Refreshing Greek Tsatziki- Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is one of those simple recipes that is so enjoyable- I can’t even believe I haven't made it before!

Since the past month here in Brisbane has been extremely hot (with temperatures reaching up to 40 degrees!), I've been focusing on cool 'summer' recipes to keep us nicely refreshed. One of my favorite quick and healthy treats lately has been Greek Tzatziki, a sauce/dip that is basically made of yogurt and cucumber and is seasoned with garlic, olive oil, lemon and fresh dill (or mint or parsley).

A few years ago I visited Greece with a few friends of mine, a simple spontaneous trip, and I just fell in love with the atmosphere, the music, and the food! stuffed grape leaves with herbs, the olives and olive oil, the famous greek salad, souvlaki.... and I can go on and on! Of course for me, one of my favorite treats there was the Tzatziki.
I actually don't know why I never tried to make it at home, as it is so simple to make, and just the refreshing smell of all the flavors combined ... ahhhhh...
A few weeks ago I heard about a Greek store around here that had a great variety of Mediteranean produce. When I went there I fell in love with the place! the smell of all the spices I grew up on, the great variety of fresh olives you can taste from and buy per weight and so much more! Of course they also had Tzatziki, which I almost bought it but last minute I decided Id make it at home (after reading the small letters on the back label of nutrition and finding out that there was more stabilizers /Emulsifiers than the main ingredients that the product consists of! ) and that's what I did once I got home and have been making ALOT of since then, even as a nice treat when friends come over:

Fresh Greek Tzatzik Recipe


Ingredients:
500gr plain / greek yogurt (strained-optional)
1 cucumber, finely grated and drained
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
15 gr fresh dill, finely chopped
Fresh lemon juice, to taste
Salt, to taste

Method:

  • Place yoghurt in a bowl (if you prefer strained: place it in a sieve over a bowl and let stand for 10 minutes to allow any excess whey to drain).
  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Season with salt and lemon to taste.
  • Serve cold (with vegetable sticks and or bread sticks on the side) and enjoy!
---
---

I like to serve it as a vegetable dip (makes us eat more of our veggies :) or along with bread sticks to dip with.


Hope you Enjoyed!


Pictures are original and mine, taken with my super professional camera-
on my Galaxy 7 phone!

For more about me you can checkout My intro post #1 and: My intro post #2


For more of my recent simple-home recipes:


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed!!

Much love,
@cooknbake
bitmoji134937624.png
The Alliance.png

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

You got a 3.28% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cooknbake!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

AJ picked your post @cooknbake for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I love tsatziki! Unfortunately, my body doesn't like raw garlic. Makes hummus less fun as well. Any ideas what I could substitute without losing the yummy bite of garlic? I've thought of cooking it first, but that would definitely change the flavour. Great post. :)

Nice one.... You must be a very good cook.👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62