Golden Tumeric Ginger Milk Recipe and Photo Shoot

in #food6 years ago

Now this was seriously so good I had to start before finishing the cup...right now, at about halfway through. I've read about this stuff online but recently looked into it again as my tumeric plant died, yielding me lots of little roots. What to do with all of it? Try tumeric milk! Turns out it's highly medicinal and can help with a lot of the things I deal with like insomnia, bad skin and pain. I tried it and I like it, now I'm sharing it with you. I can't say anything for the medicinal effects yet, but I can say it's tasty.

I filled a coffee cup up with almond milk and put it in the pan.


Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk, or other dairy free milk
1 inch piece tumeric, peeled and grated
1 inch ginger, peeled and grated
1 inch cinnamon stick, broken up (mexican)
4 whole peppercorns
1 T honey
1 T brown sugar
Ground Cinnamon to top

The ginger and tumeric are both known for medicinal properties I'll go into another day on another post.

The fresh stuff will stain your fingers orange!


I added the honey while it was warm and stirred with the spoon from the honey until it melted off completely.

Then I added the tumeric, cinnamon, ginger and pepper.

Allow to bubble and remove from heat. Allow to steep for about 3 minutes and strain. Serve immediately.

The black pepper supposedly makes the body absorb the good stuff in the tumeric more. The cinnamon is both tasty and medicinal. The honey is for sweetness and vitamins as is the sugar. It all blends together to make something that somewhat reminds me off egg nog but upsets my stomach less. There's a slight spicyness that I can't figure out if it comes from the pepper or the ginger but I like it. The lore says to drink it every night before bed, here goes!

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Gluten Free Apple Pie Goat Cheese Instant Pot Cheesecake Recipe and Photo Shoot
Kombucha Chronicles Update: First 5 Gallon Brew
Blueberry Pistachio Muffin Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Anarchaforko Anarchapulco Fork Update: 5 Ways to Get the Most Out of the Fork For You
Adventures into Mexican Markets: Imported Krispy Kreme Guy
Acapulco Sunsets: So Forking Tired

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I love starting my day with this, I make mine w coconut milk!

This looks so good and it is obviously very healthy. We have lots of turmeric where I'm from, and will be sure to give this a try.

An interesting recipe... Is this something you could make and refrigerate? Drink cold later?

Not sure, I just know all the recipes I see tell me to drink it warm

I'm deleting my comments.
Being down voted by Content censoring whales sucks
and hurts minnows who only earn 0.01 per post/comment anyhow
This whale BS will kill STEEM imho

Best food i think
please tell me what is recipe about it..
thanks for sharing

Looks healthy and delicious.

mmmmm so good. Love that stuff!

I will try it. It looks delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45