Baked Challah Bread

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello to all my steemian friends,

I hope you all had a great weekend and having a good start of the week :)
I can't believe the weekend is already over!

Friday is one of my favorite days of the week, when the weekend is just about to start and theres more time for spending with family and friends.
Thats when we usually have a big dinner at home that includes a beautiful sweet CHALLAH BREAD and wine. We either have friends over or just keep it small and enjoy it our family. It gets the weekend off to the best start!

I try to be as creative as I can and make a variety of meals for the upcoming weekend.
What I look forward to make each time is that Challah bread! It is a special bread in the Jewish cuisine, which is usually served on Sabbath and Jewish holidays. It gives the house such a great smell while in the oven and is so soft and delicious!

There are a few techniques for its braiding. A while ago I posted my favorite recipe for THE PERFECT SWEET CHALLAH BREAD RECIPE and with step by step instructions on how to shape and braid your dough (these techniques can be used of course for any bread you wish to make).

My Challah Bread from Friday:

It takes a bit of time and patience (the kneading,rising, kneading, shaping, braiding and baking!) but that amazing smell while its baking and then serving the beautiful Challah on the dinner table is worth it!

Before it rises:


45 minutes later :


A bit of egg and sesame:

And out of the oven!( AHHHHHH..... That smell!!!)


I had to take a bite!

I hope it inspires you to try it out yourself :)
CHALLAH BREAD RECIPE AND BRAIDING TECHNIQUES.

The Perfect Sweet Challah Bread - Recipe:

Ingredients:
5 cups bakers flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup sugar
4 teaspoons active dry yeast
½ cup oil
2 eggs
1¼ cups luke-warm water
For the seasoning:
1 egg mixed with 1 tablespoon water
Sesame / poppy seeds

Method:

  1. Prepare the dough
    Whisk the flour into a bowl. Add salt and mix together. Add sugar, yeast, oil and eggs and with a dough hook attachment on slow-medium speed, start kneading the dough.
    Gradually add in the water and knead for 10 minutes until the dough becomes smooth elastic and soft.

  2. Let dough rise
    Place the dough in an oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and place somewhere warm. Let the dough rise until doubles in size (about 1½ -2 hours).
    Punch down the risen dough, place onto a slightly floured surface and knead for 3-4 minutes.

  3. Braid the dough
    Here’s where you can be creative on how you want to braid the challah. You can make a 3,4,6 etc... stranded challah braid or any shape you’d like .

  4. Let dough rise a second time
    Place the Challah on a baking tray covered with a baking sheet. Cover with a clean towel, place somewhere warm and let rise about one hour.

  5. Brush and season
    Preheat the oven to 180°C.
    When ready to bake, whisk an egg with a tablespoon of water and brush it all over the challah. Sprinkle with sesame / poppy seeds.

  6. Bake
    Bake the Challah at 180°C for 30-35 minutes, or until becomes golden brown (careful not to overbake).
    AND SIMPLY ENJOY EACH BITE!


Have a great week!

Pictures are original and mine, taken with my super professional camera-
on my Galaxy 7 phone!

For more about me you can checkout My intro post #1 and: My intro post #2


FOR MORE OF MY RECENT SIMPLE HOME RECIPES:


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed!!

Much love,
@cooknbake
bitmoji134937624.png
The Alliance.png

Sort:  

We don't eat bread very often but love the look of this one! Steem on!

Thank you dear @amy-goodrich! :))

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:42:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 23.40/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

We call that bread Zopf. The best one ist the Butterzoof.

I didnt know 🙄, thanks for adding that @stadex 🤗

Love challah!

I remember you made challah for a contest before, as well

❤️

Yes I did!! Good memory @thekitchenfairy!🤗
I shared that link in this post if anyone would want to learn some dough braiding 😄
Hope youre having a great day!

Wow yummy yummy 😋
Feeling like eating....
I had lost my appetite before....but now am restore.... How I wish I get this for lunch 😀
Kudos @cooknbake

Haha! Yep, it was! Was gone before I knew it! 😄thanks so much for the fun comment @emmaculate!

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Bread and wine. Oh my I want some! That looks so delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42