SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - the White River

This first photo posted below is the actual one that I am entering.



I took it a couple hours ago in Cotter, AR at the White River. Taken with my Canon VIXIA HF R500. The cold water and the warm air create this fog just about every morning, which is where the river gets it's name from, or so I'm told.

Cotter is also known as "Trout Capital USA", and I was heading out there anyway to catch some trout so that I could share my favorite trout recipe on steemit soon. Obviously, as the photo above testifies, I was successful, though a nice man from Louisiana with a big beard had to help by giving me a couple too.

I was only there just over an hour, but it was long enough for the fog to lift. This photo was taken less than an hout later, and would have basically been the same photo that I entered, if there hadn't been any fog. Personally, I like the look of the fog on the river, and was glad to get there early enough to catch it in a photo.

Those are just a few other shots I snapped in-between casting my rod for trout.


And, as usual...


proof-of-white-river

Sort:  

I love trout, my idea is to do my aquaponics on trout when i do it

I think that I'll start with a pan-fish like Bluegills or Sunfish (since they can handle warm water better than trout.) Then, Once I get a greenhouse set up, I'll hopefully be able to keep it warm enough for Tilapia year-round. We'll see, but that's on my to-do list too.

I actually been told to use telapia as they handle colds well, and its easier to take care of them, and trout need a certain temp of water, which i snot an easy task, especailly in a warm summer.

Right, trout would be more difficult, but probably a better one to have if you can pull it off, though I'm not sure how they'd do with reproducing. I know Tilapia have no problem with that.

Agree, trout is much tastier too

Sitting at the camp fire on the bank of the river and grilling the fish

Nice! I'm about to clean mine and get my favorite recipe started, which will eventually lead to the grill too.

The delicacy to your next blog. and the fish remains for the worms :)

Actually, I just dropped them off for the chickens (Better Option #3 - Animals) not the worms (Better Option #1 - Worm Farm), but I see that you totally understand the concept. For that alone I will add you to my list of those that I follow!

Thanks for reading, commenting, and upvoting!

My favorite of the photos is the third from the bottom. Reminds me of early mornings, camping by the creek at Grandpa's farm when I was a kid.

Cool, I'm glad that you both enjoy it and that it brings back some blessed memories. Thanks @gregory-f!!!

the one with the fish on ice is awesome, and the 3rd from the bottom, too
such a nice day on the river - I am a bit jealous :) best of luck!

It was a very beautiful time, enjoying the scenery and fishing with my family. Thanks!

How you plan on cookin those trout? On the Grill?

THAT WILL BE A POST COMING UP SOON IN recipes AND food.

I've got then marinating today to cook tomorrow on the grill. Here's a sneak peek:



I've been eating trout all my life and this is by far the best recipe that I've ever tasted, a complete @papa-pepper original. I should have the post out late tomorrow or early Sunday, so keep an eye out!

Hey @vegascomic - I just posted the Official Recipe for those Trout and I ate them too.

EXCELLENT!

I like the fog too! Nice photos! :)

Thanks for the comment. I'm glad you like them!

Beautiful pictures, and nice trout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87