Packet Meals - Dolmio Carbonara Meal Base

in #food7 years ago

As I'm continuing my way through the selection of packet meals, kits, and similar, I made Carbonara last night from this 'meal base' packet.

Pasta Carbonara (3 serves)

Packet Meal Carbonara Served.jpg
The packet says 4 serves, but it really only does 3 small serves. It might be 4 as a side dish

Packet Recipe

  • Packet Dolmio Carbonara Meal Base
  • 250 grams dry Pasta (I used Fusili)
  • 200 grams Bacon
  • 250 ml Cream
  • 1/2 cup shaved Parmesan Cheese (I used grated)

Additional Ingredients

  • 1/3 Jalepeno Chilli, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 Onion, diced

Packet Meal Carbonara Ingredients.jpg
so few ingredients and I still missed the packet pasta from the shot

Method

  • Cook the pasta as directed on the packet. I always use time - 2 minutes from what the packet says so that it isn't overcooked, but also so that finishing it in the pan with the sauce doesn't overcook it either.
  • Cook the Bacon, Onion, and Jalepeno in a pan until the bacon is cooked to your liking.

Packet Meal Carbonara Bacon.jpg
I added the bacon first, then chopped up the onion and chilli, adding them as they were ready and stirred them in

  • Add the Packet sauce, Cream, and Parmesan Cheese.

Packet Meal Carbonara Added Sauce Ingredients.jpg
It looks a little weird before it combines properly. Part of this could be because the packet was a little older than intended

  • Stir well to combine and bring to the boil. Simmer for 5 minutes or so until the sauce thickens to your liking.

Packet Meal Carbonara Simmering.jpg
I'm pretty happy with this shot of a simmering sauce. Normally it's so difficult to capture 'simmering'. It may have been a little rapid a simmer, but it wasn't boiling...

  • Drain the cooked pasta when it's done, and add it to the pan with the sauce, mixing it to coat all the pasta.

Packet Meal Carbonara Cooked.jpg
Should end up looking something like this.

*Serve, with additional cheese if you'd like

Packet Meal Carbonara Served.jpg
...and like this in a bowl. Small serve for me this night, but was enough for me

Thoughts

The age of the packet didn't really make much difference to the flavour, it's just a passable carbonara sauce. Given it takes as long (or longer...) than making Carbonara from scratch though, I'm not quite sure I'd ever be buying this sauce. It's also not as good as their Carbonara in a jar, which is a complete sauce (though I still add things to it...) so if I were buying Carbonara, I'd go with that over this every time. The packet also suggested it served 4, but didn't suggest that it was as a side serve. I used more bacon (about 250g instead of 200g), more pasta (about 250g instead of 200g), and it still only stretched to be 3 small servings. Will be having one of the leftovers tonight with some reheated cooked chicken.

Sure it works, and is Carbonara, but I don't get why it exists, with still having a half hour prep and cook time, when scratch Carbonara is 20 to 30 minutes depending on recipe.

Previous Packet Meals

Gravox Roast Chicken and Herb Gravy
Chicken and Mushroom Risotto
Spanish Chicken and Chorizo Paella

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

It's just as simple to make it all from scratch (if you're not making the pasta), and tastes 100 times better

Oh, it most certainly is, but that isn't the point of these packet meals posts. I almost never buy packets, but rescued a bunch from a friend that was doing a pantry clean out. If it wasn't for that, I'd probably not have made carbonara from a packet in well over a decade

Just ate one last night, she didn't use Dolmio though. It was another brand that I can't remember. It wasn't bad.

I have forgotten to make Carbonara from scratch. I remember it being thick and creamy when I made it.

Big fan of creamy sauces but I know it's bad for me so I only make Marco Pierre White's tomato based sauce now. Which does take quite a while. But that half an hour is the simmering. Of course you can opt to reduce the sauce the way you want.

I'm a big fan of the creamy sauces too. I think I'll post one of both of my normal Carbonara recipes at some point. It's one of my favourite simple pasta sauces

Simple is king in my recipe book!

For the people who think it's hard? :D

I probably would have bought it once upon a time. And I still think it's hard XD

goatsig

But this is much harder than the Dolmio Carbonara sauce in a jar... Which also tastes better and makes more serves...

Hey ,
Thanks for the great content

Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65