Sourdough Toast Heaven: ๐Ÿž Walnut, Cranberry and Cacao Nibs ๐Ÿ‘ผ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago


20180506_082017.jpg


20180505_101101.jpg

I have just died and gone to toast heaven. I had to wait 12 hours to eat it as it wasn't time for breakfast when I pulled it out of the oven but oh my god it was so good. It was so good that I took a bite BEFORE I took a photo of it. What kind of food photography sin is that? I couldn't even find a nice background, but that's because I am in bed and it's Sunday.

20180506_081959.jpg

I have been thinking all week about how much we can pay for food when we dont have to. I was so tempted to buy a specialty fruit loaf at the deli the other day but I slapped myself in the face and got my thinking head on. I wasn't just going to make a fruit loaf. I was going to make the best specialty loaf I had ever tasted.

1. Prepare the Dough.

I decided I would make it in a loaf tin so the proportions would be smaller than my usual sourdough.

  • 2 cups of bread flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup of sourdough starter
  • warm water to mix into a wet dough.

The dough can be fairly wet as I would be adding dry ingredients later which I imagined would absorb any wetness.


20180505_101055.jpg

I use a no knead method, so that means letting it sit in a warm place for about 8 hours. Around 4 pm I turned the dough onto a floured surface and gently kneaded until dough like.

2. Find your Ingredients

I think you could put just about anything in there. These proportions miraculously worked for me.

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup cacao nibs
  • 1/2 cup cranberries
  • 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds
  • lashings of cinnamon
  • optional honey or vegan sweetener

    20180505_101028.jpg

3. Knead in the Goodness

Then press the dough into a vague circle and sprinkle the toppings on. You can see how much cinnamon I sprinkled! This may not be to your taste, but it does make it taste good. I also drizzled honey over it but this is most definately optional. I was just feeling hedonistic.


20180505_170042.jpg

Fold the corners in, shape and press flat and fold again. Repeat this process a couple of times. Don't overdo it.. the marbled veins of walnuts and cranberries are what make this toast sexy.

20180505_170200.jpg

4. Prove and Bake

Prove the bread in a loaf tin for about 2 hours - it will rise slightly. This depends on the temperature of your house. Bake at about 220 for half an hour. If it's brown on top and sounds hollow when tapped, it's done! Cool before slicing.

5. Enjoy Toast Heaven


20180506_082017.jpg

If you would like a sourdough recipe, this is an easy one I posted some time ago: https://busy.org/@riverflows/keeping-it-simple-sourdough

DQmfTYVKWVEJrUGmc8wbQnEBiHNSHaHgTwK7szLRtwYfi8E_1680x8400.jpeg

If you thought this looked tasty, please consider upvoting or resteeming ๐Ÿ˜˜

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort: ย 

Buenas noches amigo riverflows. Muy buena su receta, para degustarla, no conocรญa este tipo de postre. Me gusto. tomare su receta. Gracias

I cant speak Spanish! Sorry x

That looks amazing!! Iโ€™ve been thinking of making some homemade bread but havenโ€™t come across any good recipe so far. I reckon I will give your recipe a try soon. I canโ€™t imagine how good it would be fresh and hot out of the oven with butter spread on it.

Oh it is stupendously good!!!! Let me know how you go! You can vary the ingredients... I might put pepitas in next time and blueberries and coconut! Thanks for commenting.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.63% upvote!
I was summoned by @riverflows. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

This looks amazing.

I tinkered around with sourdough quite a bit before my daughter was born. I loved experimenting with my excess - sourdough pancakes, even chocolate cake (which was quite good). Then I gave birth and I gave up on all that. Got to get started again.

Get back into it! How old are your twinkles...???

2 and 4. Finally ages that are requiring a little less, so I can do more in other areas.

Sourdough is the best but a cant have it in the house because am going to eat all of it in one go. but this one is a excellent ide.
do u have a sourdough starter? or re making it

We have a starter passed on from one Mum made about 6 years ago. But they are easy to do.

Oh it's hard to stop eating all of it at once lol. Especially this one!!!

nice a like the concept of having a "old" starter.

Oh yeah, I can see why your willpower was low.

I actually feel a bit ill - I could have stopped at two slices, couldn't I @choogirl ?

Should I assume it's mostly gone now?

What bread? I don't see any bread.... ๐Ÿคฃ

Mmm! That looks delicious. I have heard people talk about quick sourdough and traditional sourdough, the difference being the length of fermentation time. Do you know which would this be considered? I am gluten intolerant but traditional sourdough seems to sit well for me. I am.crossi g my first gets that this recipe is traditional so I can try it. -Aimee

It would be traditional. As the dpugh is left for 8 hours and thrn kneaded and left again, there's time to change the gluten structure. Jamie is gluten intolerant but he does well with my sourdough... I included the link to the plain recipe too..Let me know how you go! I wpuld love for you to make it.

successful friends, let's exchange vout by way of mutual visit to our blog each @zuhrafriska

It looks so tasty! Second last pic made me wonder, was the baked dough more on the dry side or on the moist side? It looks a bit shiny on the image so I'd say moist?

Moist. It's slathered with butter though and very fresh. I tried to balance the wetness of the dough with the dry ingredients that would absorb some water..do you bake bread? It's all a guessing game.for me
..

A wild guess, but would adding ground nuts in the dough get it more dry? I think it could, but then it would risk not letting the dough rise as well? Do mind I'm not the most expirienced baker around. haha
Never did bake bread by myself, I usualy just help out whenever mom makes bread or anything sweet. I did make a super simple cake the other day though. It looked wonky, but was, to my surprise, tasty!
The guessing game is just the part of the expirience, it's always fun to see what comes out of it.

It is fun experimentation. I decided not to add chia or coconut as it would make it too dry and I agree... ground nuts would be like a flour so I don't know how it will affect the rise and texture of the loaf. I'm also not sure why as the chunky nuts and seeds and fruit are what makes this an exciting loaf. Next time I'm not using cranberries as I cant do too much sweet food for brekky and I'm going to add some coconut too and maybe banana.

Coconut sounds fun, you should totally do that.
Removing cranberries is reasonable too, you can always put jam on the bread if you get a sweet tooth.

Yeah that's exactly my thinking!!! Nice one. Xx

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-05T23:25:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 116.90/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49