The Best Trout Recipe I Know - A Homemade Recipe From The Archives of @papa-pepper

in #food8 years ago

WARNING: IN ORDER TO COOK TROUT I HAD TO KILL THEM. IF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE WITH THAT, THEN PLEASE DO NOT VIEW THIS POST. SINCE I DID NOT WANT TO EAT THE HEADS OR GUTS, I CUT THEM OFF AND FED THEM TO THE CHICKENS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

When I was a child, somewhere around Second Grade, my family moved into a house on a partially wooded two and a half acre lot with a creek running through the woods. Thus began my enjoyment of trout. The Brook Trout that swam up and down that little creek were delicious, and I've enjoyed catching and eating some Brown Trout and Rainbow Trout too, not to mention Salmon.

Thankfully, Cotter, AR aka "Trout Capital USA", is not that far of a drive these days, so now I have the opportunity to share my all time favorite trout recipe with you. It's one I created some years back, and it was excellent to get to enjoy it once again.


INGREDIENTS

  • Trout

  • Tomatoes

  • Onion

  • Jalapeno Peppers

  • Cilantro

  • Limes

  • Salt



DIRECTIONS


Obtain Trout.


Cut the head of the trout most of the way off from the top downward.


Remove bowels with head and discard (feed to chickens).


Dice tomatoes, onion, cilantro, and jalapenos.

Use your own guide for how to do this. Basically, you're making Pico de Gallo. I love to make it and often show up to pot-lucks with a big bowl of it, but people are often very particular and almost always someone has a suggestion on what there is either too little or too much of. I know what I like, so that's how I make it. You know what you like.


Add lime juice and salt, then thoroughly mix the ingredients.


Rinse the trout and fill the body cavities with Pico de Gallo, being careful not to spill or dump it.


Give extra Pico de Gallo to your family or friends as a great snack.


Place trout open side up into a plastic bag.


Squeeze limes into the bag. I like to use about two limes for this many fish.


Seal the bag and place it in the refrigerator. I like to let them marinate about a day.


On the following day, carefully place the trout on the grill, again attempting not to dump out the Pico de Gallo, and cover the grill.

I used to wrap them in Aluminum Foil, but I have since quit using that for grilling food.


Flip the trout carefully once the first side has cooked through.


The skin may peel off, but I like that.

I think it gives the food a raw and rustic appearance that adds to the grilled look.


Once the trout has completely cooked, carefully remove from the heat and serve.



This was a great experience and an awesome meal, so I'm really glad that steemit gave me the motivation to do it.

If you notice in the photo above, this was a great dinner to be a part of. My next Cucumber Experiment idea, which I'll post tomorrow, showed up on our table and we had an excellent dessert too, inspired by the food challenge put out by @healthyfood and @givemeyoursteem. I'll be posting that entry tomorrow too.

I serve this dish on some sauteed Lambs Quarters and grilled Asparagus. The little purple squares on the plate are diced Prickly Pear Fruit. Though we bought the Asparagus, the Lamb's Quarters were wild harvested and the Prickly Pear Fruit I picked off some cacti recently.


Though you cannot taste it, this is one incredible recipe. It's packed with flavor and one of my all time favorites.

Just look at how that meat comes right off the bone!!!



I caught the Rainbow Trout yesterday in the White River in Cotter, AR, along with a sunfish you may have noticed on the grill. To check out some other photos from the White River, check out my steemit photo challenge entry HERE.


Thanks for your time and I hoped you enjoyed the recipe.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-best-trout-recipe-i-know



Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!

Sort:  

Good stuff I look forward to posting my fishing adventures. Do you fly fish? I dont my self but maybe might check it out. Ever fish in east Tennessee?

I have not fished in east Tennessee, but I would be interested. Also, I do not fly fish.

Looks great. I've never seen it done this way before. We make it with lemon, tarragon, garlic and about ten pounds of butter. :) I haven't had trout in a couple years though. Too much pressure in the lakes around here.

Butter is the ULTIMATE WIN!

I did the Lambs Quarters in butter this time, and have cooked a lot of fish like that before.

Also, @quinneaker, @anotherjoe is the only one who's eaten the peppers so far. Did you guys get yours yet? Check out his video and think about giving him some competition for papa-peppers Super-Hot Pepper Challenge.

The winner will now get 10 STEEM Tokens!

lol, there has to be a certain disadvantage to letting the competition see your video first.

Haha, yep.... well, there is BACON...

Now I have to go fishing tomorrow!

Good idea, everyday.

Teach a man to steem...

That looks so good, trout has been a favorite fish choice for me and you make this look delicious. I have been a pescatarian until I recently heard that fish can recognize human faces.

Oh.... well these guys never saw me before, so they probably didn't realize what I was up to.

I'm not sure if that makes it better or worse though...

Yummy
I was Looking for this today!
Thanks!

Well, @anns, I'm glad you found it.
Also, if you like my post, you can upvote it.
I see that you just started, but figured I'd clue you in.

Nice. I like fishing, but somehow I never do it (and several times that I did, nothing much came). Perhaps it is something I should do when I retire :-D
Or perhaps comtinue to do it the way they do it in Russia which sounds translated something like "no fishing rods, and not leaving the bus", which actually means drinking near the river. There is also a hunting version. :-D
Mental check list. Buy some fish somewhere in the future.

Yeah, not taking any poles and just some bottles or cans is always a dead giveaway that "fishing" is just a code word. I used to try to do both, but the fish kept interrupting back then, so I gave up the pole for a while. Now, I've put down the bottle and picked up the pole, and it was delicious. I wasn't even hung over this morning from that fishing trip..

Well, the traditional Russian fishing goes like this. People take both poles and bottles. They put the bottles in the water to cool, and do the fishing. Once they are satisfied with the fishing they start a fire, fry the fish, take some veggies and maybe bread, and then open the bottles. That way no distractions, and a good time.
I am sure that it is quite traditional to do it in other places too. :-D

You always amazed me with your cooking style @papa-pepper. I love to eat that food together with rice.

That sounds good too @juvyjabian. Do you and your boys do any fishing over there? If so, what is the weirdest, biggest, or favorite fish you've caught?

We wish we could go for fishing but ocean is not around the corner, its around 30 minutes away. The common fish that can be catch here are tuna.

That looks amazing!!!
My mouth is watering and I want some :(

I do have one left over from our feast. We just couldn't eat it all @echoesinthemind.

Well worth the wait I can say...only wish i could have eaten some too. What is that a deviled cucumber? Will look forward to the reading the experiment.

As you can tell, I like to put a couple teasers out there. Thanks for your patience, I'm only allowed four post in a 24 period, you know, so I get then out when I can...

Great article I am going to try this Thank you

I would have thought that a @baracuda would have just opted for some raw sea trout, so it encourages me that you would want to try my recipe. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99