Dining Out - Barista & Cook

in #food7 years ago

Barista & Cook

Barista and Cook - View.jpg
It was actually a pretty nice day outside, but it was too busy for us out the front, and more comfortable inside

Saturday lunchtime, the place wasn't packed, but they had a good turn of tables going on. Looked like a bit of a hipster coffee place, that also did food. Their menu starts off with things like 'Acai Bowl' and 'Coconut & Chia Pudding', which are really not my thing. However it also contains some burgers which looked nice so my partner and I both decided on burgers and a drink, though I was seriously considering the 'Reuben Sandwich' but it didn't come on Rye.

She got a 'Bacon &Cheese burger', and I had their 'Southern Fried Chicken burger'. Both come with their house chips and an Aioli dipping sauce. To go with them, I got a cider (Somersby) and it was a Strawberry & Maple shake for her.

Barista and Cook - My Burger and Chips.jpg
for just under $20 (plus drink), it was actually a pretty decent sized serving

When it came out, I was quite surprised with the chips. Actual potato that had been chopped up and boiled then fried. They weren't the best I've ever had, but they were slightly crisp on the outside, and fluffy on the inside. They were a bit too large to dip into the tiny dipping sauce container though.

The burgers were good too, with a nice slaw (I was concerned about it since it claimed to be a 'kale coleslaw', but it was still good) that complemented the chicken well. There were around 3 separate pieces of chicken in my burger, but it still held together really well, and the chipotle mayo and milk bun didn't take anything away while providing a good wrapper and sauce for the chicken.

Barista and Cook - texture shot.jpg
balance is everything, and they got it right. This burger is all about the chicken. Also look at that chip!

The chicken itself was great. crispy outside that had it's own flavour, and tender inside that wasn't dry and wasn't overcooked. Just how a good fried chicken burger should be. I left here quite satisfied.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Hurstville double feature
Sushi 07
Longrain
Gang Thai, Bar Ume
Little Momo, Two Tales Cafe, The Pie Tin
Bay Italia, One Tea Grill, King of Kebabs
The Hatter & The Hare
Eurobay, Arisun, Big John's, Bondi Pizza
Last Bus, Chat Thai, Rocksia Hotel, Ichiban Boshi
Alphabet St, 360 Italian, Mary's, Sushi Rio

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Kaleslaw ay, I'd try that XD Place looks pretty nice, I do like anywhere with couch benches.

goatsig

I wish I'd had the couch bench on my side also, but alas, I go the chair. It wasn't too bad, but it wasn't a comfy padded bench.

Were you sitting either side? If we ever go to a place with couchy seats we all usually end up crammed couch side XD Otherwise my bony old arse is in the chair with optional child that might want to sit next to me if the space isn't big enough for them to cram in XD Maybe getting cosy is an option XP

goatsig

I'd love that option to be a thing. This time it wasn't possible since the table was 1 seat wide, but tonight's was a normal 4 person table that we could have sat next to each other on the 'more comfy' side. I took the comfy seat to start with, so she just complained about the non comfy seat... sigh

You'll just have to imagine the wild frustrated gesticulations I'm making at the computer XD

goatsig

Nice review, I’ve heard a bit on social media about Barista & Cook but based on your review I think the things I’ve read are pretty accurate ie it’s decent for a feed but nothing wow?

If you want to try something nearby that is pretty good check out the newly opened Stanton & Co in Rosebery or even closer to Waterloo is Allegra Dining (try their pastas, amazing!)

Having been to La Bufala after your recommendation (would have been Adamo, but they're not open for dinner? or at all on Sundays...) I'll certainly add these to my list

Oh no, yeah Sunday is the only day Adamo isn't open sadly! Ooh, what did you order at La Bufala and how did you find it? Be honest! I've been a lot and 8 times out of 10 they're good, but it just so happened the one time I took my family it wasn't great haha so I won't be offended at the truth :D

I had a pizza that was quite good but a couple of ash bits which does happen in wood fired. Partner had their Spag Boll, but asked for it to be 'not oily' and the plate was still a quite oily. They did take it back and re-plate if for her though which was good.

Thought they were pretty good, so guess we were there on one of the 8/10

Oh nice, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I always get a bit nervous recommending places just incase I happened to go on a good day but glad it worked out :)

Yeah, it can sometimes be a bit hit and miss, but once you get to know other people's likes etc, you can kinda judge if they'll like something that you like based on what you know they already like.

I'm pretty easy to please, but at the same time can pick out flaws in what I'm enjoying :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43