NOW THAT'S MY CUP OF TEA - A Simple Recipe For a Relaxing Evening Tea

in #food8 years ago

In a world of so many different drinks and flavored beverages, tea is still the most popular (last I knew.) That may seem strange here in America, but worldwide, that’s the way it is. There was a time in my past when coffee was just too strong. I had to use tea to eventually work my way up to coffee. Now that I can handle both, tea is still my favorite. In fact, I drink so much tea, some people even call me Mr. T. When my wife was labeling the pile of plugs for our kitchen appliances to help us figure out which one we wanted to plug in, she even labelled the coffee maker as “tea maker”. The evidence speaks for itself.

Anyway, since I now have the opportunity, I thought I would share my favorite personal blend of evening tea with you. It is a simple and delightful recipe, and has been some years in the making. The different flavors of different teas has always interested me, and I’ve enjoyed handcrafting my own for years. I remember running around the street markets in Mexico some years back and picking up such spices as Anise Stars, Cloves, Vanilla and Cinnamon to craft my own tea flavors with. Once I finally looked at the ingredients of Chai tea, I realized where my inclination towards some of those flavors may have come from. The blend that I am about to share, however, is definitely a little less mainstream.

There are five basic ingredients that I now use when I blend the ingredients for my favorite evening tea. Each one has been hand selected for certain characteristics that it brings to the table by itself, as well as for how it interacts with the rest. Several of these ingredients may be readily available to you already in your cupboard or yard, but the remainder shouldn’t be that hard to get a hold of, especially online.


CATNIP

Yeah, you heard right. @papa-pepper loves his Catnip. Technically, Catnip is not unheard of in the tea world. It has been used for centuries for culinary flavorings, and I really enjoy the scent and taste. If I could only drink one tea for the rest of my life, it would be a tough choice between Oolong and catnip. Not only is the flavor and aroma soothing, the tea can also have a calming effect. This herb is the core ingredient in my blend.


LAVENDER

Those tiny purple flowers of the Lavender plant smell so aromatic. Their scent is almost like a potpourri blend, but without the overkill. As far as taste is concerned, lavender gives tea a similar flavoring to that which is supplied in Earl Grey tea by Bergamot. Lavender tea is also a calming tea that fights anxiety and stress. I think just smelling the flower can accomplish a certain amount of that. Lavender has also been used as a sedative for those battling insomnia, so it certainly can help me relax at the end of the day.


LICORICE ROOT

Licorice Root can also have a soothing effect, and its presence in the tea also has a smoothing and sweetening effect. The flavor is distinct and pleasant as well, but to be able to sweeten the tea without adding any sugar or honey I find to be all the more beneficial. The dried root is readily available many places and Licorice Root has been one of the four original ingredients of this blend since I first developed it.


WILD MINT

Wild Mint is the last of the four original ingredients. The flavor and scent of this herb on its own are amazing. I just did post about it in my series THE WILD OUTDOORS. Tea made only of mint leaves is certainly a treat on its own, but when added to this blend it creates a more refreshing side to it. It’s another great caffeine-free ingredient that brings its own characteristics into the mix to benefit the whole.


SASSAFRAS

I’ve added this fifth ingredient since moving to Arkansas. Trust me, the first four do great on their own, and I wasn’t looking to change the recipe, but I certainly welcome Sassafras leaves into the blend. As far as the benefits, it adds another complementary flavor into the final fullness of this tea, and “smooths” the blend a little more. For a little more information on Sassafras, click here. Since Sassafras contains Safrole which the FDA has deemed carcinogenic, you may want to try your blend without the Sassafras leaves. Of course, I’m not a doctor and I’m not suggesting that any of these ingredients are safe for you or me, just that I enjoy making a relaxing evening tea out of this blend. If you are considering the same, you may want to consult your physician first.

Who knows, the doctor may want to try some too.


proof-of-tea

Sort:  

So good man. These type of articles are what make my day on Steemit. Cheers

Thanks for the compliment and encouragement.

What tea do you use as the backbone of this blend? Do you just add those ingredients? I think that this would blend well with a Darjeeling base much like Chai. Might try this tonight if I can wrestle some catnip from the kitties. :)


Catnip is the base to which the other four ingredients are added. I have a general amount of each that I add, but you can see what you like best. For a blend containing caffeine, but with the same flavor as this blend, a green or black tea could be used as the backbone. Since this is my evening blend, I opt out of using caffeine.

Nice @papa-pepper
Shot you an Upvote :)

I also grow a ton of lavender. Its one of my very favorite herbs! Unfortunately I do not like the way it tastes :( Its to perfumy for me. Have you ever use Elderberry tea? My french grandma used to make me pick the flowers off trees in the neighborhood. Its probably the best tea ive ever had. I also do not think using cat nip is strange. Its in the mint family so it makes sense.

Nice Pics! I'm fan of the aroma of lavender, goes well with most teas I've tried so far :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.4 and reading ease of 68%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50