Basic Crepes Recipe (Revised in Method)

in #food6 years ago

I love crepes and always have. Since I first heard of them in high school home economics class I was literally hooked. I haven't made many crepes these past several years though mainly due to the fact that John just doesn't like them. When faced with the choice between crepes and pancakes he will nearly always pick regular pancakes.

Recently I made them and he asked "Why make them, they're just flat pancakes?"

I didn't have an answer for him then, but like ten minutes later it came to me. "They're lower in sugar (no sugar added), higher in protein because there's more egg and there's less of them so they're honestly better for you!" While marginally true, he looked at me and he said "Alright, give me the damn crepes".

So yesterday I made crepes again this time adapting my recipe for the blender with great results. Crepes so flaky they wave in the wind but still hold together well.

Ingredients:

1 1/3 c flour
1/2 c milk
1/2 c water
2 t butter, softened
2 eggs
Pinch of salt

How it's Done:

  1. Put milk, water and eggs into the blender and blend until slightly frothy and yellow.
  2. Add the flour, blend until smooth.
  3. Add the butter, blend until combined.
  4. Heat a pan with shallow sides, a crepe pan or in my case a tortilla pan with NO sides on medium high heat. Oil the pan with a little butter.
  5. Pour between a quarter and a half of a cup of the batter into the center of the pan then pick it up and tilt it around in an attempt to coat the bottom of the pan. Not easy to do the first time but is easier to pick up than it sounds.
  6. Allow to cook until the edges start to lift from the pan and it starts to smell good.
  7. Flip and cook on the other side for a minute or two, less than the first side.
  8. Repeat until the batter is done.

I filled these with plain greek yogurt and some strawberries and chopped walnuts with honey and maple syrup. I also topped it with those strawberries and the sauce from them. You can fill these with either sweet or savoury fillings based on taste.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Mandarin, Almond and Goat Cheese Breakfast Salad
Beef Pesto, Olive and Goat Cheese Salad
Smores Gluten Free Goat Cheese Cheesecakes

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Rays and Colors
Back on the Torch! Cobalt Blue Glass Pipe Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunsets: Start of a Nice One 1

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

WHAT RICH my God there is nothing better than some strawberries for a pancake or crepe to that I would add a bit of nutella but it is very rich in my country they are made with giant strawberries that occur in a German colony near my city CARACAS VENEZUELA I hope you enjoyed that dish I send you a big hug from Venezuela

yum, I love a good crepe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48