Local Fijian Dish - Kokoda (raw fish salad)

in #food6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

As this is my second visit to Fiji, what I really loved from my first visit was a local dish called Kokoda. It is a raw fish salad with coconut juice, onions, tomatoes and other veggies. This time, I made sure to have it more often as I haven’t seen it around Sydney at all.

kokoda.jpg

There is no set fish and is just decided on what it will be depending what is caught locally (usually mahi mahi or snappers at the resorts sashimi/raw grade). I love the balance of the fish, veggies and coconut juice!

Although it is considered raw, it is actually marinated in citrus juice for a few hours so the flavour of limes and lemon will be soaked into the fish.

If you ever visit Fiji, do order one of these as an entree! If you are a sashimi fan like I am, you should like this dish as well!

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 👍. 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片和視頻都是我們自己拍的 📷


Below are some of my previous posts:

Driving Through Snow in Japan & BB E’s First Snow Encounter

Fratelli Fresh @ Crows Nest, Sydney

Nubo Play Centre @ Chatswood, Sydney

[Dlive Exclusive Interview] Travelgirl Interviews Suerisue - Thailand Model & Actress

Travelgirl’s Mother’s Day 2018

Japanese Facial Mask Review - Arale from Dr Slump

Traveling the World with Travelgirl - Fiji Special

Travelgirl's Diary [14] - Travelgirl 的日記 [14]

New Shanghai Restaurant @ Chatswood, Sydney - 新上海 @ Chatswood, 悉尼

Travelgirl's Diary [13] - Travelgirl 的日記 [13]

Steemit Meetup in Sydney - Bavarian Bier Cafe @ Sydney, Australia

Museum of Contemporary Art @ Sydney, Australia (Part 2)

Museum of Contemporary Art @ Sydney, Australia

Traveling the World #96 (Australia Series) Carnarvon Bay, Tasmania

The Rocks Markets @ Sydney, Australia | The Rocks 市場 @ 悉尼, 澳洲

Food Sharing #28 - Golden Century @ Sydney, Australia - 今天吃什麼 #28 金唐 @ 悉尼, 澳洲

Cooking with Travelgirl - Fish, Tomatoes & Tofu Soup | Travelgirl 廚房 - 豆腐番茄魚湯

Answers to Ten facts one lie challenge @Travelgirl + Costco Giveaway

Travelgirl's Diary [12] - Travelgirl 的日記 [12]

Steemit CN Community Karaoke Collaboration - Steemit 中文區大合唱 [明天會更好]

Sort:  

Greetings <3 love for travelgirl

how much is it

this one at my resort is approx $12AUD. Big entree size.

not expensive!

Awesome next time i go to Fiji i am trying this! :D

yeah definately and since you are in Australia too the flight is super quick to Fiji :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

好難想像這個味道

兩個字 - 好味!哈哈

I love Fiji!! I will go back one day...

its like paradise isn't it. We love it here

流口水中😍😍

Sounds delicious! I'm missing the Island foods so much! Have more pineapples, rambutans and inkori!

maybe next time consider joining us? the boys would love to have you around and we can have fun together!~!

would love to!

I'm coming to Fiji just for this dish!!

hahaha lets do that!

When I go on a trip I will want to eat the ones of the land. Looks delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10