Huitlacoche Corn Smut, Bacon and Provolone Burger

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This was intended to my first Steemit Iron Chef entry although I've just realized I'm missing a crucial element for the entry, a time stamped photo. I'm still posting this because this burger was just too good. The theme was to "Pimp that Burger" and this is what I came up with. I recently became obsessed with the Mexican delicacy known as huitlacoche. Most Americans are unaware of this ingredient, in the US it's actually referred to as "corn smut". Seriously, google that phrase and you'll find it. It's a plague in the US despite the fact that it's totally edible and a good way to consume what is usually considered a ruined crop.

It's honestly what happens when water gets in the corn husk and activates mold spores. You often get this edible mushroom that is prized by chefs for good reason. It's great for people who hate mushrooms because it holds a more firm texture when cooking (unless cooked heavily, everything becomes mush then).

Ingredients:

Fresh Ground Beef
Provolone Cheese
Bacon
huitlacoche
Onions
Garlic
Butter
Ketchup
Organic Mustard
Mayo

This was easily one of my better burgers and even John agreed saying something along the lines of "I hope you got good pictures, this is worth entering in that contest." Too bad I forgot that one photo...next time!.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Basic Crepes Recipe (Revised in Method)
Mandarin, Almond and Goat Cheese Breakfast Salad
Beef Pesto, Olive and Goat Cheese Salad

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

5 Lessons Learned While Learning to Crochet
Acapulco Sunsets: Late Night Thoughts on Change
Basic Crepes Recipe (Revised in Method)

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

You bought more moldy corn, yay!

I'm a little stuck on the moldy corn, I keep buying it haha

What a great idea to add huitlacoche to a burger! I love that fungus, but always associate it with Mexican cooking. Never thought outside the box with that ingredient. I'm definitely going to borrow this idea! Thanks!

I'm actually surprised at it's versatility and wouldn't mind growing it myself.

That Looks Soooo Delicious!

yummy!!! need that!

This post has received a 3.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lily-da-vine.

You got a 3.27% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @lily-da-vine!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

This post has received a 4.47 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 1.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lily-da-vine!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I like burger very much.
This is so much nutritional.
If we take this food we will become healthy & remove undernutrition.
Thanks for sharing.
@resteem & follow done.

Looks nice and delicious. Keep up the good work and have a nice weekend :)

Ohhhhhhhhh I would try this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45