CHALLENGE ACCEPTED - PAPA-PEPPERS SUPER-HOT PEPPER CHALLENGE

in #hotpepperchallenge8 years ago (edited)

Last week @papa-pepper, in this post, offered to send anyone willing to take his challenge a hot pepper. I didn't ask, but since he was sending me seeds anyway, he went ahead and sent peppers.... just in case. :/

Are you foolish enough to do something dumb for a chance to win STEEM? If so, you’re just the person that I’m looking for.

Well, I guess I'm "that guy". So, here goes.

I did chug the milk afterward, but it was a good ten minutes before I wanted to eat. I recovered nicely though. Interestingly, the milk was particularly sweet after the pepper. Is that reason enough to accept the challenge? Hrmmm...

@papa-pepper closed with this:

DISCLAIMER: This is a bad idea, and I cannot recommend that you actually enter. You certainly can, but you'll have to go against your better judgment and mine. While I cannot encourage you to participate, if you choose to, I'll gladly ship you the peppers. This is your choice, so make it wisely. If I was anyone else, I'd probably think that this is an insane and foolish challenge, but, if you seek adventure and desire glory, that's up to you. - Thanks @papa-pepper

Thanks @papa-pepper!

Steemin' on (in this case, kinda literally!),
Another Joe

Email notifications
Facebook
Twitter

Sort:  

My god man, I have quite the tolerance but wouldnt have handled that as well as you!

Haha, you might have. It really sat on the back of my tongue hard. I can't remember a pepper doing that before. Making things sweet afterward was odd too. Even water was sweeter for a while afterward.

That may have been the time to "please" the wife. Seriously, @antherjoe did I hear you call that bucket of milk a "CUP"? Yup, you got stones, not only did you meet @papa-pepper s challenge, you washed it down with a pepper lunch to boot. Your my hero. Just hearing his name @papa-pepper makes my eyes water. This will be hard to beat.

Haha, you like my mug? Yeah, I love milk. We get it fresh from the cow, about 2-3 gallons a week. Yum! :)
It was a bell pepper, so totally mild. But my tongue wasn't ready for food on it for at least 10 min or so.

Yeah that's when you know it's messing with your mouth!

There's a really cool little fruit called the miracle berry or miracle fruit. They're not tasty, but when you eat one anything sour tastes super sweet. Eat one of these berries and a lemon will taste like the sweetest orange or tangerine you've ever tasted. I've not tried it, but have seen the reaction when others do. Pretty cool. You can read about it here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synsepalum_dulcificum

Wow thats quite cool, cheers man!

That didn't seem too bad. Either his peppers aren't that hot or you just have a high tolerance to the heat. These were ghost peppers, right?

I would do challenges like this, but I'm not a big fan of masochism - at least not with food. Good job handling the heat, regardless. Although not a fan myself, I do enjoy watching others engage in masochism.

I have pretty good tolerance. It CAN get too hot for me though. The sweat didn't come until right at the end.
It's not a ghost pepper. Not sure what it is, but it had a great flavor. It'll be good chopped up in something.

Oh, I thought he said they were ghosts. I'm sure it would be good in some salsa or even a meatloaf-type dish. Sprinkle some on your morning eggs - perhaps in an omelet. That'll get your day started right!

Have you ever made your own sweet chili sauce? They might be good for that. I like experimenting with those things - then making some homemade bang-bang sauce with it.

Yeah, would be good for that.
@papa-pepper said here in the comments that it was a ghost-cross.
I like making mango salsa really hot pepper. Maybe I'll use them for that. I'll do some seed saving too, so hopefully will have some of my own next year!

I hadn't heard about the pepper challenge, but I wouldn't have asked for any. I can't do hot stuff. No way.

Obviously I don't know the heat level but I think you did well.

It's pretty hot, but I've had hotter. I wouldn't offer one of these to anyone I wasn't sure liked hot stuff. My wife likes a little hot, but wouldn't attempt this.

These were a cross between ghosts and something else, I think maybe a Trinidad Moruga. I have straight ghosts too, but thought I would ease people into it. These do have the same great flavor as ghosts though.

Yeah, the flavor is awesome. Maybe I should do the ghost instead?

Haha, no thanks!

I tried the other one in supper last night. It got drowned out too much, so I'm bummed. But I did set the seeds aside for next year. :)
Will do the same with the ghost pepper.
Thanks again @papa-pepper!

Ah, so it was a hybrid heat! They have a very nice brightness in color. I like it. What part of the country do you grow them and how do you grow them - conventional, hydroponic, etc.?

The seeds came from one of my friends that grows in Wisconsin, and I've saved a lot of my seeds over the years too. We grow them naturally in the garden sometimes segregating the plants, and other times not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41