I travel the world Part 80: El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse

in #food8 years ago (edited)

 

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse is a great Steakhouse in Bangkok

The owners are friends of my best friends in Bangkok so we go there frequently. They have different qualities of meat. US, Australian or Argentinian. 

Usually I order the Argentinian around 250g with some vegetables and their truffled mashed potatos. 

You can dine inside or outside

The starters are my favorite. Super crispy warm baked bread + garlic. I usually eat one garlic alone... I think the garlic is baked

250g Rib-Eye Argentinian Steak with truffled spinach

Picture with flash

Instead of a dessert we usually get a bottle of their excellent Caramel-Vodka (The vodka is not for sale..)

The Steaks at El Gaucho are very good. They are tender and juicy but I recommend ordering your meat Medium-Rare. The reason for Medium-Rare is that if you order it medium mostly the flavour is not as good as Medium-Rare. I only recommend Medium if you have a piece of Wagyu. 

If you go there be prepared for their Caramel-Vodka Shots. That's the best shots I know in the whole world. That secret recipe is insane.. Knowing the owner has it's perks, we usually get the whole bottle on the table and it gets funny after 10 shots ;)

Do you like US, Australian, JP or Argentinian Meat? 

I am blogging about the following topics :

Sort:  

Good question ... I've tried US, Japanese, British and Argentinian beef. My favorite is Kobe, (not Wagyu style) but the price makes it a very rare treat. My favourite is Canadian Beef. Specifically Limousin cattle (Limousin is a breed, like Black Angus or Hereford). It's what I grew up on. There are subtle flavours that I prefer with the way the connective tissue and fat melts into the meat.

Thanks to this post, I will have steak for dinner tonight.  :-)

yeah wagyu is the best but outside japan it is just soooo expensive.
I will try the limousin in the future !

306$ steak is not too expensive :0 ) the burger was really insane...

Wow. I love good steaks. They are so hard to get here in the UK (unless you go to a really expensive restaurant) because there is a tendency to overcook them here even if you ask for them to be medium or medium rare.

yes the worst thing to do is to overcook a steak. I have friends who wanted their kobe beef well done... totally destroys the meat

Exactly. I have had a few steaks in the UK (not London though) where they have cooked them to being like leather. I just couldn't eat them after that.

thats the problem ! try to go to a japanese steak house in london ;)

Lol wil do. I love that Kobe Steak!

I like wagyu, kobe is too fatty.. its ok but there is better jp meat

you should go out and check something interesting in Bangkok--

I did that a long time ago ;) I am usually not seightseing in BKK anymore...

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36