happy you replied, so I can follow your lovely blog. Pleasure to meet you.

Pleasure to meet you too and thank you so much. Looking forward to see more of your recipe videos.

Hi @lenasveganliving, that's awesome that you posted a raw zucchini pasta too. I will check out your version too, as I'm always open to trying other sauces. I love the sauce. Cashews are probably my favorite part about this diet...and pumpkin seeds. Thank you for the up vote and follow. Right back atcha!

@wildfamily you have inspired my meal for tomorrow! aha - I am doing Vegan September and appreciate your posts very much!!

I have blogged on here about how easy I have found veganism despite eating a lot of meat before hand, would be interested in hearing what you think of my blog!

Alex

Your blog looks solid so far. I left a reply on your most recent post. Yeah, our family is newly vegans, and we're still navigating the waves of physical shifts. At the moment, I feel fatigued, to be quite honest. Not at all craving meat, though. Just craving sleep. :)

Thank you @alexmavor. I will check out your blog for sure. I've tried being vegan several times in my early and late 20s but did find it challenging, purely because of social pressure. Now that I more established in my values, what my body needs, and what feels right to me, it has been a pleasure to eat this way. It helps that my husband is on board with it and does most of the prep work for our family! I will definitely check out your blog. Here's to a grand Vegan September for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52