Dailyfoodphotography: "Black & White Chicken Soup" be prepared to be shocked by the soup offered in Singapore!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi my beloved steemit friends, I guess there's many of you love eating and for sure happy to try new dishes. So do I!

If you're living in Singapore or in Malaysia, you're probably already having a weather shocked where our sunny warm weather has been overtaken by the cold, grey and dark rainy days. The recorded the lowest temperature of 22℃ from the usual temperature of 33-35℃ in a warm country here is definitely a big deal!

Seeing the headlines of the current weather on newspapers, social media platforms, weather channel on TV is no longer a surprise for me. Instead, I'm more concern about my food because I'm literally a "Food Enthusiast"!

IMG_3480.JPG

To my surprise, I couldn't believe that what I found which I named it "The Best Soup In Singapore"!
Because! It's HEAVENLY GOOD!

Nothing better than a warm bowl of piping hot soup that is being served during a cold weather! I was actually searching on Google which is most like everyone's life saver platform which nonetheless mine too, to search for a soup restaurant. Turns out that this particular restaurant popped out at the top listed place to visit, which the overwhelming reviews and the extremely good feedback, I decided to give it a try.

I gotta say, I never ever regretted the decisions at all!

tan ser seng.png

Tan Ser Seng Herbs Restaurant, Singapore

Source

This place is located at the place not too far from the city centre and of course, is reachable by MRT for just a short walk to the destination. The nearest MRT to the location is at Aljunied station with 7 mins walk and walaaa~ You've arrived!

2018-01-14 (1).png

Source

Upon arrival, I can already smell the flavoursome herbally essence blasting on my sensitive nose! "I mean, I am very sensitive to the smells of food, that's also how am I getting weight"

IMG_3472.JPG

After getting a table, we are being served with wet tissues which were labelled with their brand and of course rice! And also the basic condiments in most of Asia, soy sauce, peppers and of course their house-made special "Belacan" which is literally translated as shrimp paste chillies.

Not too long of waiting after we made our order of their signature "Black Chicken Soup", it's the moment of truth where it lives up to the name and recognition! I can say that I have very high benchmark on soup because, I am just a soupy kind of person, I've tasted soups from all over the world, I had very good ones and also have bad ones, I am very honest with the taste and if it does not live up to my benchmark I would not touch!

IMG_3479.JPG

We ordered a Black and White chicken soup just to taste the difference and also their abalone veges as a side. I could say, I whiffed the soups and I can already tell it's going to be an extremely good one. The strong and sharp herbal taste definitely do not lie.

The first sip, I am already blown-away! The piping hot, flavourful, soporific taste was absolutely unbeatable. 1 word, DIVINE!

IMG_3482.JPG

Welcome the star of the day. It might look creepy, what on earth is that and who on earth would eat it?! It's a black looking kind of monster. Black chicken which also known in the Western world as the "silkie breed" is a much tastier, slightly gamier dark-meat chicken that has lesser calories than regular chicken because of its lesser fat content.
Due to its recent nutrition studies, it is already finding a niche in the West.

To add on the nutritious level, this restaurant included the Chinese culture using premium herbs like Cordyceps, Ginsengs, Red dates, Chinese Angelicae Roots, Wolfberries and different spices to double boil it with extremely high heat for hours and hours until the essence of the chicken and all the herbs releases all their potential goodness into a bowl of heavenly goodness.

According to the nutritionist, this particular soup helps to improve blood circulation and revitalise your energy levels, and it helps to replenish the blood stores and of course to reduce fatigue and pale faces.

IMG_3477.JPG

Of course, all of us might underestimate it by the look of it but, the meat has literally zero gaminess because of the herbs and it's fall off the bone tender where it literally just melts in your mouth without the need to be chewed. It's extremely tender that it somehow causing a difficulty to be eaten as it dissolves and diminished slowly in the soup.

However, if you're not a herbal kind of person. You might want to opt for the white chicken soup which is almost identical to the black chicken but it's less herbally but having a mellow sweetness from the chicken and the dates.

IMG_3476.JPG

All that I can say that is "Never judge a book by its cover" The appearance is not everything but the taste is!! After trying both of the wonderful soups, I declared to be defeated. Hands down to them! Now, every day I am longing for more of them!

IMG_3474.JPG

Also, not forget the side dish we ordered. I am more than surprised how well it is with the simply blanched vegetables but the sauce! As if it's casted with some kind of spells, once you had it, you'll never want to stop! I could definitely taste some mixture of "Shao Xin Wine" which is a cooking wine widely used in Chinese cooking, dark caramelized sauces, oyster sauces and also the natural sweetness and crisp from the vegetables. To my surprise, I wasn't expecting that the restaurant is going far beyond to incorporate abalone slices on the vegetables which definitely makes it a wow-factor for everyone who has ordered it.

Conclusion

Overall, I would highly recommend everyone have to give it a try. "There's no harm trying but there's always a loss for not trying". We live up to try because after all, we all just live once!

*Photo copyrights: Photos were captured originally with iPhone 6.

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:

  1. Travel Blog 22: Revealing the "Secret Beauty" of Mieders, Tyrol, Austria
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-22-revealing-the-secret-beauty-of-mieders-tyrol-austria#comments

  2. My song cover of "Million Dreams" from "The Greatest Showman"
    https://steemit.com/music/@explorernations/my-song-cover-of-million-dreams-from-the-greatest-showman

  3. Travel Blog 21: The Charming City of "Salzburg, Austria" packed with natural beauty and Endless Surprises!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-21-the-charming-city-of-salzburg-austria-packed-with-natural-beauty-and-endless-surprises

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D

Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!


APP.png

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on "discord" that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
Join us at Discord! TeamGirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!! why is it so cold there? raining season?

It's because it has been raining non-stop for days and weeks. It's going to be like this for the next few weeks as well. I miss the warm weather where I don't have to worry about getting wet going out, carrying an umbrella everywhere I go :(

hotpot would b great at this weather

So many vegetables! This looks delish! :)

Thank you so much :D It is indeed extremely good! I enjoyed it very much!

I think I'll see the words 'pipping hot soup' in each of your posts! hehe. how to gain weight with veggies and tofu and soup? indeed best suited for the weather these few days! :)

You know why? Because I like everything of my dishes super piping hot and especially I love soupy dishes, I promise this is not going to be the last article with piping hot appearing here. Hahaha! Thanks for your support & dropping by :D

The soup kind of looks like our local chicken pepper soup in Nigeria. Delicious

Oh really?! That sounds very very tempting to me!! I wish I could travel there just to give it a try! Thank you for dropping by :))))

Thank you @explorernations for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.42% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You use so many vegetables :O my mom makes a soup like this one hahaha

....I need those, just about right now! I made a chicken herbal soup for myself in the weekend, but these soups and dishes here are just so... tempting and heartwarming. It is super cold here in Thailand too. Ahhh, eye-coma-ed with your food post again. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45