Free Food for Everyone - Join the Treasure Hunt!

in #food6 years ago

How do free fruits, herbs and nuts sound to you? I am also crazy about free food especially if it goes to waste otherwise.  

It is the middle of autumn here in Germany and apple season is almost over. My boyfriend Johann and I used the only sunny day this week to embark on a little apple picking adventure in our old home town before the last apples disappear from the trees and make way for all those colorful leaves.  

Fortunately we knew some great spots where public ground meets rich apple trees and anyone is allowed to pick those precious goods. One place was a playground with six apple trees, only a few streets away from an organic supermarket where apples are sold for around 3-4€ per kilo. But the apples there are just falling down onto the ground, remain unwanted and rot there if nobody collects them.  

So we spend some hours climbing apple trees in the sun and collecting all the good ones on the ground waiting to become our fruity breakfast. Well, to be fair, I didn’t climb up there this time but had the job to catch those my boyfriend was throwing down from up there. 

All in all, we had the pleasure to store about 10 kilos of fresh apples in our basement, after this little adventure. 

But you don’t have to run around blindly through your town and search for the lucky catch - there is a great website called Falling Fruit that maps public fruit trees and bushes all around the world where you can collect your next fresh meal. And if you should manage to accidentally stumble across a fruit treasure yourself, you can put a sign onto the map and let other people know about this place. 

I also use the website Mundraub for my treasure hunts, but this site is in German and concentrates mainly on European locations with a focus on Germany. 

Maybe it is the effort we put into collecting them, maybe the flavor of the traditional and local varieties or the freshness of the apples - but they definitely taste a lot better than any bought ones. I hope you also get into the experience of munching on your own picked foods soon, even if you don’t have the luxury of a fruit and veggie garden. 

Let the fruity hunting games begin!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruity journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

Sort:  

whoooaaa.. I'd like to join your hunting time if I were there too.. imagine what we can make with all of those free fruits and turn it into free meals for everyone too. 10 kilograms!! that's a lot and can't wait to see, what will you show us for the fruitsandveggiesmonday with it.

That sounds wonderful! I've heard about some people before saving perfectly fine food from supermarkets' garbage bins and preparing beautiful meals for the whole community - such an awesome project.

I have made a delicious raw apple cake that I will upload today. 😉

Haha… you are so cool. Seriously, one of the coolest people on here. That fruit treasure hunting map is genius. I poked around on there and saw that LA has an abundance of locations, but I couldn’t figure out how to get the exact location. That’ll probably call for more time spent on the app. Thanks for sharing your fruit haul with us @rawadventuress! I’ll keep this app in mind now :)

Thank you! 😁 It is such an awesome website, I already selected some locations for walnut picking, it should be the perfect time for that right now here in Germany.

You normally have to zoom further in to see the exact locations, I hope you can figure it out and soon start enjoying your free fruits. LA seems so be full of great stuff - figs, pears, oranges, pomegranates,... 😍

We have a few citrus trees by our house but to get ahold of a pear tree would be awesome! Picking walnuts would save a fortune too. They are so expensive here…🤔. I’ll keep my eye out for walnut trees now :)

True, walnuts are not the cheapest, but definite some of my favorite nuts! 💚 Looking forward to seeing some pics of your fruit mountains soon, after your treasure hunt. 😁

Hello @rawadventuress. Glad to see your pictures in germany. Where you from in Germany? I have been nuremberg and stuttgart.

I always love free food :) i can imagine how fun to climb trees and do apple picking. Its beautiful how you harvest your own food.
Best wishes to you. Take care. X

Thank you, Sheryl! I was growing up in Paderborn, far away from those places. 😉 But now I am just here for visiting my family and will soon head back to SEA.

Me too, who could say no to those organic, fresh and free beauties, right? And it is such a pity that they would rot away otherwise.

Have a great start into the week, Sheryl! ✨

Hey, i'm livin in Paderborn :) great to see another steemian which is related to the City with the Big Church :)

That's a funny coincidence - so Steemit seems to have already reached our little Paderborn, great! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44