Autumn Salad with Orange-Ginger Dressing (Raw+Vegan)

in #food6 years ago

The best thing about sharing tasty recipes is that it encourages you to experiment more often and really get creative in the kitchen. Since I am not a picky eater (well, as long as my meals are healthy, tasty, plant-based, gluten-free, sugar-free, the least processed possible and raw) I would probably end up with the same salad mixture over and over again. 

But luckily my path went into a different direction, right towards this beautiful autumn salad today, so that I can enjoy such exciting meals and don’t end up in front of a plain green salad day in and out. 

And although I never considered myself as a person that enjoys fruits in a green salad, I learned something new with this recipe - I actually am a person that enjoys fruits in a green salad! 

But as with any mixture, the dressing is what really counts and this one will definitely not disappoint you with its colorful flavors. For the orange-ginger dressing, put the following things into a high bowl and blend it with your hand mixer.

  • 1/2 small zucchini 
  • 1/2 stalk celery 
  • 2 tbsp cashew butter 
  • Juice of 1 orange 
  • 1 thumb ginger 
  • 1 garlic clove 
  • 1/2 red onion

For the salad mixture throw the following ingredients together.

  • 1/2 head lettuce 
  • 3 kohlrabi leaves 
  • 1 sweet pear 
  • 1 cup blueberries 
  • 2 walnuts  

Yes, you are not mistaken - this salad includes some fresh kohlrabi leaves, which are absolutely edible and even pretty tasty just like the leaves of radish, beetroot, broccoli or carrots. To get a little more crunch into my salad, I decided to throw them in there. If they don’t find their way into any of my salad, I often choose to add them into my smoothies, so that these nutrient-rich greens don’t end up in the trash.  

Get excited for your own autumn salad and in case you should still shy away from any fruits in your salad, try only the orange-ginger dressing as topping for your savory mixture and who knows, you might end up in front of a pear-blueberry-lettuce salad some day soon. 

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruity journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

Sort:  

Years ago I thought fruit in a salad was crazy, but I am happily reformed now! Especially ones like this with berries and pears! That dressing sounds like the perfect accompaniment, too. Pears are in season here now, so I definitely need to hunt some down since we are almost out of our apple picking harvest!

Thank you 💚☺️

Awesome, so perfect timing to include loads of pears into your meals. 👍🏻 Well, the last apple harvest will also do the job in this recipe!

Your salads always look so good Anais! Definitely nothing like the usual Finnish "lettuce-cucumber-tomato" one. 😂 The salad dressing looks and sounds really appetizing as well. Orange and ginger, it sounds like a combo worth trying! 😋

Is that what's the healthy Finnish cuisine looks like? I feel for all you foodies over there! 😄

Thank you, the combo is indeed a winner. 😉

Some people think that's all I eat when I say I'm vegan... 😂

Oh no, lucky us that this is not the case. 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51