Raw Apple Cake - Free of Sugar, Full of Flavor (Vegan)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite cakes has always been apple cake, preferable with vanilla pudding as filling. Although I now happily pass on any of those ordinary sugar-filled cakes, I still like sweet treats some days, only as long as I don’t have to feel guilty afterwards. 

And since I picked a whole mountain of apples last week (see my latest post Free Food for Everyone - Join the Treasure Hunt! for all the juicy details) I have enough produce for weeks of apple smoothie, apple salad, apple crumble or apple cake. 

This is how this recipe was born. It has a lot of sweet flavor and even the pudding feeling in there - without using any sugar, oil, gluten, animal products or baking time. Here comes the recipe to this healthy, hearty apple treat:  

For the crunchy dough: 

  • 200g raisins 
  • 100g walnuts 
  • 100g hazelnuts 
  1. Put the nuts and raisins in a high bowl and use a hand mixer to blend them into a smooth dough. There can still be bigger pieces left, it gives the mixture the perfect crunch. 
  2. Press the dough into a baking form as cake base. 

For the apple and pudding filling:  

  • 4 sweet apples 
  • 3 ripe bananas 
  • 2 tbsp cashew butter 
  • 1 tbsp flaxseeds or chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon or 1/2 tsp vanilla 
  1. Grate the apples coarsely. 
  2. For the filling put the bananas, cashew butter, flaxseeds and cinnamon into your blender. Add some water to get the blender started and mix everything well. 
  3. Add the banana cream to the apples and spread the mixture evenly onto the cake base. 
  4. Let it sit in your fridge for a few hours or over night so that the cake becomes a bit firmer. 
Did you know that the peel of apples possesses real superpowers? A study showed that it can actually turn on anticancer genes in order to fight them off. So don't throw this natural medicine away but always  include it into your apple meals. Read the whole magical story in this review by Dr. Greger. 

Optional as topping:  

  • 3 tbsp finely grated nuts  
  • 2 tbsp grated beetroot 
  1. Get as creative as you want with your toppings, maybe you like to add some pieces of persimmons or pears, and enjoy your healthy treat!

In case you don't trust my raw vegan taste buds - this cake was quite a success on a recent family brunch and those asking for the recipe afterwards were not even plantbased foodies yet. So I hope you also like this sweet composition and if you tried it yourself let me know your thoughts on this unconventional apple cake creation!

This post is taking part in the wonderful Fruits and Veggies Monday competition from @lenasveganliving.

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruity journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

Sort:  

This sounds so delicious! Especially that creamy banana/apple filling! I definitely trust your taste buds on this one. What a perfect treat filled with all the good stuff. :)

Thank you so much, creamy treats are my favorite! ☺️ And I do love a dish that is healthy and tasty at the same time. 💚

sluurrppp... Oh My God, send me..please! this is crazy yummy @rawadventuress, just by seeing the picture and read the recipes.. my mouth is watering right now... I should bookmark this recipe now!

I'd love to, Cici - but I think it would not taste that well once arrived in SEA from Germany. 🙈

so.. I'd better make it myself..LOL. thanks anyway.. I think I can try this once later.

Looks so delicious 😍😍 You're food always looks so beautifully made love!

Thank you for your kind words, Destiny! Have a great day. 💚

Oh my gawwwddd. That Apple cake looks ridiculous. I love how all of your recipes are baseless and nutritious. We’ll take a few of those over here, thank you very much. Happy Monday @rawadventuress!

Thank you! 😄 I especially like the creaminess of it and YES, healthy and tasty are a great couple, they should never be too far away from each other. 💚

Love those apples! The shredded beetroot on top was a winner, I would go crazy over these bars. Well done @rawadventuress!

The beetroot was actually a leftover from the bliss balls I made from the excess dough I had. 😄

Thank you! 💚

It's amazing it's not cooked, it looks baked, it looks fantastic. My wife is mad about Dr Greger, he is like some vegan god for her.

And raw treats are so simple and often much faster without the baking time. 😁

No wonder, he's amazing, the content he puts out there is mind-blowing!

Greeting to your wife. 😉

Even if I make some baked.cooked desserts occasionally, especially at this time of year, overall, I do prefer my treats raw. So this is just perfect recipe I can add to my collection, because it is even perfect for this time of year. I have to try this for sure Anais; I absolutely love it! Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you, Lena! I am very excited to hear how you will like my apple cake. 💚

Have a great day and keep warm over there in Canada! ☀️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60744.52
ETH 3381.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57