How to Make Kimchi! How To: Weekly contest by @artgirl

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Today I will share with you how to make your very own Kimchi! This is my entry for a How To contest.

Ah yes, this Korean side dish is very popular to Korean Drama (KDrama) fans and addicts. Why? Of course seeing the characters eat Kimchi will make you wonder what it tastes like, until you crave for it and then you buy a bottle of it. If you go further you'll make your own kimchi! Oh yeah!

What is Kimchi?

Kimchi is a Korean side dish staple that is mainly made of Chinese cabbage plus some radish and other spices. It is made through fermentation and is considered a health food due to all the lactobacillus and other good microorganisms it contains.

Koreans are said to eat 50 grams to 200 grams of kimchi a day! Not sure if that's good but they seem to be doing pretty well in terms of nutrition. Haha.

So let's see, let me show you what it looks like first in case you haven't seen it before.

kimchi.jpg

This is a picture of kimchi from a restaurant. We ate at a Korean restaurant some time ago and I took pics of everything. Look at that! Yummm!

korean food.jpg


Why I Made Kimchi and Why I Eat It

2 years ago I decided to make my own kimchi. Hey I was watching 2 KDramas at the time so what do you expect? Hahaha.

I only made kimchi once but hey it was still an achievement so I will let you know how I did it.

Since I didn't know what to do and how to make it, I Googled how to make it and voila! Maangchi came to the rescue!

The reason I eat kimchi is because of the health benefits, you know, the good bacteria and such. I don't think I'm much of a healthy eater so sometimes eating kimchi is good, right? :D Plus I like sour food. Mmmmm.

Anyway without further ado, here's what you need to do!



How to Make Kimchi!

I'm pretty bad with measurements much like I don't use guides mostly when drawing so I hope you bear with me on some of my ingredients. Haha.

I. Ingredients:

• Lots of salt for the cabbages (kosher or not)

Vegetables

• 2 Chinese Cabbages
k cabbage.jpg

• 2 small Carrots
• 1 Radish
• Onion stalks / chives
k carrot.jpg

For syrup base
  • 2 tbsp powdered rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp sugar or muscovado

Paste ingredients
  • garlic cloves
  • 1 big onion or several small onions
  • few slices of ginger
  • 1 cup red chili pepper powder (or more depending on your spice tolerance)
  • 1/2 cup fish sauce
  • a small bowl of fresh or salted dulong (silver fish) prepared at least a day before or use salted fermented shrimp if u can find any

k dulong.jpg



II. Directions

1 Remove the end part of the cabbage base, making sure every leaf is still intact at the base then cut the cabbages vertically in half. Half each of the halves too if you want.
2 Wash the cabbages and drain/shake off excess water.
3 In a basin, salt the cabbages well by sprinkling a generous amount in between each leaf and then leave it for 2 hours.
4 Turn the cabbages every 30 minutes to also spread the accumulated salty water on the other side of each cut cabbage. Or you can also pour the salty water over the cabbages before or after turning it over.
5 While waiting for the cabbages to be okay, cook the syrup by boiling 2 cups of water. Add the rice powder and stir and then once the consistency is not too thick but smooth you can add the sugar and mix well. Once it has boiled for a few minutes transfer it to a container to cool down.

k syrup.jpg

6 Make the kimchi paste. Julienne the carrots and the radish.
k ingredients.jpg

7 Also slice the onion stalks/chives.
8 Mince the onion, garlic and ginger if you don't have any food processor.
k bawang.jpg

9 Next, mix the paste ingredients in a basin, pour in the already cool syrup and mix it all up.
k ingredients2.jpg

10 Once the cabbages are done after two hours, you can wash and rinse it with water.

k cabbage done.jpg

11 Now you're ready to make kimchi! Spread the kimchi paste all over each leaf.
image.png

(source)

12 When all the cabbage leaves are covered in kimchi paste, fold it (or not) and put it inside the container. If you have some ceramics or mason jars go ahead and use it, make sure it can be sealed tight.

13 Press each cabbage down to remove the air bubbles for it to ferment well. If using plastic containers, use BPA-free plastic. I used a long BPA-free plastic container like this one.

k kimchi.jpg

14 Leave it out in room temperature for 24-48 hours. Check if it has bubbled from 24-36 hrs, smell if it's now kinda strong and check if it tastes sour. Press down the cabbages further to remove any bubbles from the cabbages. If it is quite fermented you can now put it inside the refrigerator to ferment it slowly.

15 Leave it in the refrigerator for a week or more for best results and then you can use the kimchi fresh from the container or add it to any dish you want! Yum yummm!

image.png
(source)


As for my resulting kimchi, well mine didn't taste too sour I think because I couldn't wait to eat it immediately. Haha. Too bad. Also my bro doesn't like the smell of it so I just ate it every time I could and be done with it.

Now I only buy bottled kimchi! It took me hours to finish it before fermenting it so I'm only buying bottled ones since then. Haha.

Let me know if you try this and tell me if it tastes good. Or if you'd like to add anything to this feel free to comment too!

XOXO,
@artgirl


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

Images are copyright by their respective owners.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a real estate agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period upon posting this, do check below:











For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Yummy that looks so good i absolutly love kimichi i never tryed to do it myself that is a great tutorial thank you

You're welcome! :D

Mas masarap talaga pag fresh. Pwede ring lagyan ng apple :) Gusto ko tuloy mag Korean buffet haha!

Weeeh, yung totoo? Apple? Hindi ko alam un. Hahaha. Ayoko ng fresh... Hindi maasim. Charot. Hahaha.

Syempre kunti lang wag mung damihan haha!

You got a 15.58% upvote from @pushbot courtesy of @roscoeh!

YAAAAY KIMCHIII

Yum yum!!!

Nong una parang di ko keri parang durian dating haha nahawa lang ako ng kaboardmate na co-worker ko rin dati pero bumibili lang ako ng sa bote partner ng fried tilapia o sa "lucky me" pancit canton haha weird combination ba? 😊

Naku hinahalo ko sa kung anu-ano yan. :D

Yung durian naku ayoko tlga. Yan ang hinding-hindi ko kakainin kasi natikman ko na. :D

Nice foood trip na naman ito for sure lalo at healthy ma try nga parang na try ko na ito along the entire life of my menu hihihi abay mahilig ka pala sa koreanovela have you watch? The romantic doctor? The city hunter?

Naku d ko pinanood mga yan. Cheese in the Trap tsaka Goblin last n napanood ko.

Ah hihihi ok diko pa napanood yan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35