Local Red Fleshed Fish Tacos with Fish Caught by a Friend Recipe and Photo Shoot

in #food6 years ago (edited)

My good friend likes free diving and spearfishing, two honestly pretty intense hobbies that I don't think I'll ever attempt myself. This recipe was actually made a few weeks ago but I've just now found the time to write this post, because it's more than just pictures and a recipe.

He brought over some fish that he had caught that day saying it'd be good in fish tacos, so I made fish tacos.

I've since forgotten what kind of fish this is but I know it's not tuna. When he first offered to share it I honestly was not at all expecting this richly colored fish.

It was pretty firm in texture and had a bone that I removed and froze. Eventually I'll boil it into a soup which will likely be really interesting.

I cut it down into little chips, to be dipped in a seasoned flour mixture and pan fried.

I seasoned the fish directly with freshly ground salt and pepper.

This salt mix has 7 different kinds of salt including pink, red and black salts. Its pretty good on most things but generally looks like a gray dust over food which takes a minute to get used to.

I just coated in flour, fried on high and topped with what toppings I had on hand that day: avocado, tomato, onion and a Mexican hot sauce.

He wasn't lying, it was seriously good in fish tacos. He brought us over another fish a few days ago giving me the choice between: halibut and a fish that's good for grilling. I chose the latter and he literally brought me a whole fish, one that I think we may have been served over a year ago on the beach, which I shared in this post.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Adventures with My Vecino Mexicano, Part 1: Giant Shelf and One Fish Big
Fermentation Adventures: Large Ginger Beer Harvest
The Speedy Saga, Part 1: The Grill

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Early Evening Colors
Farm Update: Silkie Chicken "Pepper" Spring Update Photo Shoot 2018
Lily's Little Garden: Still Alive through the Dry Season...some of it.

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

she's a restaurant / take out joint waiting to happen!!! amazing stuff so far. What a unique menu you will have. GoGo Anarcho!

It definitely was tasty!

Good evening, I like your publication looks very appetizing and I imagine how good it would be. I hope you take into account my humble comments greetings from Venezuela. :D

Nice share, It's interest @lily-da-vine

Hmm..Look delicious..And Nice post@lily-da-vine

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 89 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62