You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Strawberry Parfait Bars with Organic Yogurt, Original Recipe and Photos | Happy National Strawberry Parfait Day

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Sigh...calories...delicious calories :) As a vegetarian I'd starve to death without dairy!
(a climb can burn 350-500 calories an hour for as long as 15 hours...)

Sort:  

I hear you. I tend to eat a lot of plant-based meals myself. Looks like some very interesting adventures in mountaineering! :)

Thanks! And even more interesting eating parfait bars :) Actually sugary things are really all my stomach can handle up at altitude;everything else gets 'ignored' in the stomach...

Interesting :) I have to say I've never tried it, but it sounds like an amazing experience.

It is! :) In particular,your mental state becomes differerent. It becomes very calm and matter of fact in the presence of all that vastness of height and depth.
You put your head up over the ridge and suddenly you are looking 1000 feet straight down. But your mind simply notes the fact then moves on to thinking that the handholds are pretty comfortable. Wierd and kind of cool :)

Sounds incredible :) And that totally makes sense to me. I had a similar experience while hiking some of the trails in my neck of the woods. Sort of like your survival depends on it, so you have to stay completely analytical and calm, and you adapt to that mindset almost immediately out of pure necessity.

I think you are right-that is probably what is is! Especially in winter...and you move through some pretty rugged countryside up there I bet!

Lol yes that's true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31