TROPICAL TUESDAY: Guava-Spinach Smoothie with Chives (Raw+Vegan)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Today’s exotic hero is the guava - so refreshing, crisp and on top even super healthy! Before we come to my smoothie recipe, I have to point out how amazing the international connection can be nowadays through the internet and globalization in general. I am a German digital nomad, publishing this post on Tuesday morning in Malaysia and can at the same time take part in the 'Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition' organized by @lenasveganliving located in Canada. Apart from the jet lag now and then, this time zone thing can be quite handy. 

Sweet refreshment on a hot summer day - Guava makes it happen 

So back to my Tropical Tuesday project - for July, I am posting a new smoothie creation each week, containing some of the delicious tropical fruits I have the pleasure to try here in South East Asia. Last week, I featured the well-known and widely loved papaya in my Papaya-Mango Smoothie with Fresh Mint and today’s chosen fruit might not be so famous. Well, you might have sipped a cocktail with guava juice before, but chances are quite slim, that you have tried a fresh crunchy guava yet.  

Due to its refreshing taste much like apples or pears, I wanted to make this a smoothie that you want to cool down with in the hot sun, exactly what you are supposed to need on a day in July in the Northern hemisphere. So why not make it a green smoothie and couple guava with frozen bananas, spinach and fresh herbs? I was ready to experiment and used some chives as my herb of choice and the first try was already a success:  

  • 3 bananas (optionally frozen) 
  • 1/2 guava 
  • 1 hand full of spinach 
  • 1 hand full of chives 

For guava newbies - peel the skin if it is not organic and cut out the inner part of the guava containing all those hard tiny seeds. Your blender might not be able to transform them into a creamy mixture and I like my smoothies super smooth. Therefore I always leave this part out of my smoothie creations, but eat it afterwards including all the seeds, since the middle of the fruit is the sweetest part.  

Tasty therapy - Guava’s powerful healing properties 

The guava originates from South America but can nowadays be found in many Asian countries. In the Philippines it is the most used plant for therapeutical treatments due to its high number of nutrients. You might be surprised to hear that it contains five times more vitamin C than oranges. 

Since it is so rich in antioxidants, guava is a great booster for your immune system and can even support your body in preventing several cancer types like breast, colon, lung, prostate and skin cancer.  

Furthermore, this power fruit hides twice the amount of lycopene than tomatoes behind its green skin. Lycopene is a powerful antioxidant and belongs to the family of carotenoids. This nutrient supports your body in the prevention of conditions like osteoporosis, cardiovascular disease and chronic health conditions. On top of that, guavas help to fight soothe constipation and are also a great support if you are dealing with high blood pressure, diabetes, gastroenteritis or weight-loss issues.  

If you are perfectly healthy, you can still benefit from guava’s nutritious power, along with its refreshing taste - it helps to keep your skin smooth and wrinkle-free, which makes it to the ideal anti-aging remedy. 

The art of slow eating - How to improve your smoothie digestion 

My tip for making yourself enjoy your smoothie in a slower pace is to sprinkle some of the crunchy ingredients on top, like I did with some pieces of guava. This way you will have to chew your smoothie which makes such a difference to a good digestion. 

Oftentimes we treat a smoothie like a drink and slurp it down way too quickly. But your digestion already starts in the mouth with your saliva, which contains the enzyme amylase for breaking down carbohydrates. So let your saliva do its pre-digestive work and don’t skip this important step. Eating your smoothie with a spoon is another trick to slow yourself down, no matter how delicious the mixture might be.  

If you ever liked apples or pears, you will definite love the flavors of guava - not only in your favorite cocktails, but in this delicious and nutritious smoothie creation. Enjoy your summer warmth!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

---

Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian, doctor or trained detox expert. My goal is to share my knowledge from conclusive research and personal experiences to inspire you on your own raw adventure. I do not give medical advice and am not liable for any negative consequences you might face by following any information from this post - even if it is too much energy from a newly gained vibrant health and no idea how to deal with it. Always do your individual research when it comes to your precious health, it is absolutely worth the extra effort!

Sort:  

You always bring something innovative and informative to our Monday table and I always enjoy reading it. Now I have to get me some guava, if I can. Probably in one of ours Asian supermarkets 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you, Lena - I just love to take part in your context, surrounded by such a kind and inspiring community 💚 Let me know if you can find some, guava is worth a little treasure-hunt 😁

Always a pleasure my Dear and I sure will let you know.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you so much, super happy to have made it under the bonus prize winners with all these amazing dishes posted for this challenge 💚

My kind of morning treat hehe! Love guavas! So yum and packed with good-for-you nutrients.

So tasty, right? I prefer them in a smoothie though, the refreshing taste is perfect for the South East Asian heat 😉

Wow, I didn't know all those things about guava, I was shocked to know about the vitamin C content! I'd love to try this amazing green smoothie of yours, but I think I can't find a guava anywhere... However, I love the looks of it, so green! 😍

Crazy, right? Well, I totally get that it is not common knowledge, since guava are not available everywhere in the world.

Green dishes always have a magical pull on me. Seems like health and tastiness scream at me to eat them up 💚

Usually people have a list of things to do when they travel abroad, I think I have a list of things I want to taste, especially in Asia! 😄

I feel the exact same way about green dishes, like they're calling my name!

Tasting new foods is an adventure in itself, definitely deserves a big bucket list 😉

No wonder green is my favorite color 💚

Such a good post. I never see guava much in Canada. But the flavor is so perfectly exotic. I truly never would have thought of combining it with chives. I think it would be amazing. My curiosity will have me on the look out for guava.

I can imagine that Canada hasn't discovered it yet, I didn't know guava either before I started to travel in South East Asia. 🙈

It is a fabulous combo, you might want to try the recipe and substitute the guava for apple or pear, I bet it is still a real treat 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61